Zoku Ice Cream Maker

Meet the coolest-ever way to whip up your own customized bowl of homemade ice cream in just ten minutes! For a sensational soft-serve dessert, simply add your favorite ice cream base to the pre-chilled bowl, then stir and watch your creation freeze before your eyes. In minutes, you'll be savoring the ultimate frosty treat, made just the way you like it. A fun, easy way to make your own frozen desserts-from ice cream and gelato to frozen yogurt, sherbet or sorbet. Just chill the stainless-steel bowl in the freezer, slip it into its colorful insulated sleeve, then add your chosen ingredients. Make classic flavors like vanilla, strawberry and chocolate, or try more exotic options like espresso bean, salted caramel, peanut butter or your own original creation. Customize by adding your favorite mix-ins. Great for all ages.
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
Review 1 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TzuMom
,New River
,AZ
New River, AZ
December 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Low Carb Soup
December 3, 2014
I ordered two bowls so that we could make low-carb, sugar free ice cream, and our first batch came out ok; a little slushier than we like, but ok. Since then, each batch has been soupy in the middle, frozen solid on the sides. The instructions state that artificial sweeteners are not recommended, but you can''t know that unttil you purchase the device.. I guess we'll just make smaller batches in the ice cream maker..
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: doesn't work well, inadequate information
Review 2 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizLab
,Houston
,TX
September 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It works and it's fun!
September 29, 2014
I was skeptical about this product, but bought it for our bay house where we have lots of kids staying with us. It works great and the vanilla ice cream from Williams-Sonoma is delicious! And I live in Texas where we are very loyal to our Blue Bell ice cream. Everyone, adults as well as kids, had fun making ice cream and then eating it. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 3 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ibdmom
,Richmond
,VA
August 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great yummy fun!
August 27, 2014
I am following the low-carb lifestyle and have a yummy, sugar free ice cream recipe, but the only problem is that it doesn't freeze well. Turns into a brick. With these little Zoku Ice Cream Makers, I can keep the mix in the fridge and make just one serving at a time. It's fun, "instant gratification" and built-in portion control. I have used mine 4-5 times and it's worked out great every time. I would definitely buy again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ibdmom
Richmond, VA
Posted December 4, 2014
SF Ice Cream Recipe
Here is the recipe I use:
1 cup water
2 cups heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup powdered egg whites
2/3 cup xylitol, or sweetener of choice
In blender, combine water, vanilla, egg whites and sweetener, blend on high for 1-2 minutes. Add cream and blend just 20-30 seconds or so. Keep mix in the fridge up to 2 weeks, but mine never lasts that long! Perfect for the Zoku Ice Cream Maker!
0points
Customer avatar
TzuMom
New River, AZ
Posted December 3, 2014
Share?
IBDMom, can you share your low-carb recipe? Mine isn't working so well, and once I got my bowls home, they said they don't recommend artificial sweeteners...
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
quickeasycooking
,Boston
,MA
August 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
August 25, 2014
I found the process is quite easy. I don't chill for as long as recommended because I prefer softer ice cream. It still hardens well, not really soft ice cream.
The only con is I am unable to put the bowl back together. It doesn't snap together. So I just use the plastic bowl and the metal bowl.
Other than that I enjoy good quick ice cream!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, doesn't snap together properly
Review 5 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nody
,Wadsworh
,OH
August 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Zoku Ice Cream Maker
August 24, 2014
Individual Zoku Ice Cream Maker allows me to make healthier ice cream at home. I change the recipe and still comes out good.
I am happy with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: would like more recipes
Review 6 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NancyElaine
,Amarillo
,TX
August 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice Cream Maker
August 10, 2014
Actually, I'd tried one of these already. It was SO neat & functionable, I decided to purchase two more!!! They are really amazing & quick to fix just one bowl of ice cream. The recipes included are great as well!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 7 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MARCYJEAN
,St. Augustine
,FL
August 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Frozen Fun Food
August 9, 2014
Making your own ice cream can make a terrible mess, but it is worth it! These freezing bowls work like a charm! I have made chocolate ice cream and Nutella ice cream so far. Next is peach!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
berrywell
,Western NC
,NC
July 25, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brilliant gadget!
July 25, 2014
Due to allergies, I am on a very restrictive diet and can't use most store bought things. I made a fabulous (and healthy) ice "cream" in the Zoku Ice Cream bowl using mashed sweet potato with chocolate and it was beyond fabulous-rich, creamy and tasted like it was full of naughty things. I poured in my mix, and immediately started scraping, eating as I went, while sitting and relaxing. The bowl is compact enough to hold easily (even with my crippled hands) You can stir and eat as you go, while watching tv or whatever. Will be buying more of these for gifts. Those complaining that it was soupy or didn't work may not have their freezer set to freeze properly-I keep my bowl in the back of the freezer on top of ice cube trays-it is light enough to move easily when I need to get to the ice trays.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrewM
,Fallbrook
,CA
Fallbrook, CA
July 24, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice cream for today's lifestyle
July 24, 2014
I've been using this product for about a week now and am thoroughly pleased. It is easy and fast to use and equally as easy to clean. I've made several different ice cream bases and keep them in quart ball jars in the fridge. When I want a small bowl of ice cream I just pull the maker out of the freezer and pour in a small amount of PRE chilled base. In just a few minutes of scraping and stirring, the perfect serving of ice cream. I wash up right after enjoying my creation and pop it right back in the freezer. Ready to use at a moments notice. This maker does not freeze the ice cream hard, like commercial ice cream, but softer. Today I made Plum-Orange Sherbet - YUMMY!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 10 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MinionMe
,Philadelphia
,PA
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great results but takes some strength to scrape
July 20, 2014
I made frozen yogurt with this zoku ice cream maker. The size is great for one or two person, and I don't have to bring out the large ice cream maker.
