Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot

When you're cooking up a family-sized batch of spaghetti, Calphalon's multifunctional pot is the one to use. It boils water quickly and the pasta insert lifts out for easy draining. The pot is also ideal for simmering homemade pasta sauces, soups, stews or chili.Brushed stainless steel inside and out, with a heat-responsive aluminum-core base.Tempered-glass lid allows you to monitor cooking process.Includes pasta insert and steamer basket.
Average Customer Rating
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
21 out of 27(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel MultipotSort By:
page1 2 3 Next
Review 1 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this multi-use pot!
January 12, 2014
KimsTaste
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Recommend: Yes
I was so surprised reading the reviews for this, alot of people said it took long for the water to boil, I found the opposite I was so impressed with how quick it boiled. This was a Christmas gift, I've used the steamer insert several times and found that to be very quick as well. I have a gas stove I wonder if the people who found it took long do not? Anyway I love it!!
,Forked River
,NJ
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It takes some getting used to
March 1, 2011
Anonymous
Santa Fe
Recommend: Yes
First, it does not hold 8 quarts. Maybe 7 1/2 to the very top. I bought it to replace a 7 quart pot but that one holds more than the calphalon. I was worried about another review that mentioned it was slow to heat. It was very quick to boil and I am at 7600 feet where boiling is at a lower temp, but it was quicker than most of my other pots. Just make sure the liquid you are cooking with does not go higher than the pot itself - I had a few boil overs using the insert with chicken . I guess the water boiled higher than the pot itself. The steamer is just fine. Cleaned very well. i really didn't need the pot considering I must have had what is called an 8-qt already, and it is too tall to fit in my pot drawers. But I like it and will keep it, especially for the nice large size of the steamer.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Thought I would love this pot
February 26, 2011
lvhorses
lewisburg,wv
Recommend: No
My husband bought this pot for me for Christmas. I was so excited to use it!
It didn't take long for me to decide it wasn't that great. I used it this evening and it took 23 minutes to boil water.
Such a disappointment......
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its Going Back :( Not for Ceramic Cooktops
December 28, 2010
ljja
Wilmington NC
Recommend: No
I'm so disappointed with this pot. It looks great, is a multi-tasker and is just what I've been looking for without spending $$$$ for the other brand. First thing I noticed was the base tapers down to the size of a small burner. I found this an odd design considering the size of the pot. Giving it the benefit of the doubt, I filled it with water and set it on the large burner as you would usually do, but that proved useless because the heat just surrounded the base of the pot. On to the small burner. I put the heat on high and 1 hour later I'm still waiting for it to come to boil. The next day I did a side by side comparison with my old and ugly stockpot. It was at a rolling boil in 20 minutes and barely a bubble appeared in the Calphalon. My conclusion is this pot is not designed to work on a ceramic cooktop. The base is much to small for 8 or 12 quarts and you would do better to spend the big bucks on the other brand.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Pot Rusts Easily
October 24, 2010
username
Albuquerque
Recommend: No
I purchased one of these pots and loved it so much I bought one as a wedding gift for a favorite niece. But, after very little use, my pot rusted, despite the fact that I took very good care of it. I live in the desert, so the damage was not from high humidity.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Slow Boil
October 14, 2010
Shear01
Boston, MA
Recommend: No
i totally agree with anonymous...it takes forever to boil. i've been wanting this pot for awhile now. I finally purchased it and disappointed because it just takes too long to boil. i wish that bottom layer wasn't there. i too have a ceramic stove.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fashion overtakes science in this slow heating pot
October 11, 2010
Flatman
Maryland
Recommend: No
It's a really nice design with well constructed parts. It's been in the dishwasher several times so far without a problem. I love the fact that you can cook pastas or beans while steaming your vegetables... how great!
But, if you look closely in the picture, you will see that the base tapers inward to a much smaller diameter of 7" compared to the top surface which is 10". The small diameter coils on my glass ceramic stovetop are 7", so I can't even use the full power of my stove to heat things up. The result is that it takes more than twice as long to get the water to boil compared to my standard straightedge pots. Yes, I've watched water boil. In response, I've actually used my regular pots to pre-boil the water and put it in my new multi-pot to speed things along.
If time is not a concern, this is a really elegant pot that works very well. It's sturdy as well as fashionable.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best all-around pot ever!
July 21, 2010
onecook
phila PA
Recommend: Yes
LOVE this pot! Had always used a large saucepan with a separate steamer-thing that had legs and you sit the steamer-thing in the saucepan for steaming veggies (and we're talking pretty much on a daily basis) but it was always a bit on the small size. This pot is about the width of the large stove burner, is more lightweight than you would expect, and has a fantastic steamer insert as well a large perforated insert for family batches of pasta. Or you can use the pot on its own for mass quantities of soup or stews etc. Only neg: the handle on the steamer insert is a bit tight and doesn't easily lift up when you're ready to pull the insert out of the pot, but I'm thinking it will loosen with time. The thing never even gets put away - it just stays on my stovetop til the next dinner (after washing, of course!) And it cleans easily. I'd imagine the pot with the mesh inserts is a bit more difficult to clean well by hand...not everyone has a dishwasher
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for steaming clams
April 22, 2010
bonniebj
Avalon, NJ
Recommend: Yes
Love this multipot! I bought it to replace my aging steamer. The clams were cooked in half the time of the previous pot, and the glass lid allowed me to review their progress.
I'm looking forward to using it to steam vegetables and cook pasta.
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Calphalon Contemporary Stainless-Steel Multipot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't realize how incomplete my life was
March 8, 2010
Fahema
Brooklyn, NY
Recommend: Yes
We got this pot as a wedding gift and it is for sure one of our favorites. No more steam burns, or searching for a colander, or making a giant mess. And it has a million uses, but everything fits in the pot so it takes up minimal space.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
page1 2 3 Next