20-Minute Beef Stew

Beef chuck is a good choice for stew meat. From the muscular shoulder section, this tough cut becomes tender and succulent when stewed. Here, we speed the process by using a pressure cooker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for 20-Minute Beef Stew
Review 1 for 20-Minute Beef Stew
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mpolhemus
,San Jose
,CA
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious but a little more than 20 minutes
October 13, 2013
This recipe is wonderful but add another 30 minutes for prep and browning of the meat before it is ready for the 20 minutes of pressure cooking. We also added two slices of bacon which we sautéed prior to browning the beef and lessened the olive oil,
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: it takes a little longer than 20 minutes
Review 2 for 20-Minute Beef Stew
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
masterp
,omaha
,ne
February 20, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great on cold days...
February 20, 2013
I love this product and would recommend buying this.
Pros: Quick
Cons: Cost
Review 3 for 20-Minute Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRCinVA
December 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious meal - and quick cooking time!
December 29, 2012
We just purchased an electric pressure cooker, and selected this recipe as our first one to try in our new kitchen "toy". It was absolutely delicious. The only thing I would recommend doing is adding a roux to the simmering wine so that the gravy thickens while pressure cooking. I did this, instinctively, and the results were wonderful. Next time, I'll also add some pearl onions and some peas. Thank you for a wonderful addition to our recipe box!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 4 for 20-Minute Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, easy stew recipe
March 2, 2011
I made this on a whim using my Costco pressure cooker and it was fabulous. Easy, tasty and delicious - way better then my slow cooker recipe. I'm on a grain free diet so I eliminated the flour and just browned the beef - did not affect the stew at all!
Thanks for a WONDEFUL recipe!
Review 5 for 20-Minute Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrutalMaster
Doylestown, PA
October 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific recipe
October 2, 2010
This recipe never fails to provide a terrific meal for our family. It's great for a Sunday afternoon when we have much to do. Our children love it with egg noodles.
Review 6 for 20-Minute Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooksappy
Tallahassee, FL
August 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a Crowd
August 31, 2010
Instead of the pressure cooker, I have put this in a slow cooker and added the carrots at the end. It worked great.