I pre-froze the container overnight in the freezer, and my froyo mix was cold in the fridge. Once you pour in the mixture, you do have to stir for a while, and the mixture gets frozen on the sides, but it does start to loosen up after a minute or so. Then you can scrape or "stab" the frozen sides to release it and continue to stir. For me, it's "stab", scrape, stir for maybe 5-6 min to get a creamy froyo. The longer you keep it in the base, the harder it gets. The base stays cold enough that I can make a second batch with similar results. I personally like the compactness of this ice cream maker and have used it several times a week this summer. However, if you have joint issues or don't have much arm strength, I don't recommend this tool.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 11 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wayupthemountaincook
,Marysville
,PA
July 1, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lot of wait for 5 oz of ice cream
July 1, 2014
The product works exactly as advertised. And the finished product was very good - I made a rich vanilla ice cream mix and added liquor soaked cut strawberries after the ice cream had almost formed. Problem? It does take about 10 minutes of stirring - more like scraping - to finally get to the finished product. Much easier to use an ice cream maker - or simply add frozen fruit and cream to a good blender and you will get the same or better result in much less time. This was good for a fun tryout, but I will stick to my ice cream maker in future. (Unless I don't have any ice cream made and I want something NOW) But the frozen fruit and cream blended is easier and faster.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: takes too long
Review 12 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JunoGolden
,Longwood
,Fl
July 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Utter waste of time
July 1, 2014
I was excited to try this. Created healthy greek yogurt mix. stirred for ten minutes.
The longer i stirred the more the mixture froze on the sides until there was not anything to eat. Time to make another breakfast. Very disappointed. Oh well. Could be worse:).
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use, does not work
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
calishopper
CA
Posted July 7, 2014
I TOTALLY agree
I got the same results as you did. I thought maybe it was just me. I tried to follow their recipe, except I used a sugar replacement. The mix got so hard so fast, there's no way I could scrape it. I was wondering if it was because I did not use sugar? Not everyone wants all that sugar! I am so DISAPPOINTED!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cgoldi
,red bank
,nj
June 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
zoku ice cream maker
June 15, 2014
just delivered this maker to my hubby for his Father's Day present. I pre- froze the bottom container and pre- refrigerated the William Sonoma ice cream starter to have all ingredients ready for Father's Day dessert according to the instructions.
Well, the result was a soupy mess even after I scraped and scraped and finally dished out to my husband. He is not so particular but I am.
I did buy two of these units based on all the hype.
I will be returning the second unit with regrets as I truly hoped to get the desired result promised.
Going back to the grocery store ice cream ref rig from now on as I am loathe to buy another maker of things that will not be used ( our home and belongings were lost in the Sandy Storm so we have learned not to 'buy' extraneous things).
disappointed, to be sure
Cons: Quality, Weight, Temperamental
Review 14 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyHippo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, Texas
June 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for summer
June 11, 2014
I was a little skeptical, but decided to buy it any way. I am not a great fan off ice cream, I prefer sorbets but my family doesn't. So finding a great tool to make sorbet just for myself is great. I just add the amount that I want and eat it immediately after it's done. Plus the mixing releases a lot of stress. I will be using it all summer long to take care of the heat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 15 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrittanyH
,Ashland City
,TN
June 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for making healthy desserts!
June 8, 2014
I really love this product because it allows me to make my own healthy frozen desserts in perfect portions. I mostly use the ice cream bowl to make frozen yogurt and it works great! I have not used the recipes in the small booklet, I just use my own recipes or those I find on the internet. This bowl is the perfect way to make my own frozen desserts and control the ingredients so that they are healthy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 16 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moozie
,sonora
,CA
sonora ca
June 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ummm, ice cream
June 8, 2014
This worked exactly as described. Easy to make ice cream and easy to clean. Warning: if kids scrape the side a little too hard and the scrapings get out of control - the ice cream mix will slosh out the other side - but it still tastes good. Got two good servings from one freeze. Third serving was a real "softie".
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 17 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
herco
,Nantucket
,ma
June 6, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
4of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
waste of money
June 6, 2014
Does not work as described . Makes too little and does not come out with uniform consistancy
Do not provide any lowfat receipies...or gelato. Poor descriptive manual
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
Review 18 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
suzannet
,Osage Beach
,Mo
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-16points
5of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed and returned
June 2, 2014
To be able to get low-fat or sorbet recipes, you have to order the recipe book .... the website for Zoku does not even show it it as one of their products so there were no recipes there either......
Cons: no low fat recipes included
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mommie2monkies
Phoenix AZ
Posted June 3, 2014
Seriously?
So you have nothing informative about the actual product to share!? Have you heard of Google? Type in Low fat ice cream recipes and Boom thousands and thousands of recipes right at your finger tips! An Un-fair and Un-just 1 Star review!
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Zoku Ice Cream Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tpurr02
,Harrisburg
,PA
May 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It Really Works!
May 17, 2014
I have have the Zoku Slushie Maker which I LOVE. When I saw the ice cream maker, I immediately wanted it because I'm kind of a kitchen gadget junkie. However, I really thought that the ice cream maker was basically the same as the Slushie Maker, but a different shape. So, even though I was skeptical, I bought it anyway. I also purchased the Vanilla Ice Cream Starter and Ice cream topping. I made my first personal sized batch today and it was fun to make and quite tasty. And, it makes exactly one scoop of ice cream --- which I love because it's perfect portion control. I am looking forward to getting their recipe book and trying new ice cream recipes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
callie21
bay area
Posted June 2, 2014
recipes????
where did you find a recipe for one serving? This has been very frustraing.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)