Asian Braised Short Ribs

These slow-cooked beef short ribs are seasoned with Chinese five spice, an aromatic blend of Szechuan peppercorns, cinnamon, star anise, fennel and cloves. For optimum flavor, grind the whole spices just before using.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Asian Braised Short Ribs
Review 1 for Asian Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teach400
,Copley
,Oh
June 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great fusion of Asian Flavors
June 15, 2013
This recipe was a winner for us. A great fusion of Asian flavors. I love the combination of soy, orange, Szechuan peppercorns and plum wine. I made the recipe as is and would not change a thing. I served the short ribs with brown rice and braised baby bok choy. Leftovers were also a hit. I am getting ready to make this recipe a second time.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Asian Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenH
Kula, HI
April 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Winner!!! This is awesome!
April 8, 2012
This recipe is a total winner! It is my husbands favorite and he raves about it. Everyone I make this recipe for never forgets this dish. The meet is so tender, and the sauce is delicious on rice. I also cut out the orange peel and use very little orange juice (if any). I absolutely love this recipe!! You must try it!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Asian Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Smithfield
,RI
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious
January 11, 2012
Have made this multiple times and have found it's better made the day before. When cooked separate the meat from the sauce. Store in fridge overnight and the next day you'd be amazed by all the fat that has risen to the top. Discard the fat and you have a much thicker gravy/sauce. Everyone always asks where I got the recipe. Thanks Williams-Sonoma!!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Asian Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wenderz
Glendale, Ca
October 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic and easy!
October 7, 2010
I was impressed with how simple this recipe is! It was devoured which always makes the chef feel good :) Highly recommend it but make sure not to overcook it as it starts to melt off the bone. Then presentation isn't as amazing.
Review 5 for Asian Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clio
Born in NYC
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceeds Restaurant Quality
May 14, 2010
This recipe is easy to follow, the outcome is flavorful, and the presentation is outstanding.
Review 6 for Asian Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
florita
New York
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tasty meal
April 30, 2010
The ingredients used go together so well, that you will find the dish very tasty. My Husband and I enjoyed it very much. I have to make it again when I have company over.
Review 7 for Asian Braised Short Ribs
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sofia
Katonah, NY
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An impressive meal for guests
April 30, 2010
I made this recipe after I had it at a friends house, and really enjoyed it. My recipe did not taste like hers did. I followed the directions exactly, but mine had way too strong of an orange flavor. I think in doing it the next time, I would definitely reduce the orange peel to a minimum. Easy to make, though, and really presents well on the table.