Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Almond-Poppy Seed Bread

This recipe calls for almond paste, which is a blend of blanched ground almonds, sugar, and glycerin or another liquid. Sometimes almond extract is added to intensify the flavor. The paste is available in most supermarkets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
Review 1 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Augusta
,GA
November 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You will LOVE this!
November 2, 2015
The almond flavor is wonderful and very prevalent. The real star of this bread, however, is the texture. Fine crumb, very moist and just a real treat! My new favorite accompaniment for a cup of afternoon tea. I did add some finely chopped almonds for a bit of a crunch.
Pros: Easy, Quick, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,London
,UK
London
February 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for breakfast or dessert
February 6, 2014
I few months ago I was on the lookout for an easy bread recipe and stumbled across this recipe during a bread search. It wasn't the type of bread I was looking for, but decided to give it a go as I love anything with almond paste and this did not disappoint.
I just made it for the 3rd time. It's so easy, yummy and fluffy. It also freezes well for individual portions. I eat it either for breakfast or with lemon or passion fruit curd for dessert.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
November 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't double!
November 26, 2013
I made this and the Lemon Bread for Thanksgiving morning and they smell delicious but I want to warn others who might want to double these recipes... Both sets SUNK IN! A terrible disappointment but I am assuming that it is because there is too much baking powder if you double it... Try a 1.5 tsp in stead of 2.
Review 4 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New Bern
,nc
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Christmas Gifts
December 22, 2012
It is one of my favorite bread recipes. Great to have for breakfast!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Almond-Poppy Seed Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Quick
April 29, 2012
I made this exactly as written and we loved it. Very moist and flavourful. I used the 1/3 cup poppy seeds it called for and it was perfect. I used a 1.5 lb WS Gold Touch loaf pan and cooked it for 50 min. This is great with an espresso. I recommend this and will definitely make again.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again