Beef Sukiyaki with Noodles

The meat must be very thinly sliced for this dish. Ask your butcher to slice it for you with a slicing machine, or put it into the freezer for at least 30 minutes or up to 1 hour and then slice it yourself. Firming it up in the freezer makes cutting very thin, uniform slices easier.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Sukiyaki with Noodles
Review 1 for Beef Sukiyaki with Noodles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always220
,Chester
,CT
March 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sukiyaki stew
March 15, 2012
I visited Japan in the past and was astounded by the wonderful beef stew known as sukiyaki but when I came back to the states I kept searching for a way to eat the delicious stew once again. Luckily this recipe stays very close to the original flavor so that I may eat it again.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Beef Sukiyaki with Noodles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
New Hampshire
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, but use less sauce
February 2, 2011
I doubled the recipe but used a lot less of the sauce. I would suggest using 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup mirin and 1/4 sake while still using 1/4 cup water. Getting the beef very thinly sliced by your butcher makes this recipe a breeze. In your grocery store, the cellophane noodles will be called "bean thread" noodles - they will be very small and white, and turn clear when you cook them. I used more mushrooms and onions than the recipe called for and it came out better. Overall, a delicious and easy recipe!
Review 3 for Beef Sukiyaki with Noodles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boston96
Boston, MA
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Recipe
December 31, 2010
This was wonderful and easy. I substituted steamed carrots for the mushrooms and it came out great. Next time I will add the entire cabbage.
Review 4 for Beef Sukiyaki with Noodles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ljf0625
Newbury Park, CA
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Weeknight Meal
October 12, 2010
Being half Japanese, I thought this was a great rendition of Sukiyaki. Prep was easy and it all came together quickly. Will definitely make this again. The family loved it too!