Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte

The oval shape and cast-iron construction of this oven make it ideal for roasting a chicken. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite color selections feature glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops, including induction. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices back down on the food for more even basting. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. 7-quart: 14 1/2" x 11 1/2" x 6" high, 7-qt. cap., 18.3 lbs. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval CocotteSort By:
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to redo my review
March 20, 2014
patts
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Recommend: Yes
I wrote a review a few years ago. Had a problem with white stains inside. Barkeepers friend cleans the stains up perfectly.
Now, since then I have purchased just about every size pot, both round and oval. I have also bought all the other pans etc that Staub makes. The fry pan, griddle, casseroles. I can't stop!!! Use most of them regularly.
,La Grange
,IL
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beautiful piece of art, perfect size
August 8, 2013
AP82
Recommend: Yes
With items like these, you don't want to go out for dinner. You want to enjoy cooking with it at home. I use this for boeuf bourguignon and bean soups.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design, Weight
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, Love my new Staub Oval Pot
May 22, 2013
HootieHoo
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
This is absolutely the best pot for cooking long ears of corn. We had a family gathering and I cooked 12 ears with room to spare. Kept them warm all through lunch!
Home run with this one! Of course I can't wait to cook a large roast in it! It's the best!
,Nashville
,TN
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for braising or stewing
April 15, 2013
SophieP
spotsylvania va
Ability level:Intermediate
Recommend: Yes
I have several of these pots in various sizes. They are my go to pot for slow cooking in the oven. You do have to be careful how you clean them though. The exterior WILL scratch if you use a harsh scrubber
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes a Lovely meal
January 17, 2013
Coffeebean32
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
This is great, I have used it for several dishes including whole and pieced chicken, roast and who knows what else. Cooks great and looks great.
,Sandusky
,OH
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite pot now
October 27, 2012
Gangie
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
I have been wanting this pot for a while and so glad I finally got it! Cooks evenly and you can put anything in it and the food comes out wonderful. Great investment!
,Memphis
,Tn
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why have I not purchased Staub sooner?
October 26, 2012
knstarsfan
Choctaw, OK
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
I did not realize what I was missing in my kitchen until I bought this cocotte. Now I find myself trying to find more and more things to cook in it!
The self-basting lid is awesome. Which is one of the reasons I went with Staub over le creuset. Used on stovetop and in the oven with perfect results.
Love Love Love It! Want, Need, Will Get MORE!
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Required Kitchen tool
April 12, 2012
kitchendaddy
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
You have to get this pot. I had no idea food had anything to do with the pot it was cooked in....but no more. I want more Staub pots in my kitchen, seriously. I have used it in the oven, the stovetop, in the fridge then back in the oven for a warming leftovers. The Basil color is awesome. I own all-clad pots, almost all of them...I think I like Staub better. Wish I had tried one sooner. the oval shape is great for use as a roasting pot.
,Houston
,Tx
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't Ruin A Meal in This!!
January 23, 2012
SuzyQcooks
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
We love our new Staub Oval 7 qt. Everything I have cooked in it has been wonderful! All my graniteware and cast iron dutch ovens have been disinherited...this is a keeper! I bought the larger size because you can always cook smaller in it, yet it can handle 2 chickens or a very large roast/brisket with ease. Handle carefully, it is heavy.
,Aberdeen
,ID
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, eye candy
Cons: Weight
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best cast iron cookware
January 4, 2012
luap82099
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
I have the 7 qt in Basil and it is a thing of beauty. Both cooking and cleanup are very easy, just some soap and water. It is heavy though and maneuvering it around in a sink while trying not to chip it can be difficult. It's hard to mess up a dish that is cooked in a great cast iron pot like this. This Staub Cocotte is a piece that will be handed down to the children and grand children one day.
I have used other cast iron cookware with the glossy light colored interior and I prefer the Staub rough dark enamel interior since it will look newer longer and will not discolor over time.
,Yakima
,WA
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, looks beautiful
Cons: try not to chip
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.