Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote

This appetizer can be made up to 2 weeks in advance. Assemble the pastry, cheese and apple compote, but don't brush the dough with the egg wash. Instead, wrap the pastry tightly with plastic wrap and freeze until ready to bake. Then brush the frozen pastry with the egg wash and bake in a 350deg.F oven for 45 to 50 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
Review 1 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KatherineAgnes
,San Marcos
,CA
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes great - more details required
January 5, 2014
I made this for family Christmas dinner. I purchased a round of brie. Does one remove the outside crust from the brie: just the top, or top and sides? Also the frozen puff pastry came with two 9 x 9 sheets. I used one and rolled it out to make it 10 x 10 or should I have used both sheets? After a little time in the oven, the outside pastry crust cracked and the brie spilled out . My family loved the taste and most of it disappeared, but it didn't look like the photo. Did not spend $12 for a bottle of cardamom, so I used cinnamon. the apple compote tasted great. I would make this again if I could get some more details of where I went wrong.
Pros: tasted very good
Cons: Confusing, need better instructions
Review 2 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilcheph
October 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So yummy!!
October 2, 2013
I made this for a group of my friends and it was delicious!! The whole appetizer was gone!! I didn't have cardamom on hand so I used cinnamon. I plan on making a few to put in my freezer for when I need an appetizer. This is a definite make again!!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chriscancook
,Palatine
,IL
Palatine, IL
December 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Appetizer
December 26, 2012
I made this for our Christmas party. Everyone absoultely loved it!!!
It was very simple to make. I made it ahead of time so all I had to do was put it in the over on Christmas day.
I did substitute cinnamon for cardamom, but, it was delicious. I will definitely make this again. Thank you!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaKC
October 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
October 25, 2012
This was really good. I made it for a dinner party and everyone raved about it. It was super easy as well. Will definitely make again!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nettkitten
,Stafford
,VA
July 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All occasion pleaser!
July 30, 2012
From the tea table to the party buffet this recipe is a smash hit! Easy, elegant and versatile, I've had rave reviews every time I make it. Lovely with afternoon tea, perfect for dinner and holiday parties all year round. You cannot go wrong with this one! Add some chopped pecans and dried fruit (I like golden raisins, dried cranberries or chopped dates) for variety.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, Quick, Easy, Versatile
Review 6 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Make Ahead App
May 24, 2012
This is one of my favourite recipes when I need something that can be prepared ahead of time.
One word of caution: If you are NOT freezing it ahead of time, then do not put any of the apple compote on top of the brie round as the pastry will open up while baking. If you freeze it ahead of time, you can put compote on top as the pastry will stay together.
Also, if you are really short on time, you can use a fig jam instead of making the compote. It's still very delicious! I am thinking that I may even try a red pepper jam the next time I make this, to give it a savoury twist!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ERMNC
,Asheville
,NC
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 6, 2011
This recipe is both simple and elegant! It's so easy to prepare. It's perfect for a buffet-style party. I brought it to my company Christmas party, and people raved! I will sometimes add golden raisins to the apple chutney, which is a delicious addition. I have also substituted cinnamon for the ground cardamom when I was out of cardamom, and it was just as delicious. I've also made this for a wine tasting party, and it was perfect!!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooksloft
Venice Beach, CA
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
French country evening!!
February 20, 2011
I made this for a french dinner evening with friends and it was awesome and was devoured quickly. Very simple but great presentation. The only thing I changed up was that the cardamon is very expensive spice so I went to my all time favorite source book and it told me to use half of the recipe called for and use ground ginger. No difference. The other thing I served instead of crackers was very thinly sliced french baguette. This recipe went into my favorite recipes cookbook.
Review 9 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CADal
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holiday Favorite
December 25, 2010
One of the best recipes. I made it for a dinner party once, and everyone who tried it constantly begs me to do it again. The best thing to do it put the compote in the middle of the cheese wheel (split in half) and not on top (too difficult). Also, cover the entire thing with puff pastry. It may not look as pretty, but it prevents the cheese from leaking out
Review 10 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ccl08
Philadelphia, PA
December 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
thought it would be better
December 13, 2010
I made 2 of these for 2 different parties and no one touched either! The apple compote tasted good, but I did not like it with the brie or puffed pastry. I have made other baked bries before and they have turned out, this one just didn't taste good. I will go back to my old stand by of brown sugar, pecans and puffed pastry with the brie. Or heating the brie and then drizzling honey and pistachios on top and serving with apples and bread.
Review 11 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Java94
ofallon, il
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of show
November 28, 2010
this is the best baked brie I have ever tasted. every time I make it; people ask for the recipe.
Review 12 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
auntieshell
June 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You cant go wrong
June 3, 2010
This recipe is so easy and delisssssssh!!! Make it exactly as stated.
Review 13 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NASAkjr
Williamsburg, VA
May 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Brunch
May 21, 2010
The apple compote works so well with the melted brie and crisp soft layers of phyllo. Very easy to prepare for something so decadent. Avoid using highly savory or sweet crackers with this because they might mask the tastes of the dish. The recipe recommends table water crackers, which are what I used.
Review 14 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MartiQ
Dayton, Ohio
May 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Divine Baked Brie
May 17, 2010
We recently served this Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote for a party. Everyone ignore most of the other appetizers and scraped the dish completely clean. Plus as it baked, it gave off a wonderful aroma and it automatically brought everyone into the kitchen.
We liked this recipe because some of it could be made ahead of time. We just had to add the egg wash before baking.
Review 15 for Baked Brie en Croute with Apple Compote
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ConnieM
Portland, OR and Peoria, AZ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cocktail Party Treat
April 30, 2010
Quick, easy and elegant. There's something about a puff pastry crust that really classes up a dish. Friends and neighbors have oftened commented that it should be dessert and not just an appetizer.