Animal Cutout Sugar Cookies

These classic cookies can be decorated in a variety of ways. They can be sprinkled with colored sugar crystals before baking or decorated with royal icing (click on the link at left) using a pastry bag fitted with a plain tip, or a small plastic bag with a corner snipped off.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Animal Cutout Sugar Cookies
Review 1 for Animal Cutout Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
auntyoo
,lexington
,ky
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ANIMAL CUTOUT SUGAR COOKIES
November 20, 2011
these cookies are so great. i didnt have vanilla extract, so i used lemon and they tasted terrific.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Animal Cutout Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ailak
Chicago, IL
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always a hit
August 30, 2010
This is my go-to sugar cookie recipe. I've made them for showers, birthdays, parties, fundraisers and just because. I usually spread out the baking and decorating over 3 or 4 days. It is definitely worth the time and the cookies just get better the longer they sit.
The recipe is perfect as it is, but when I have lemons or limes on hand I like to give them a citrus kick. I mix some zest into the dough, and I squeeze the juice into a meringue-powder-based royal icing.
Review 3 for Animal Cutout Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bobochee
San Francisco, CA
July 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent and super easy to make cookies!
July 23, 2010
i made them for my son's school, teachers and kids loved them!!! i did not decorate them and roll them very thin and cut down the sugar to 1/2 a cup to make them more "healthy"! i was afraid the vanilla bean would not spread out but stick together, so i used a tsp. of vanilla extract to loosen it up before blending it into the mixture. i then called them vanilla bean cookies :)
Review 4 for Animal Cutout Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalSal
Madison, WI
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Go-To Cutout Recipe
May 14, 2010
Whenever I have an excuse to make cutout cookies (and I have 3 tins full of cookie cutters), this and the royal icing recipe are what I choose.