Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan

Zwilling's Spirit cookware features an innovative PTFE- and PFOA-free Thermolon nonstick ceramic coating that offers a healthy, eco-friendly alternative to conventional nonstick coatings. The Thermolon nonstick surface does not release fumes when heated, and it's applied using a process that reduces CO2 emissions by 60%. This fry pan features an aluminum core for quick, even heating across the bottom and up the sides, so foods brown and crisp perfectly. Made by Zwilling J.A. Henckels, a world leader in cutlery and cookware. Thermolon PTFE- and PFOA-free nonstick ceramic coating is impressively scratch-resistant, prevents foods from sticking and simplifies cleanup. Nonstick surface is ideal for cooking delicate foods such as eggs and fish. Thick aluminum core heats quickly and evenly. Sloped sides simplify turning and stirring ingredients. Stainless-steel exterior works on all cooktops, including induction. Riveted handles stay cool during cooking. Flared rim ensures tidy, drip-free pouring. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
23 of 29(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
Review 1 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amateurgourmet
,Waynesboro
,PA
August 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great fry pan!
August 24, 2014
Love it. Nice and sturdy and so easy to clean. Use it several times a week.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 2 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shoppingdoll
,Atlanta
,GA
March 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not -Nonstick
March 21, 2014
Reading other people's reviews actually made me wanted to write this review. I too, had bad experience with this. It was good the first couple times then it sticks and I had to use so much oil to make it non-stick. One buyer said she/he doesn't know why other said they had bad experiences, well that is because they did. More people had bad experiences than good so if you want to take the chance go ahead.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, High-Maintenance
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Zwilling Customer CareOctober 30, 2014
We appreciate your feedback regarding the ZWILLING Spirit fry pan and regret to learn that you were not pleased with the product's performance. As with all of our Thermolon products, there is a tradeoff between the healthy, eco-friendly qualities of the ceramic non-stick coating and the non-stick properties diminishing over time. If you have followed all of the recommended use and care guidelines (cooking on low-medium heat, using a small amount of fat or oil when cooking) and the non-stick properties
have diminished in the manner you are describing, there is a possiblity that your product may have a manufacturing defect. We encourage you to contact one of our skilled consumer relations advisors via this link : http://bit.ly/JV4pAB and they will investigate this issue further.
Review 3 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PatriciaYoung
,Lilburn
,GA
February 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Fry Pan Ever!
February 26, 2014
I purchased the 12" fry pan over a year ago and have used it once or twice each week since. I'm perplexed by some of the recent reviews because I have no idea what these reviewers are purporting as a failure of the pan holding its non-stick coating is all about. I have had no such problem with my fry pan. The pan cleans up so easily with a slight wipe of a paper towel or dish cloth. It's my favorite 'go to' fry pan.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Weight
Cons: absolutely none!
Review 4 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Robadams
,Plainsboro
,NJ
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, then terrible!
January 5, 2014
At first, we thought this was the best nonstick cookware ever. After using it for about six months, it starting losing all nonstick properties. We gave some as gifts and the recipients report the same problem. We'll stick with All-Clad, from now on. Henckels should make good on all of their failed ceramic cookware.
Cons: failed nonstick coating
Review 5 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tangy
December 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nonstick only for a few months
December 15, 2013
I agree with some of the other recent reviews that over a very short period of time both of our pans have lost their nonstick properties and have started to have a black build up in the middle. We are meticulous about the care of our pans - hand wash, no metal utensils etc. Extremely disappointed in this product!!!!
Cons: Quality, not nonstick
Review 6 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NateJ
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a few weeks, then awful
August 22, 2013
We were thrilled with this pan for the first few weeks. Its non-stick properties were the best we'd seen, and exactly what we were looking for. We took good care of it, using no metal utensils, nylon dish scrubbers, etc, but after a couple months the non-stick coating vanished. The pan is virtually unusable now - nothing can be cooked on it without ten minutes worth of scrubbing in the sink afterwards. We'll be contacting Williams-Sonoma to see if a refund is possible. Such promise, but such disappointment in the end!
Cons: Quality
Review 7 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lxdsd
,San Diego
,CA
June 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good pan but terrible nonstick
June 4, 2013
I purchased a set of these pans for both the nonstick feature and the ceramic, eco-friendlier coating. The pan is very well-constructed and distributes heat evenly. But the biggest problem is the nonstick feature, which was one of the main reasons I bought the pan. The nonstick surface started to fail after about 6-8 weeks of regular use (3-4 times a week). Now, 6 months later, the pans are not "nonstick" at all. They're no better than a stainless steel pan and take lots of effort and time to clean. Don't get these pans for their nonstick feature. They'll fail you.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, nonstick breaks down
Review 8 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DBJ1
May 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nonstick for a Month
May 5, 2013
I have had this pan for about six weeks and have used it only occasionally. I loved it at first. The finish was so slippery that fried eggs slid around the pan when I barely shook it. However, the pan has now lost all if its nonstick capability. I cooked a grilled cheese yesterday and some cheese that melted into the pan would not come off with a plastic scrubber pad. I had to soak the pan overnight with water and dish liquid. Even then, it was tough to clean. This morning I gave it a second chance. I melted butter in it and then made an omelette. It was a disaster. I couldn't get the omlette out at all with a plastic spatula. I ended up leaving a layer of egg in the pan. Even cleaning up the egg residue took soaking and scrubbing. Bottom line: the pan is now even less stick-resistant than a regular stainless steel fry pan. I am returning the pan and hope this is a fleeting problem that the manufacturer has addressed.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, isn't nonstick
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Happysunshinelady
Hot Springs, AR
Posted May 20, 2013
Nonstick?????
