Basil-Lemon Pesto

A light and lemony variation on the traditional pesto, this version combines fresh parsley and basil. Toss with your favorite pasta, or spoon over grilled fish or chicken breasts. To toast the pine nuts, place them on a baking sheet and bake in a 350deg.F oven until golden, 8 to 10 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Basil-Lemon Pesto
Review 1 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMAppleton
,San Antonio
,TX
June 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful and Refreshing
June 2, 2013
I admit I wasn't sure before I made it, but this recipe was fabulous. I used the lesser suggested amount of olive oil, and that worked best for me. I found this a nice break from pure basil pesto, lighter and refreshing.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arafto1
February 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great variation on pesto
February 2, 2013
I normally don't like pesto because I think it's too rich, but this is an awesome variation. The lemon really does cut the basil nicely. It's a simple recipe, and it's gone so well with everything I've paired it with. It's my go-to pesto recipe now!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
efrog8972
,Albuquerque
,NM
November 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My husband who isn't crazy about pesto like this!
November 13, 2011
Easy and tasty. The lemon cuts the basil perfectly and the parsley adds balance. I added chicken strips for protein.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MegE
November 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but Less Oil
November 3, 2011
This is a great recipe. The citrus really add something. But the oil was way to much! I would only use 1/2 cup of oil. It's very soupy with a whole cup the oil almost dominated the taste of the basil. At least that's what I though!
Review 5 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DLane
Hayes, VA
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummm! My favorite pesto
August 7, 2011
I have tried a number of basil pesto recipes and this one shines. The lemon adds a nice lift and also keeps the presto from browning. I add a smidge of green food coloring and it was wonderful a week later. I have also used pecans instead of pine nuts or walnuts. That was yummy too!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angiemac
Lake Charles, La
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Tasty
June 20, 2011
Easy and quick to make. Tastes extremely fresh!! I eat over pasta, chicken, or fresh tomatoes. I also use fresh pesto in place of mayo when making sandwiches!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hardy
Lexington, KY
August 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick Easy Meal
August 1, 2010
This meal was easy to make, and took no time at all. I added more basil, and left out some of the olive oil. It also needs more salt, there is none in the recipe, but it definitely needs a little bit of spice. Over all this was an excellent family meal.
Review 8 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shly
Baton Rouge, LA
June 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome!!!
June 20, 2010
My husband and I were looking for something light and flavorful, and this was perfect!! Very delicious. Will make again and again.
Review 9 for Basil-Lemon Pesto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amurphy
Austin, TX
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good & Quick!
May 14, 2010
VERY good, and easy, I added chicken in it and used whole wheat pasta. Would definitly recommend recipe!