Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. The oval shape, cast-iron construction and heavy lid of this oven make it ideal for roasting a chicken to tender perfection. 7-qt. cap. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite colors feature a multicoat enameling, which creates a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Matte Black selection features multicoat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval CocotteSort By:
page1 2 Next
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got two for big dinners
August 5, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Recommend: Yes
I got two of these in the bright red because they are so spectacular. There is a larger size but considering that the one bigger is 30# empty, I considered two of these a better choice. They are a dream. You can do anything with them and they look fantastic.
,Mesa
,AZ
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elegant Cooking Vessel
February 17, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
After years of cooking I purchased my first Staub. Nothing compares, it is quality at its finest and you can really cook anything in this. It will become your kitchen staple and will last a lifetime if taken care of. I ordered the sapphire. I did return it for the red only because the sapphire is so deep and dark and I was expecting more blue in the cast. Overall, a great purchase.
,Boerne
,TX
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Investment!
February 14, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
This Dutch oven from Staub has proven itself to be a great addition to my cookware. I also own several Le Creuset pots and they are of the highest quality as well, but there are some unique advantages with Staub. The small spikes which are placed on the underside of the lid really do work as a self-basting feature. In addition, the channel within the lid seems to keep moisture from escaping. I was really impressed with this design when making my favorite Beef Stew recipe on the stovetop and noticed it was keeping excess moisture in the pot rather than having some of it run down the outside, which I had experienced with the Le Creuset making this same meal.
Great quality and a lifetime warranty from Staub, so you can't go wrong with these! The color choices are vibrant and rich too. I decided on the Graphite which looks great with stainless steel cookware.
,Long Island
,NY
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous Pot
October 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Recommend: Yes
This pot is simply gorgeous - I ordered the basil and the color is a deep, rich green. On top of being beautiful to look at the performance is wonderful. So happy I purchased this pot. Many more Staub pots are in the my future!
,Binghamton
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this as a slow cooker
August 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
I love my Staub french ovens. I cook everything in them -- chili, roasts, chicken whole and braised, soups, jim lahey's french boule. I also use mine as a slow cooker by covering it up and leaving in the oven at 175-200 all day, the nibs on the underside of the top keep the moisture circulating. I have a 4qt round and a 7qt oval. I give these as wedding gifts because I know it will be an heirloom.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Staub and I'm hooked!
August 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Recommend: Yes
I researched Staub vs. Le Creuset before buying this Dutch oven. I eventually settled on Staub. This is my first Staub pot, but no longer my only one.
It has proven to be very versatile. Cast iron is not the best heat conductor, but as long as you preheat, you will still get excellent heat distribution. I have used it on the stovetop to brown racks of ribs that reached to the ends of the pot, where it hangs over the edge of the burner. The ends were just as well browned as the middle. I could not be happier!
It has also done me proud with soups, stews, chilies, and the like. In fact, I entered my home made habanero chili into a chili cocoon off recently, and ended up with people writing love notes to my chili. Which was cooked in this Dutch oven. And of course my chili won.
The weight is both a good and a bad thing. I am not very strong in the arms, so it gets heavy for me. But the heavy weight also means it can absorb and retain a lot of heat, which is a good thing!
,Gaithersburg
,MD
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you're not sure- BUY IT!
March 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Recommend: Yes
I registered at WS for the sole purpose of the dutch ovens that they sell. I was torn between Staub and it's competitor; Le Creuset. After reading countless online reviews, I decided to register for this 7 qt cocotte in Graphite. I received so many beautiful items from my bridal registry, but this has to be at the top.
When I cook with this, nothing can compare. Everything I have made in this turns out beautifully. I cannot give this product enough praise! I want more Staub products now! I am so glad I registered for this item- it may be pricey- but I hope it lasts my entire life! So glad to have such a high quality item added to my kitchen. If you are on the fence, click purchase! it's worth it!
,Cleveland
,OH
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Cast Iron Cookware
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Recommend: Yes
I must have dozen Stuab cocottes in all shapes in sizes - beehived interior and smooth. The black more than enamel interior doesn't rust or chip. The indented lid with drip nodes is great.
Like all good cookware, they're expensive but worth it. I've had most of mine for over 20 years. I tell my daughter it's better to buy one good piece of cookware than a set of cheap ones which you'll ultimately regret and waste your money on.
,PALO ALTO
,Ca
Pros: Durable, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to redo my review
March 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Recommend: Yes
I wrote a review a few years ago. Had a problem with white stains inside. Barkeepers friend cleans the stains up perfectly.
Now, since then I have purchased just about every size pot, both round and oval. I have also bought all the other pans etc that Staub makes. The fry pan, griddle, casseroles. I can't stop!!! Use most of them regularly.
,La Grange
,IL
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beautiful piece of art, perfect size
August 8, 2013
Recommend: Yes
With items like these, you don't want to go out for dinner. You want to enjoy cooking with it at home. I use this for boeuf bourguignon and bean soups.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design, Weight
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
page1 2 Next