The Henckel Spirit Nonstick Fry Pan was only NONSTICK for about 5 or 6 times then it became very hard to use, everything sticks to it even if you use a little oil and it is very difficult to clean. I am very disappointed . I have lots of nonstick fry pans and was excited that maybe they had come up with a nonstick that was safer to use, this may be safe but sure not nonstick.
Would like to return the set, was a gift so don't know if I can or not. DO NOT BUY if you want NONSTICK.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard64
February 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Fry Pan
February 6, 2013
Excellent non stick pan. Works great for grilled cheese, omelettes, meats. etc.
This is the easiest cookware surface to clean that I have owned.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SAWalk
,Louisville
,ky
January 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Fry Pan
January 19, 2013
The Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonshick fry pan is awesome for eggs, grilled cheese and sauces. It heats up quickly and nothing ever sticks. Clean up is a breeze. The handle stays cool to touch. A must for every kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 11 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fisherman
,woodville
,OH
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great weight for a smaller skillet
January 17, 2013
What huge quality in a small size! Perfect for an omelet or any small sauce recipe. I cannot tell you what an amazing grilled cheese sandwich came from this pan!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LHWood
,KY
January 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific pan!
January 16, 2013
I've used this pan several times now and I love it! Very even heating, making fried eggs, omelets and sauces perfect. Clean up is a breeze and don't let the handle fool you, it doesn't get hot!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 13 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ClassicCooking
,San Fracisco
,CA
December 19, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pan for eggs
December 19, 2012
This pan went far above my expectations. I will report that the pan does not have a black interior as Williams-Sonoma has pictured, but rather a nice light grey interior. So that was a pleasant surprise. I don't typically use non-stick pans, but caved in hoping to make my fried egg ritual a more positive experience. I could not be happier with my pan, and look forward to the time when Williams-Sonoma sells these in their stores so I can shop the whole assortment in person.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 14 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caresse
,Anaheim
,CA
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Pan
December 16, 2012
I'm not the best cook, but this pan really helps me out! It is a great pan and keeps my food from sticking/burning! In addition, the quality is great! Would buy again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KrissyE
,Salt Lake City
,Ut
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan
December 13, 2012
Great nonstick pan. Use it every morning to cook the kids breakfast. Need very little oil and cleans up easily. Attractive shape and good weight. In short, my favorite pan.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 16 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeanMD
,Louisville
,ky
December 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Phenominal pot!
December 11, 2012
This frying pan is amazing! It is so easy to clean, no need to use cooking spray, everything comes right off with one swipe. Very easy clean up. The weight it just right also, not too heavy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 17 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
flyrod
,Acworth
,GA
December 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest Cleaning Pan Ever
December 11, 2012
Impressed with how quickly the pan heats up and its non-stick properties. Have done eggs with no butter or oil with ease and found it does an excellent job of browning any meat I've prepared. Clean up can be done by simply wiping with a paper towel.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, attractive
Review 18 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lebowski
,Lexington
,KY
December 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Cornerstone of Every Meal
December 10, 2012
The non-stick surface is exceptional. Not only is the coating safe, but it is highly efficient. Literally do not have to use oil or butter to fry an egg. The pan has a good weight, reminding me of my cast iron, and provides excellent conduction on our worn out stove top.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Size
Review 19 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Silvergirl
,High Bridge
,NJ
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for ceramic cooktops
December 7, 2012
Conducts heat really well on our cooktop. The pan has a nice weight to it ...feels well made and the finish seems durable. I had a little bit of a learning curve on how high to set my burner the first few time I used it. I made all kinds of dishes with this pan and I have to say I'm impressed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, can't stack them
Review 20 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Spirit Stainless-Steel Nonstick Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dommie
,St. Charles
,IL
December 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's my new "go-to" everyday fry pan.
December 5, 2012
My new fry pan could not be better. It's is my new go-to everyday fry pan. Healthly cooking is paramount these days, and this pan fits-the-bill. And, the clean-up is quick and easy. It is carefree clean-up at its' best. The fit and feel of this fry pan is comfortable and stable. It is a great additon to my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
page1 2 next