Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Almond-Scented White Cake
Review 1 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jamberry
,Toronto
,On
January 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Cake!
January 28, 2014
I used the white cake recipe to make boston cream pie and it was delicious. Omitted the almond extract and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. I recommend using parchment paper on the bottom as one of my cakes stuck and I was left with a hole. Luckily I was going to cut up one anyway :)
I'm looking forward to trying it with the raspberry filling and cream cheese icing.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mxm242
January 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really good
January 19, 2014
This cake came out really good with the raspberry preserves. The only problem was my two layers didn't rise much even though I followed the recipe exactly and have tried it a few times. I just make twice the recipe when I want the four layers.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
merryann1
Clawson MI
Posted March 31, 2014
Maybe this is the answer
This has happened to me that my cake didn't rise properly because my baking powder was old. Check the bottom of the can for the use by or expiration date. Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beeastitch
,Albuquerque
,NM
March 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High altitude
March 25, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe. Have made I t several times. I find that living at 5000+ feet I need to reduce the amount of baking powder. I reduce mine by 3/4 tsp. Your altitude adjustment could be different. Suggest contacting your local home extension office.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chartreuse
,Nashville
,TN
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great special occasion cake!
December 17, 2012
I made this for a friend's birthday party and everyone loved it and was impressed. The 4 layers look lovely and the combination of the raspberry preserves and almond frosting is great with the moist cake. Given that it was a party I only got to eat one slice myself, so 5 days later I made it the whole cake again just for us. Leftovers at the office were a big hit and I've been asked for the recipe more than once. Will be making this one of my repertoire cakes for sure.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SarahBM
,Weaverville
,NC
October 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing left, but crumbs.
October 15, 2012
This was an easy and delicous recipe! The raspberries are a light and lovely treat. Nothing was left after supper but the crumbs! Thank you!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
autumn555
,Stone Ridge
,VA
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Fabulous
June 8, 2012
I have the original book that this recipe came out of so that's where I got it. I've only tried it once but would do it again in a heartbeat. It turned out as beautiful as the picture and the flavour was nothing short of exquisite. I loved, loved, loved it. It was easy enough to make -- took a little more time than some other cakes I've made but well worth it. FABULOUS! This recipe shot right up to the top of my favourite cake recipes. It was a huge hit amongst my friends, as well. Everyone loved it.
Review 7 for Almond-Scented White Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PlanoCook
,Plano
,Te
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TIME CONSUMING FOR RESULTS
February 13, 2012
This cake takes a lot of time to prepare. There are three separate processes to preparing the cake batter and two mixer bowls are needed for this recipe. If you have only one mixer bowl, hand washing/drying the mixer bowl is an additional step.
Cake rose beautifully but fell and shrunk while cooling making splitting the layers impossible. Another reviewer said it had a strange after-taste. I agree.
Conclusion: not worth the time, effort or ingredients for the end product.
Cons: Complicated, Taste, Cost, Lengthy, Appearance
Review 8 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tmd17
,Pensacola
,FL
Pensacola
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous even plain
February 7, 2012
I made just the cake--no filling, no frosting--and we had it plain, and it is wonderful! Lovely, unadulterated almond flavor, not too sweet, beautifully light. I normally feel doing the egg-whites-beaten-separately thing is pointless frippery, but here it does wonderful things for the texture. This will be my go-to birthday cake for non-chocolate people.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 9 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LegalLady1230
,Pawtucket
,RI
December 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not only delicious but beautiful
December 2, 2011
It's the first time I baked something that I actually felt looked like a professional had made it. Needless to say, I was quite proud of myself. The "icing on the cake" (so to speak) came when my fellow guests were equally impressed. I consider them "foodies" and was relieved to win them over.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmalgd
Houston, TX
June 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almond-Scented White Cake - Amazing Taste
June 29, 2011
I made the cake and was so impressed with the results. The cake was super moist, creamy, fruity (I added extra berries on the top) and most of all, perfectly sweet. Everyone loved the taste and needless to say, the cake did not sit around long. I'll definitely be making this one again...
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Almond-Scented White Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1John513
Orange County CA
May 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but very rich
May 9, 2011
I made this cake for mother's day and it was very moist, however a little too sweet and rich for me. I had to add more sugar to the frosting to make it thick enough to spread and "stay", so that may be part of it. I also made it the night before, so by the time we ate it (24 hrs later, in refrigerator until right before dinner), the preserves had sunk into the cake, so it didn't look quite as pretty when sliced as in the WS photo. I will make again, but will look for a frosting w/o cream cheese that won't feel so rich with the rich cake. The cake frosted beautifully and I pressed the toasted almonds into the bottom half of the sides of the cake and put a little pile in the middle of the top....presentation was gorgeous!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: very rich too sweet
Review 12 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alrich
Wayland, Ia
May 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mamma's favorite
May 3, 2011
I made this cake for both my son's graduations, Mother's Day and some other family get together's. This is ultimately the best cake in the world!!! And I'm a chocolate lover! I have experimented with some frosting ideas and I think I like layering the cakes with the preserves & whipped whipping cream instead of the frosting lightens it up a bit in the warmer months. Other then that it's perfect & is always a huge hit. I've been making this one for many years now and still my fav. Simply very impressive to serve and relatively easy to make.
