Beef Bourguignonne with Steamed Potatoes

To streamline preparation of beef bourguignonne, the hearty beef stew from the Burgundy region of France, this recipe calls for our braising base. The dish is simmered in a slow cooker until the meat becomes meltingly tender.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef Bourguignonne with Steamed Potatoes
Review 1 for Beef Bourguignonne with Steamed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovingWandS
Chicago Illinois
March 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Soo good and soo easy!
March 3, 2011
I made this dish for a lunch at the ski chalet for my friends and family. Few dishes satisfy the whole clan but everyone raved about this lunch. I did not steam the potatoes but threw them in along with the baby carrots with about 3 hours to go. All was well. Served up with some Italian rustic bread. They are asking for an encore. Secret tip: I added a cup of dry red wine to the recipe.
Review 2 for Beef Bourguignonne with Steamed Potatoes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tede73
Naperville, IL
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Streamlined beef bourguignonne
January 5, 2011
I've made this dish several times with the braising sauce and have enjoyed it every time. This truly doesn't deviate much from the actual dish that I had while in France.
The only time consuming portion is the braising, but given that you don't have to do much else, it's worth it.
Review 3 for Beef Bourguignonne with Steamed Potatoes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ted1027
Fairfax, VA
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Terrible
December 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly as written. William-Sanoma should not post this pathetic recipe. Their Beef Bourguignonne sauce may be the best product on the market, but this recipe does it a severe disservice. Perhaps one of the other recipes will produce better results. Try anything else but this! Very sorry I wasted this sauce.
Review 4 for Beef Bourguignonne with Steamed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SONGBIRD
HAYDENVILLE, MA
May 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and delicious
May 27, 2010
I have made this recipe several times using the Beef Bourguignonne Braising Sauce, using short ribs or chuck roast in my slow cooker.
Many compliments.
Review 5 for Beef Bourguignonne with Steamed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skk0209
Huntersville, NC
May 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great "Family Style" meal
May 16, 2010
I've made this with a chuck roast and it was absolutely fabulous! We call family style meals like this "Home Boy meals", because they're perfect for when the whole family is gathered and this meal was a definite favorite. Wonderfully French......Ooh La La!