Beef and Stout Pie

This hearty beef stew is slowly simmered on the stovetop, then topped with Stilton pastry and finished in a hot oven.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Beef and Stout Pie
Review 1 for Beef and Stout Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
docjessp
,Pittsburgh
,PA
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the effort!!
November 1, 2013
I have made this several times for my family. We just finished remodeling our kitchen, and this was the first dinner request by several family members!!! It is SO worth all the steps, but we have been known to leave the crust off or make the crust into croissants instead of laying on top. Our favorite is as the recipe is written. Thank you for a family classic for Sunday afternoons!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, hearty
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Beef and Stout Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShopsonlyWS
,CA
April 20, 2012
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy as Pie
April 20, 2012
I gathered and prepped all my ingredients including trimming off all the fat etc of the meat. Slowed cooked it for several hours. This is the best stew I have ever eaten--and I am not a red meat eater generally! A taste here and there but not one to sit and order a red meat dish. All will enjoy. I also didn't make the pie. Put over noodles. Thinking it would work well over rice too!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Beef and Stout Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devery
,Springfield
,OR
March 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Takes time, but worth it
March 22, 2012
I thought this would be just another beef stew, but it was worth the time. The Stilton crust made all the difference. We use our own dark home brew and loved the flavor. Half the recipe made enough for 4-5 servings. I'd make this for guests any day.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, amazing pastry
Cons: takes a while
Review 4 for Beef and Stout Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PMartin
,Waukesha
,WI
Waukesha, WI
March 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Irish fare
March 17, 2012
This is a great recipe. I don't like Stilton, so I don't use the pastry recipe, but the filling is fantastic. Make this pie; you won't be sorry!
Review 5 for Beef and Stout Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveleileen
,Coto de Caza
,Ca
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for cold weather!
January 17, 2012
We are up inTahoe, the kids are out skiing.
When they get back the fabulous aroma will make a happy memory for years to come.
This recipe is fabulous!.
Beats my mom's steak pie and we are Brits!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive