Apple Torte with Pine Nuts and Raisins

This Tuscan cake makes the house smell so divine while it bakes.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apple Torte with Pine Nuts and Raisins
Review 1 for Apple Torte with Pine Nuts and Raisins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blond1e
,Salem
,VA
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and delicious!
January 26, 2012
Wonderfully easy and so yummy-I didn't have pine nuts so there were no nuts but it was still really delicious. Sinfully sticky edges, tender moist cake and tart apples on top. I used powdered sugar sprinkle on top and a little whipped cream. Definately will make again-possibly today for a friend! The house did smell great-good for weeknight dessert or lovely for guests.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Apple Torte with Pine Nuts and Raisins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martawillcox
,London, UK
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely wonderful!
January 7, 2012
This torte is perfect and incredibly delicious! The apples easily sunk down around the edges for me and it was difficult to achieve the perfect look for the top.
I substituted dried currants for the raisins and it was delicious.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Apple Torte with Pine Nuts and Raisins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maledictus
Boston
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant, easy, and delicious
February 15, 2011
I've made this torte several times for friends and colleagues, and it 's always a huge hit. This is a nice, fruity dessert with a hint of tartness and is tasty without being cloyingly sweet. The pine nuts add a unique flavor and increase the richness without adding additional butter.
The actual recipe is fairly straightforward. Depending on the season, I sometimes make the recipe with 1/2 apples, 1/2 pears to vary the flavor. The recipe is forgiving in that you can add more or less fruit depending on how much of a cake texture you're trying to achieve. Arranging the fruit in a spiral design or concentric circles turns it into an elegant dessert for company.
Review 4 for Apple Torte with Pine Nuts and Raisins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenniferH
Sonoma County, CA
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Morning, Afternoon and Night!
August 18, 2010
I tried this recipe last night and I concur with the previous reviewer that the cake is delicious. I will definitely make it again. I found the texture a little "different" - it wasn't light and fluffy but was more on the dense side (or, at least, that is how mine turned out).
My only caveat was that it took much, much longer than just 45 minutes for my cake to fully set. I am estimating that I had it in the oven for about an hour and a half. I put an oven thermometer in my oven to make sure it had reached 375 and it had. I also double checked all my measurements for the ingredients. At 45 minutes, the whole cake wobbled and was clearly still very wet. The previous reviewer didn't mention having this problem so maybe it was just me. But if not, just a head's up so you can plan accordingly.
Review 5 for Apple Torte with Pine Nuts and Raisins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mdquilter
Flagstaff, Arizona
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive and Easy
April 30, 2010
I love the combination of apples and raisins and this torte highlights both with the added taste bonus of pine nuts. The torte goes together quickly and bakes perfectly for an impressive and easy dessert. I've made this "last minute" for dinner guests and it is a hit. Walnuts, almonds or pecans can stand in for the pine nuts and golden raisins and dried cranberries have made it into my Torte as well. Yum!