Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Almond-Scented White Cake
Review 1 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LegalLady1230
,Pawtucket
,RI
Pawtucket, RI
August 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth your time
August 2, 2014
This is a delicious dense cake that is very impressive. I've made it several times now, and most guests usually rave about it. In fact my family members thought I picked it up at our favorite "go to" place. Needless to say, they enjoyed it very much. It's a great special occasion cake and is perfect for the holidays. I also just realized I prefer baking it the day before as it tastes better when the preserves absorb into the cake.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jamberry
,Toronto
,On
January 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Cake!
January 28, 2014
I used the white cake recipe to make boston cream pie and it was delicious. Omitted the almond extract and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I recommend using parchment paper on the bottom as one of my cakes stuck and I was left with a hole. Luckily I was going to cut up one anyway :)
I'm looking forward to trying it with the raspberry filling and cream cheese icing.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mxm242
January 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really good
January 19, 2014
This cake came out really good with the raspberry preserves. The only problem was my two layers didn't rise much even though I followed the recipe exactly and have tried it a few times. I just make twice the recipe when I want the four layers.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
LegalLady1230
Pawtucket, RI
Posted August 2, 2014
I think you may be over stirring it when adding the egg whites. Also, be sure to use a rubber spatula. Note: this is a dense cake, and the layers will not be very thick to begin with. I hope this solves your problem. Good luck!
0points
Customer avatar
merryann1
Clawson MI
Posted March 31, 2014
Maybe this is the answer
This has happened to me that my cake didn't rise properly because my baking powder was old. Check the bottom of the can for the use by or expiration date. Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beeastitch
,Albuquerque
,NM
March 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High altitude
March 25, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe. Have made I t several times. I find that living at 5000+ feet I need to reduce the amount of baking powder. I reduce mine by 3/4 tsp. Your altitude adjustment could be different. Suggest contacting your local home extension office.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chartreuse
,Nashville
,TN
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great special occasion cake!
December 17, 2012
I made this for a friend's birthday party and everyone loved it and was impressed. The 4 layers look lovely and the combination of the raspberry preserves and almond frosting is great with the moist cake. Given that it was a party I only got to eat one slice myself, so 5 days later I made it the whole cake again just for us. Leftovers at the office were a big hit and I've been asked for the recipe more than once. Will be making this one of my repertoire cakes for sure.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SarahBM
,Weaverville
,NC
October 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing left, but crumbs.
October 15, 2012
This was an easy and delicous recipe! The raspberries are a light and lovely treat. Nothing was left after supper but the crumbs! Thank you!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
autumn555
,Stone Ridge
,VA
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Fabulous
June 8, 2012
I have the original book that this recipe came out of so that's where I got it. I've only tried it once but would do it again in a heartbeat. It turned out as beautiful as the picture and the flavour was nothing short of exquisite. I loved, loved, loved it. It was easy enough to make -- took a little more time than some other cakes I've made but well worth it. FABULOUS! This recipe shot right up to the top of my favourite cake recipes. It was a huge hit amongst my friends, as well. Everyone loved it.
Review 8 for Almond-Scented White Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PlanoCook
,Plano
,Te
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TIME CONSUMING FOR RESULTS
February 13, 2012
This cake takes a lot of time to prepare. There are three separate processes to preparing the cake batter and two mixer bowls are needed for this recipe. If you have only one mixer bowl, hand washing/drying the mixer bowl is an additional step.
Cake rose beautifully but fell and shrunk while cooling making splitting the layers impossible. Another reviewer said it had a strange after-taste. I agree.
Conclusion: not worth the time, effort or ingredients for the end product.
Cons: Complicated, Taste, Cost, Lengthy, Appearance
Review 9 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tmd17
,Pensacola
,FL
Pensacola
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous even plain
February 7, 2012
I made just the cake--no filling, no frosting--and we had it plain, and it is wonderful! Lovely, unadulterated almond flavor, not too sweet, beautifully light. I normally feel doing the egg-whites-beaten-separately thing is pointless frippery, but here it does wonderful things for the texture. This will be my go-to birthday cake for non-chocolate people.
Pros: Will Make Again