Banana-Buttermilk Muffins

Buttermilk is low in fat and, although its unique tang is barely discernible in baked goods, it contributes to a tender, light crumb. The combination of a delicate texture, moist banana flavor and crunchy walnuts will make this a favorite muffin recipe. Be sure to mash the bananas well with a fork to avoid lumps in the batter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
Review 1 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingfor5
,NE
Oak Harbor, WA
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good basic recipe
December 12, 2013
These muffins are very moist and the recipe lends itself well to substitutions and alterations. Here are the changes I made:
I used 2 cups freshly ground soft white wheat and omitted the all-purpose flour.
Used 1/4 cup honey in place of the sugar.
Replaced the canola oil with virgin coconut oil.
Added 3/4 tsp. salt.
We will add cinnamon and blueberries next time. Great starter recipe!
Review 2 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharmAussie
,Atlanta
,GA
Atlanta, Georgia
September 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice breakfast treat/afternoon tea treat
September 27, 2013
Very happy with this recipe! Woke up earlier than usual this morning so decided to surprise my family with muffins for breakfast. Was effortless and yummy. When bananas get too brown, I freeze them -- so, I used 2 frozen bananas for this (thawed and mashed them). Recipe batter yields exactly 12 full muffins.
Substitutes/additions:
- I replaced the whole wheat flour with 3/4 cup of oat-bran (store brand);
- I added 1 tsp salt to dry ingredients (followed advice of another Reviewer on here); and
- I sprinkled brown sugar & cinnamon on tops before baking, instead of nuts.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: recipe does not include salt (need just a tsp).
Review 3 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TerNer
,Near Sacramento
,CA
June 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs salt? FYI: Salt is a flavor enhancer
June 15, 2013
I added melted real butter instead of oil.
I used ripe bananas with dots.
I used real vanilla and doubled the amt
I sprinkled pinch raw sugar on top for looks
I added chopped nuts inside or out
OVERALL: Good texture.
NEXT TIME: I would add salt to prevent the muffin from being bland (1/4-1/2 tsp).
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, good for lunch treat
Cons: Taste, needs salt
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CharmAussie
Atlanta, Georgia
Posted September 27, 2013
Good advice for adding salt!
Glad I took your advice and added salt! Only added 1 tsp, but it seemed sufficient. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsGN
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deliciuos Muffins!
March 1, 2013
I made this recipe last night and they turned out to be amazing! Absolutely delicious and super easy to make :) I love that this recipe is fairly healthy and doesn't call for a stick of butter, like so many baking recipes out there.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again, delicious, no butter
Review 5 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmySue73
,Tampa
,FL
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Favorite Recipe!
June 23, 2012
We make TONS of banana bread, muffins, etc. around our house. I have three young boys that eat a LOT! I left the nuts out and added a couple of tablespoons of toasted wheat germ. I usually make two batches and add mini chocolate chips to one. This recipe is easy and DELICIOUS!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These were a BIG hit!
May 29, 2012
These are very easy, quick to make, and I think they are relatively healthy for a muffin. I baked them for some friends who were working hard on some reno work recently and though I never did get to try one, I had several glowing compliments on how delicious they were!
I have to make them again just so I can try them!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
J123
,Chicago
,IL
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe!
January 29, 2012
OK, I admit I made a few changes to this recipe, but I still feel pretty confident saying it's good! I am trying to cut out the refined sugar in my diet, so I substituted 1/2 cup sucanat for the sugar, and I added about 2 T maple syrup to compensate for the dryness that often comes with sucanat and for a little added sweetness. I also added about 1tsp cinnamon because I love it with bananas. I was out of canola oil so I used coconut oil instead. These were some of the better banana muffins I've had in quite a while, and I'm definitely going to make this recipe again in the future. They were not too sweet, and they weren't heavy and dense like whole wheat muffins can be. I know it adds more sugar, but I kept thinking these would be excellent with some dried fruit or, even better, chocolate chips. :) Great recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emommy
,Lynn
,Ma
October 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and delicious
October 19, 2011
I made these one day since I had a few extra ripe bananas after I made homemade banana bread... Ever since my husband and children always ask for these muffins!!!! I make mini ones for my kids and regular size for the adults, they are a huge favorite! Instead of nuts I added choc. chips on tops...we love them
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IHeartWSRecipes
August 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Go-to muffins
August 3, 2011
One of the best muffin recipes that I know, and I feel completely confident eating them, knowing that they are not cake-in-disguise, like many muffins.
I make them exactly as the recipe states and they are fantastic, although I have at times substituted the buttermilk with milk & 1T of vinegar (curdled for 5 mins or so). Works great.
Review 10 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melliemayo
Sacramento, CA
August 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Muffins!
August 1, 2011
A delicious quick muffin, I too used only all purpose flour and used chocolate chips instead of walnuts.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dentistmom
Selah, Wa
July 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist and yummy!!
July 15, 2011
I made these yesterday. My son asked me to make banana bread but I didn't have enough bananas or time for the recipe I use so I made these instead. My son and husband love them. They went together so quickly and baked up light and flavorful. I must be honest though, I used only all purpose flour and no nuts. I will be making these again!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again