Asparagus Soup

For an ultrasmooth soup, strain it through a chinois, a conical strainer that is a favorite in restaurant kitchens. A pestle is used to push the food through the fine-mesh perforations of the chinois.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Asparagus Soup
Review 1 for Asparagus Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
csinclair916
,Sacramento
,Ca
January 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 21, 2014
I paired the Asparagus Soup with the Williams-Sonoma's Crab Crostini. The meal was delicious.
Both recipes were easy to make and turned out very flavorful. I used freshly made chicken broth and instead of the immersion hand blender I pureed the soup, in batches, in my Cuisinart; and did not strain. Both my guest and I enjoyed the consistency and texture of the soup. I added a small amount of fresh dill to both the soup (in the onion, garlic and butter stage of prep) and the crab crostini.
For the Crab Crostini I used fresh crab and flavored the water base with lemon, crab boil mix and salt...lovely, fresh and filling. Thank you Williams-Sonoma for all the great recipes.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Asparagus Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaxineCooksForJustin
,San Diego
,CA
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Husband & I Loved This - So delicious and easy!
December 28, 2013
I made this to serve with our Christmas Eve dinner and it turned out incredibly well. We loved it! I did make a couple adjustments to the recipe, rather than heavy cream I used half-and-half, instead of dry Vermouth I used a brut Cava, I used just under two pounds of asparagus, and instead of an asparagus garnish, I toasted French baguette slices in the oven topped with Parmesan/Asiago cheese and placed that in the bowl onto the soup for the garnish and added flavor/texture. The mix of the cheese with creamy soup was a wonderful combination and the crispy bread that became slightly soft from the soup was a nice addition to the texture and flavor. I also loved that I could actually taste the Cava in the soup.
The only tool I used was my immersion blender, I prefer this kind of soup a little thicker, but I did need to add a little more chicken stock in the end, which was fine.
If you make this surprisingly easy, yet impressive soup you will not regret it!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Asparagus Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
photogcook
June 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Soup
June 20, 2013
I did not strain the soup as the recipe stated and also I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream. It came out simply delicious! Will be making this again, will be impressive for company too.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Asparagus Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sfmarco
,San Francisco
,CA
April 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick Spring Crowd Pleaser
April 22, 2013
Soup is fantastic and the Vermouth reduction with the onion and garlic is what makes this pop.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Asparagus Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patria
,Gig Harbor
,WA
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Soup
April 16, 2013
Super easy soup to make. I substituted the whipping cream for greek yougart and it was yummy. Paired with a grilled flank steak on baguette and I was in food heaven.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Asparagus Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Elgin
,IL
April 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Simple
April 3, 2012
I made this soup for dinner one night and it was excellent and sooo easy. I had a lot of Asparagus Soups in Germany and I loved that their soups were not the thick calorie laden soups we seem to have here. So, in order to try and recreate that, I used 2% milk instead of cream and the consistency turned out great. I will definitely be making this soup again.
Pros: Quick, Easy