Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)

A favorite on menus throughout Tuscany is arista alla Fiorentina-a prime cut of pork that is rubbed or stuffed with an aromatic blend of Mediterranean herbs and roasted to savory perfection. This classic dish derives its name from the Greek word aristos, meaning "the best." According to culinary lore, arista was first served in 15th-century Florence at a summit of Roman Catholic and Greek churches. The succulent pork roast so delighted the Greek clergymen that they began to chant, "Aristos, aristos, aristos."
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
Review 1 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kelsik
,Portland
,OR
February 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive and easy
February 13, 2013
This was my first experience with a pork roast, as I am not a pork fan, but it was DIVINE!! I didn't have time to marinade it, I didn't notice a problem with flavor, as this is packed with savory rosemary and wine, and some subtle sweet fig notes. It was dreamy and an impressive presentation as well, definitely one for a dinner with the in-laws! all for a $6 roast too!!
For those who have not experienced ground rosemary----I highly recommend it. very flavorful and reduces the pine needle-like texture sometimes experienced with whole rosemary.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, dreamy
Review 2 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mantaspace
,Simi Valley
,CA
October 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible
October 5, 2012
This recipe is not only easy but has everyone convinced that I am a gourmet chef!!! It has such a wonderful flavor and the presentation is just beautiful.. I used a bone in loin roast and wow.... I have tried this recipe a few times and am making it again on sunday but this time I am going to brine the roast before cooking. Thanks for this terrific recipe.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: addictive, too easy
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
mantaspace
Posted December 19, 2012
Kfmeehan
I brined for three days but I would only do two next time. I also didn't put the herbs on and let stand overnight I put the herbs on at like 9am and then cooked the roast around 5pm and I have cooked both ways now, brined and not brined and bringin won!! It turned out very very moist and extremely tender. Hope this helps
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Kfmeehan
Minneapolis, MN
Posted December 18, 2012
Brine
Curious as to how the roast turned out after brining, thinking of doing this myself.
Did you brine and then wrap with herbs and store overnight? How long did you brine? And the money question, how did it turn out?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveinDestin
,Destin
,FL
Destin, Fl
March 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best roast pork ever: Arista!
March 9, 2012
This is fantastic. I used a 2 1/2 lb pork loin in two pieces and coated each with the marinade, then tied them into a full roast. It had the advantage of a vein of the garlic/herbs running through the sliced meat. Also, I substituted dry sherry for the vermouth the second time I cooked it and the flavor was even richer. I mashed the figs and sherry into the roasting pan and cooked that down a bit adding more sherry when necessary, then strained it for presentation. Amazing!
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again, healthy but rich
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 4 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisafavorites
,Leesburg
,VA
Viriginia
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING Dish
January 10, 2012
This was THE BEST recipe I have made from W&S. It was really, really good. My 12 year old said it was "Excellent". My husband loved it. This would really impress company.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bethrsmith
October 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One little change..
October 9, 2011
The flavors of this are really delicious. The only thing I would do differently is to remove from the oven at 135 degrees. I find 140 to be just too much and results in overcooked meat.
Review 6 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MRPhoenix
Portsmouth, UK
March 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brilliant!
March 31, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe, full of strong flavors. Easy to prepare, this is a recipe that you can stun guests with, without too much effort. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShaCooks
virgin islands
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Arista is Fabulous!
January 28, 2011
I made this for a dinner party for 14 in October 2010 (did two roasts) in Boston and it was an incredible hit. Everyone said it was the best meat dish they have ever tasted! We had this dish in Florence a few years ago although we don't remember the figs we loved them in this sauce. Served with Ina Garten's potato/fennel gratin, and roasted winter vegetables, grilled mixed onions. A huge hit. Making it again next month for a different crowd and in the Virgin Islands!
Review 8 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy6738
San Jose, CA
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect to impress someone
November 8, 2010
This recipe was voted by my family as the "best meal they have ever had in their life!" We've eaten at the Ritz-Carlton and haven't had this good of a meal. It was served with Roasted autumn vegetables, and a salad. Just delicious!!!
Review 9 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
labelladonna
WI
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Celebratory Meal
June 21, 2010
This has become our family's favorite dinner at Christmas time. Be sure to use the bone-in pork loin to get the extra flavor for the sauce. Using a premium fig balsamic is crucial to the rich flavor, as is the veal demi-glace.
A fairly easy preparation for a savory celebratory dinner.
Review 10 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
McDonough, GA
May 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Special meal
May 18, 2010
I fixed this for my husband's birthday and it was a huge success! Very easy to prepare. No one at the table had eaten figs before and we all loved them. Served with sauteed spinach and mashed sweet potatoes. Will definitely serve again.
Review 11 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jad33
Amherst, Ohio
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family Favorite
May 15, 2010
This is a truly special roast. The flavor of the figs with the pork and the sauce is a beautiful blend of flavors. I use a pork loin, but other then that, I follow the recipe. It's easy and delicious and makes a very special family meal.
Review 12 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TDog
Chico, ca
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Culinary magnificence!
May 14, 2010
A fairly simple recipe that yields a meal with complex flavors you'd expect to get in a 5-star restaurant. I serve with mashed potatoes!
Review 13 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
anitalinda
Houghton, Michigan
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good enough
May 2, 2010
I used some local Pork Loin for this recipe. It had been frozen and took a while to defrost, so I did not marinate it as much as the recipe required. Had I marinated it, the flavors would have probably been stronger and the recipe better (for my taste). I did not very much like the demi galce of the sauce. I would have rather skipped this step and then have a lighter tasting pork.
Review 14 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Astero
Potomac, MD
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfcet meal for Sunday family dinner!
April 30, 2010
Perfect meal, super delicious and healthy dinner. I make my family happy every time I prepare the Roast Pork.
Review 15 for Arista (Roasted Pork Loin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chucky
Houston, Texas
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family Favorite
April 30, 2010
Very easy to prepare and serve and loved by everyone. I sampled different figs to find the right one to compliment the meat by soaking them in vermouth first. I was amazed at the difference in flavors. Also, the brand of chicken stock makes a difference. If you don't make your own stock I recommend Swanson's Organic low sodium stock.