I like to freeze the cake layers seperately and put the cake together & frost while they are frozen. Makes it very easy to frost.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, freezes well
Review 13 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosetroi
Spring, TX
April 27, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best White Cake Ever
April 27, 2011
My niece wanted an almond cake with blackberry filling for her baby shower. Quadrupled this recipe for a 18x12 double layer cake and added a little more almond extract. Filled in between layers with frosting and Polaner's Blackberry Jam and frosted and decorated top with Best Buttercream Frosting (this is one where you cook a pastry cream of milk, sugar, egg yolks, cornstarch, vanilla and almond and when cool mix with butter -- comes out perfect, not too sweet). Everyone raved about the cake and wanted seconds. The cake with light , fluffy and delicious and the slight tartness of the blackberry jam and the not overly sweet Buttercream complemented it perfect. This will be the only white cake I will ever make.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cooking4joy
Minnesota
Posted May 3, 2011
Frosting recipe please!!!!!
Rose...PLEASE share your frosting recipe!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Almond-Scented White Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bailey426
Chicago, IL
April 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What did I do wrong
April 25, 2011
I made this cake for Easter and had a couple of questions.
First of all the cake would have been almost impossible to split into 4 layers. The layers didn't rise much and I was afraid so I only did 2 layers.
Also, it had a strange aftertaste - I'm not sure what I did wrong??
Any thoughts.
However, it was a beautiful cake and relatively easy to make.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Cons: Taste
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
Mandy170
Posted November 27, 2013
Aftertaste
The strange after taste is the almond extract. If you smell it, you will find out that the smell matches the taste. Try using crushed, ground almonds. It worked out fine for me!
0points
Customer avatar
1John513
Orange County CA
Posted May 12, 2011
Old baking powder/overfolded?
First off, my cakes rose wonderfully, but fell a little while they cooled. I was able to slice in half, but had to be very careful and the layers were a bit thin. Anyway, two things came to mind reading your review. Check the date on your baking powder to see if it's expired or close to exp. date (bottom of can). Next, did you overfold your egg whites into your flour? You have to be careful to FOLD, not stir or mix them. If you're not familiar, you can google the term and get a gazillion responses. And when folding, you stop before it looks completely mixed. If you're not familiar w/folding, it goes completely against your instinct. You just want to keep folding!! Anyway, hope this helps.
0points
Customer avatar
Bailey426
Chicago, IL
Posted May 3, 2011
Thanks for the comments and possible reasons for the odd aftertaste.
I did use baking powder and did beat the egg whites until they were stiff.
still not sure why it had a funny taste.
0points
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Boston
Posted April 30, 2011
Two possible problems
First and most likely, you might have used baking soda instead of powder. I also asks for a whole tablespoon, not teaspoon. Second, it is important to beat the egg whites until they are stiff with peaks and only fold them into the batter until incorperated. Don't over beat or the cake may be flat. This is a good recipe and I have made it over a dozen times with good results. I'd give it a second try.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 15 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mamfam
Detroit, Michigan
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING Cake for Someone Special
March 7, 2011
My daughter made this cake for me for my birthday. It was the best cake I ever had. The almond flavor was unexpected but wonderful. This cake will be our go to cake for special occasions. As a bonus, she said it was very easy to make.
Review 16 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1nd00rCat
Illinois
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A delicious show-stopper!
January 18, 2011
This was the "experimental" dessert I made to follow Christmas dinner with the family. It was a HUGE hit. All the family cooks asked for the recipe (of course, I told them where to find it - it was the holiday season after all)! One relative even took a picture of it! Truly a delicious and beautiful dessert. Highly recommended.
Review 17 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mymy
Bolton, MA
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE PERFECT CAKE!
January 18, 2011
Made this cake for my daughter's, summer BBQ, pool party. We had 30+ adults. I made a huge cake, I 4x the recipe to make 2 large pans and a smaller cake. I was worried about the getting the batter right in such a large amount. It was delicious, tasted like exspensive $$$ cakes I had purchased through a proffessional baker in the past. EVRYONE loved it!!! It was all gone, people asked to take some home. I was asked for the recipe back in September, then reminded about it again recently. I just feel like a girl needs to keep some secrets. Not ready to share :-)
Review 18 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susanaz
January 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 10, 2011
This cake is delicious and relatively easy to make!
Review 19 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyvid
Long Island, NY
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This recipe rocks!!
December 24, 2010
I have to follow suit and say this is absolutely a must make! Easy and extreemly tasty. Everyone who tried it loved it and wanted the recipe, which naturally I will never hand over! You're a fool if you don't try it at least once!
Review 20 for Almond-Scented White Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookingenthusiast26
Jenkintown, PA
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb! - A special occasion cake
October 18, 2010
This cake is simply fantastic, even if it does take quite a long time to press all those almonds onto the side. I had some trouble cutting the two cakes in half horizontally, so I omitted that step; therefore, the only change I made is that instead of four layers of cake with three layers of filling, I made two thicker layers of cake with one layer of filling. I made this for my daughter's birthday and everyone thought it was from a bakery. It was outstanding!
page1 2 next