Basic Pizza Dough

Use this dough to prepare our Sausage & Caramelized Onion Pizzas, and our Zucchini & Basil Pizzas (see related recipes at left).
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Basic Pizza Dough
Review 1 for Basic Pizza Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
georgie2
,portland
,or
November 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
i use this at least once a week
November 18, 2011
This recipe makes a wet, delicate dough -dont add extra flour. This is the first pizza dough that has come close to the shop I love here in Portland.-and I have tried many. I love this recipe. I make it mostly with a sausage fennel seed/ tomato or ricotta lemon zuchinni. It finishes with just right amount of chew. Make sure to use bread flour, you wont regret it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Basic Pizza Dough
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TonyP
April 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Faulty as written.
April 1, 2011
This recipe undoubtedly requires more flour. 2 cups is in no way enough. I've made this twice, and both times had to add 2-3 more cups on improvisation to make it work. Two rising sessions don't really help your cause either. Most recipes for pizza dough that I've made only require one, at about an hour most.
The powers that be must know this recipe is faulty --- if you search pizza dough recipes on this WS site, this recipe no longer shows up in results.
Cons: Ingredients
Review 3 for Basic Pizza Dough
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Lancaster, Ca
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If I can do it, anyone can!
February 12, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as it is written (except I used a food processor instead of a stand mixer)...I don't know if this makes a huge difference, but my dough came out perfectly. The finished product is a basic, thin and somewhat crispy crust that can probably be jazzed up with herbs or spices. Just remember, the weather/humidity/temperature will affect how much water/flour you will need to use to get the desired consistency...Baking is a science!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Basic Pizza Dough
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leddy77
Dallas, TX
January 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, Good Pizza Dough
January 22, 2011
This dough was so easy to make with a stand mixer and dough hook attachment. It was pretty stick though so you need a lot of flour to get it rolled out. Tasted great
Review 5 for Basic Pizza Dough
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KariP
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs more flour!
January 17, 2011
Do not follow this recipe as it is written. If you add 1 c. of water and only 2 c. of flour as it reads, it makes for a very wet dough, which does not form a ball and pull away from the sides of the bowl as it says it will. Choose a different recipe or prepare to be frustrated!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TonyP
Posted April 1, 2011
KarlP speaks the truth!
From making other pizza dough recipes, I could tell on sight that there was something fishy with this one... only 2 cups flour? Two rising sessions?
I've tried this recipe twice, as written, using a stand mixer and the proper ingredients. I ended up having to add about two more cups flour to make it work. This recipe is faulty... I don't know how the others on here got it right without huge improvisation!
I guess WS has realized this --- if you search "pizza dough" under their recipes, it no longer shows up in search results. The ones that do look much much better.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)