Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)

A favorite on menus throughout Tuscany is arista alla Fiorentina-a prime cut of pork that is rubbed or stuffed with an aromatic blend of Mediterranean herbs and roasted to savory perfection. This classic dish derives its name from the Greek word aristos, meaning "the best." According to culinary lore, arista was first served in 15th-century Florence at a summit of Roman Catholic and Greek churches. The succulent pork roast so delighted the Greek clergymen that they began to chant, "Aristos, aristos, aristos."
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
Review 1 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xxstardust
,NJ
August 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious, Elegant Roast - Great for Company
August 29, 2014
I made this roast during the week when we had another couple over for dinner. It was simple and elegant, and absolutely delicious. As pork tenderloin was on sale, I used that instead of a bone-in loin. I trussed two smaller tenderloins to end up with one 2 1/2 pound roast. I fell asleep and DIDN'T marinate overnight, so I did it before work in the morning and it got to sit for about eight hours. This was plenty of time, as after roasting to 155 and resting for ten minutes, the pork was incredibly juicy and tender. It didn't need a knife to be cut! The pan sauce was absolutely delicious as well, though I did modify it slightly by using white wine (pinot grigio) instead of the sweet vermouth, simply because I didn't want to run to the liquor store. I will absolutely make this roast again, as my husband and guests raved about it.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kelsik
,Portland
,OR
February 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive and easy
February 13, 2013
This was my first experience with a pork roast, as I am not a pork fan, but it was DIVINE!! I didn't have time to marinade it, I didn't notice a problem with flavor, as this is packed with savory rosemary and wine, and some subtle sweet fig notes. It was dreamy and an impressive presentation as well, definitely one for a dinner with the in-laws! all for a $6 roast too!!
For those who have not experienced ground rosemary----I highly recommend it. very flavorful and reduces the pine needle-like texture sometimes experienced with whole rosemary.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, dreamy
Review 3 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mantaspace
,Simi Valley
,CA
October 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible
October 5, 2012
This recipe is not only easy but has everyone convinced that I am a gourmet chef!!! It has such a wonderful flavor and the presentation is just beautiful.. I used a bone in loin roast and wow.... I have tried this recipe a few times and am making it again on sunday but this time I am going to brine the roast before cooking. Thanks for this terrific recipe.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: addictive, too easy
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
mantaspace
Posted December 19, 2012
Kfmeehan
I brined for three days but I would only do two next time. I also didn't put the herbs on and let stand overnight I put the herbs on at like 9am and then cooked the roast around 5pm and I have cooked both ways now, brined and not brined and bringin won!! It turned out very very moist and extremely tender. Hope this helps
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Kfmeehan
Minneapolis, MN
Posted December 18, 2012
Brine
Curious as to how the roast turned out after brining, thinking of doing this myself.
Did you brine and then wrap with herbs and store overnight? How long did you brine? And the money question, how did it turn out?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveinDestin
,Destin
,FL
Destin, Fl
March 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best roast pork ever: Arista!
March 9, 2012
This is fantastic. I used a 2 1/2 lb pork loin in two pieces and coated each with the marinade, then tied them into a full roast. It had the advantage of a vein of the garlic/herbs running through the sliced meat. Also, I substituted dry sherry for the vermouth the second time I cooked it and the flavor was even richer. I mashed the figs and sherry into the roasting pan and cooked that down a bit adding more sherry when necessary, then strained it for presentation. Amazing!
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again, healthy but rich
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 5 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisafavorites
,Leesburg
,VA
Viriginia
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING Dish
January 10, 2012
This was THE BEST recipe I have made from W&S. It was really, really good. My 12 year old said it was "Excellent". My husband loved it. This would really impress company.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again