Almond-Poppy Seed Bread

This recipe calls for almond paste, which is a blend of blanched ground almonds, sugar, and glycerin or another liquid. Sometimes almond extract is added to intensify the flavor. The paste is available in most supermarkets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
Review 1 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
February 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for breakfast or dessert
February 6, 2014
I few months ago I was on the lookout for an easy bread recipe and stumbled across this recipe during a bread search. It wasn't the type of bread I was looking for, but decided to give it a go as I love anything with almond paste and this did not disappoint.
I just made it for the 3rd time. It's so easy, yummy and fluffy. It also freezes well for individual portions. I eat it either for breakfast or with lemon or passion fruit curd for dessert.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MDupont
November 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't double!
November 26, 2013
I made this and the Lemon Bread for Thanksgiving morning and they smell delicious but I want to warn others who might want to double these recipes... Both sets SUNK IN! A terrible disappointment but I am assuming that it is because there is too much baking powder if you double it... Try a 1.5 tsp in stead of 2.
Review 3 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IvonneS
,New Bern
,nc
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Christmas Gifts
December 22, 2012
It is one of my favorite bread recipes. Great to have for breakfast!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Quick
April 29, 2012
I made this exactly as written and we loved it. Very moist and flavourful. I used the 1/3 cup poppy seeds it called for and it was perfect. I used a 1.5 lb WS Gold Touch loaf pan and cooked it for 50 min. This is great with an espresso. I recommend this and will definitely make again.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thorne
May 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Recipe
May 26, 2011
This is a grate recipe. I use a little more sweet poppy seed than the recipe said to use and it was turned out so yummy. I have also served it to many people and everyone loves it.
Pros: Appearance
Review 6 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Xenadena
Paducah, KY
June 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best bread I have ever eaten!
June 11, 2010
This bread is awesome! Everyone in my family raved about it! It is surprisingly sweet and very tasty. The second time I made this bread, I used half of the amount of poppy seeds and enjoyed it just as well as the first loaf.