Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. The oval shape, cast-iron construction and heavy lid of this oven make it ideal for roasting a chicken to tender perfection. 7-qt. cap. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite colors feature a multicoat enameling, which creates a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Matte Black selection features multicoat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval CocotteSort By:
page1 2 Next
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Staub and I'm hooked!
August 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Recommend: Yes
I researched Staub vs. Le Creuset before buying this Dutch oven. I eventually settled on Staub. This is my first Staub pot, but no longer my only one.
It has proven to be very versatile. Cast iron is not the best heat conductor, but as long as you preheat, you will still get excellent heat distribution. I have used it on the stovetop to brown racks of ribs that reached to the ends of the pot, where it hangs over the edge of the burner. The ends were just as well browned as the middle. I could not be happier!
It has also done me proud with soups, stews, chilies, and the like. In fact, I entered my home made habanero chili into a chili cocoon off recently, and ended up with people writing love notes to my chili. Which was cooked in this Dutch oven. And of course my chili won.
The weight is both a good and a bad thing. I am not very strong in the arms, so it gets heavy for me. But the heavy weight also means it can absorb and retain a lot of heat, which is a good thing!
,Gaithersburg
,MD
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you're not sure- BUY IT!
March 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Recommend: Yes
I registered at WS for the sole purpose of the dutch ovens that they sell. I was torn between Staub and it's competitor; Le Creuset. After reading countless online reviews, I decided to register for this 7 qt cocotte in Graphite. I received so many beautiful items from my bridal registry, but this has to be at the top.
When I cook with this, nothing can compare. Everything I have made in this turns out beautifully. I cannot give this product enough praise! I want more Staub products now! I am so glad I registered for this item- it may be pricey- but I hope it lasts my entire life! So glad to have such a high quality item added to my kitchen. If you are on the fence, click purchase! it's worth it!
,Cleveland
,OH
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Cast Iron Cookware
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Recommend: Yes
I must have dozen Stuab cocottes in all shapes in sizes - beehived interior and smooth. The black more than enamel interior doesn't rust or chip. The indented lid with drip nodes is great.
Like all good cookware, they're expensive but worth it. I've had most of mine for over 20 years. I tell my daughter it's better to buy one good piece of cookware than a set of cheap ones which you'll ultimately regret and waste your money on.
,PALO ALTO
,Ca
Pros: Durable, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to redo my review
March 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Recommend: Yes
I wrote a review a few years ago. Had a problem with white stains inside. Barkeepers friend cleans the stains up perfectly.
Now, since then I have purchased just about every size pot, both round and oval. I have also bought all the other pans etc that Staub makes. The fry pan, griddle, casseroles. I can't stop!!! Use most of them regularly.
,La Grange
,IL
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beautiful piece of art, perfect size
August 8, 2013
Recommend: Yes
With items like these, you don't want to go out for dinner. You want to enjoy cooking with it at home. I use this for boeuf bourguignon and bean soups.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design, Weight
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, Love my new Staub Oval Pot
May 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
This is absolutely the best pot for cooking long ears of corn. We had a family gathering and I cooked 12 ears with room to spare. Kept them warm all through lunch!
Home run with this one! Of course I can't wait to cook a large roast in it! It's the best!
,Nashville
,TN
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for braising or stewing
April 15, 2013
spotsylvania va
Ability level:Intermediate
Recommend: Yes
I have several of these pots in various sizes. They are my go to pot for slow cooking in the oven. You do have to be careful how you clean them though. The exterior WILL scratch if you use a harsh scrubber
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes a Lovely meal
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
This is great, I have used it for several dishes including whole and pieced chicken, roast and who knows what else. Cooks great and looks great.
,Sandusky
,OH
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite pot now
October 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
I have been wanting this pot for a while and so glad I finally got it! Cooks evenly and you can put anything in it and the food comes out wonderful. Great investment!
,Memphis
,Tn
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why have I not purchased Staub sooner?
October 26, 2012
Choctaw, OK
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
I did not realize what I was missing in my kitchen until I bought this cocotte. Now I find myself trying to find more and more things to cook in it!
The self-basting lid is awesome. Which is one of the reasons I went with Staub over le creuset. Used on stovetop and in the oven with perfect results.
Love Love Love It! Want, Need, Will Get MORE!
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
page1 2 Next