Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Basic Pie Dough
Review 1 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
July 4, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Go To Short Dough!
July 4, 2016
I love, love, love this short dough recipe! It is my go to recipe for any product requiring a pie crust, tart or cobbler. It is also very versatile. I can adjust it for sweet of course and savory products. It's a fool-proof perfect crust every time!
Pros: Adaptable, Appearance, Easy, Good Value, Impressive, Quick, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Portland
,OR
October 31, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick, Fuss-Free and Delicious Pie Crust - Try It!
October 31, 2015
I've used this fantastic recipe many times, so wanted to write a quick note singing its praises. I never used to make pies because my crusts gave me trouble. They always turned out horrible - hard to roll out, from fussy recipes where you have to get the liquid exactly right, then chill the dough making it TOO cold to roll out, or it would be full of cracks, or greasy, or tough and tasteless. Yuck! Not so with this lovely, simple, pliable dough. I make it in my Kitchenaid stand mixer. It takes about two minutes and turns out beautifully every time. Easy to make, easy to roll, no chilling necessary, and it's DELICIOUS! Thank you, Williams-Sonoma for another winning recipe!
Pros: Easy, Quick, Impressive, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Appearance, no chilling required!, flaky and delicious!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RobinCooks
Dallas, TX
Posted November 19, 2015
Pie Crust Fail
I was so excited to try this recipe based on your review, and I followed it to the letter.
A beautiful pie crust went into the oven, and then 10 minutes later I checked on it to find that the sides were melting down into the bottom! What did I do wrong???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,no.cal
,ca
california
January 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect every time
January 12, 2015
I have several pie crust recipes but this one is my latest reliable favorite. I make this recipe over and over again, assembly line style, pop them in the freezer, and can have a pie ready in no time. It is delicious for both savory (leaving out the sugar) and sweet pies. I have also made this in different pie plates and it always looks beautiful. Definitely a winner.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michigan
November 22, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, reliable recipe
November 22, 2014
This is my go-to pie crust recipe at this point. I love it! I use a food processor and it's incredibly easy and reliable.
Review 5 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Minneapolis
,MN
Minneapolis, MN
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Go-To Crust
June 2, 2014
I've made other crusts, but this is my all time favorite. My friends who have had my pies rave about the crust. This recipe is easy, super fast, and the results are a perfectly balanced, slightly sweet and flaky crust.
Just don't over mix and you'll be golden!
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 6 for Basic Pie Dough
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
December 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-22points
10of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
incomplete recipe?!
December 25, 2013
I am sure this is a great recipe but why no bake temp and time?! My pie calls for a baked crust before putting in the pie filling and Im very frustrated!
Cons: no cooking instructions?!
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ebrady
Michigan
Posted November 22, 2014
??
Please don't leave stars on recipes that you haven't tried--you artificially lower the overall review and deter other people from trying the recipe. This is my biggest pet peeve on recipe sites.
Many stand-alone pie crust recipes don't include baking time/temperature because it varies wildly from recipe to recipe depending on the filling.
0points
Customer avatar
tuner06
Maryland
Posted November 9, 2014
dough
just put in the oven and bake at 350 it done when gbd.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Basic Pie Dough
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply the Best!
August 21, 2013
This is my go-to pie crust for both sweet and savoury pies. I can always count on a consistent and impressive outcome. The dough is super easy to make and work with.
Pros: Quick, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again