Bananas Foster French Toast

We've taken the essential ingredients of the dessert known as bananas Foster and transformed them into this luxurious brunch dish.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bananas Foster French Toast
Review 1 for Bananas Foster French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garnie
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious for Sunday Brunch
January 16, 2012
I made this for a large family Sunday Brunch and it was delicious! It was easy to make and every bite was eaten!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Bananas Foster French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
noplastic
San Diego, CA
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT taste - and EASY...
January 2, 2011
This is wonderful. Made this for Christmas brunch - and got rave reviews. This is a keeper - and everyone asked for the recipe. Always a good sign...
Review 3 for Bananas Foster French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wisofan
Sierra Vista, AZ
June 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive and easy french toast
June 12, 2010
Easy - awesome and delicious. Great way to impress family and guests. Even kids like it.
Review 4 for Bananas Foster French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chickox
Lynnwood, WA
May 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect way to make a Sunday special
May 19, 2010
I made this for Sunday morning breakfast and it was so delicious!
I subbed slices of Parisian loaf for the brioche and used half of a vanilla bean instead of vanilla bean paste and it still turned out wonderfully.
Make sure you use a lot of butter to cook the french toast as it will stick if you skimp.
I highly recommend this recipe!!
Review 5 for Bananas Foster French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BikeGal
Milton, NY
May 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breakfast at the Waldorf
May 16, 2010
Followed the recipe as written. Recommendations: USE BRIOCHE. Cook on medium so that it gets cooked and not burnt. Bananas shouldn't be too ripe because they get mushy! I used vanilla extract instead of the paste. If you don't feel like making the banana mixture, just sprinkle with confectioner's sugar and serve with maple syrup. DELICIOUS!!
Review 6 for Bananas Foster French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tipu
Orange County, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent take on a breakfast favorite!
May 14, 2010
Excellent recipe on one of my breakfast favorites.
Couple of points for the chef:
- Clasically, Challah bread goes best in this but any egg bread will do
- the quantity of liquid is not enough for a thick bread and thus you should plan on using more cream/milk and one more egg to get the toast soaked enough
- Choose Malibu or another cocount rum as the coconut flavor really compliments the cinammon and vanilla flavoring
Otherwise, simple and quick recipe!
Review 7 for Bananas Foster French Toast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
islandchef
Sea Island, Georgia
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Brunch
May 14, 2010
I made this French toast with bananas for brunch to serve our weekend guests, and it was a hit. I used thick sliced Italian bread, and served the bananas on the side of the plate, rather than on top of the toast. They were thrilled with the flavors, and it was an easy recipe, without taking too much time to prepare. I served it outside, looking at the water and savoring the fragerances from the garden, along with freshly made whole bean coffee.