Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base

For many American families, pot roast tastes like home-we feel the same way. To help you enjoy those rich, savory aromas and long-simmered flavors, we've created a timesaving braising base inspired by classic New England recipes. Our all-natural sauce relies on traditional ingredients for real homemade taste-full-bodied red wine, mushrooms, celery and carrots. Just add the roast! 24.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
57 of 64(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
Review 1 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beebes56
,Nisswa
,Mn
January 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth the price!
January 9, 2014
I buy this for my husband and I. We buy a 3 lb roast and cook in a Dutch oven. Now here's where it is worth it. I make vegetable beef soup, by just adding a container of beef stock, onions, carrots, celery and either potato or barley to the leftover meat and SAUCE. I precook the veggies in the microwave in water. Sometimes I add the veggie water too. So now I have made at least two meals or more.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 2 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
love2cook7
February 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OK - Not worth the money
February 19, 2013
I would not buy this again. I loved the beef stroganoff sauce but it has been discontinued. This sauce does not compare to homeade or the stroganoff sauce.
Review 3 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vghjd
,EC
,MD
Columbia, MD
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 27, 2013
In a word, delicious. The flavor is full, with a red wine finish and just wonderful. The directions couldn't have been simpler. I made it in a dutch oven not the crock pot. I loved it and will purchase it again. No more working for a good gravy in this instance.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, red wine flavor
Review 4 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AmandaLR
,Sunnyvale
,Ca
December 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much vinegar!
December 8, 2012
I normally love the sauces from WS, however this one is terrible! There is an overpowering flavor of vinegar, so much so it completely dominates the flavor of the meal. And I LOVE vinegar, so for me to say there's too much vinegar says a lot. Although it's not conventional, I recommend using the Italian Braising Gravy if you're making pot roast. It's more of a tomato based sauce, but actually works out great with a pot roast (and chuck roast).
I just noticed that the product is no longer available (December 8, 2012), so this review might be a moot point, however if they bring it back, it's not worth it!!
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Ingredients, smell, Flavor
Review 5 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Muffin11
,Roselle
,IL
January 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MUST PURCHASE!
January 28, 2012
This simple jar and a three to four pound potroast simmered in my Le Crueset equals a fabulous meal! I was so amazed! Am ordering another jar now; my husband says to always have a jar on hand!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 6 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SusieL
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection!!!!
October 12, 2011
I serve a lot of roasts, which I usually make from scratch using red wine. But, this product is wonderful! Only suggestion is that I would not salt the roast as this base is salty enough. And I use more than 1/2 a jar for one roast.
Good enough for company!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RoseM89
Auburn, Michigan
August 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this stuff!
August 21, 2011
I have used this twice now and both times my pot roast has turned out perfectly! I also love how good my house smells all day! So easy to use!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 8 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodCritic
Jupiter, FL
August 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Truly Fabulous Sauce
August 5, 2011
This is now one of my most favorite sauces. I did add a cup of red wine and slightly thickened the end sauce with Wonder Flour but the Pot Roast was just remarkable and the starter sauce made the entire process just ridiculously easy. I did the slow cooker version so I didn't have to have the oven on for so longer in the summer heat. My family raved about it! We can't wait to have it again! Thankfully I had bought two jars!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SoldFond
Chicago
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Sandwich Maker
July 12, 2011
First time ever cooked a Beef or Pork Roast. 6:30a-3:30pm was not enough for My chuck roast. So disappointed, fixed another meal and just put it back in crock and forgot about it till 11:30pm and THEN it was excellent. The sauce is a keeper; I added mushroooms that were very good in the sauce but just never liked carrot and potato-like meals-sorry, dumped them. Negligent sweetness. The sandwiches were excellent! I will add chuck roasts and Yankee Pot Roast as regular purchases. Thanks for the sauce W-S!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 10 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terry2011
NYC suburbs
May 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big hit with my family
May 10, 2011
My family, including my very picky teenaged son, loves this. It's truly tastes like it was made from scratch. I always keep a couple of jars in stock. So easy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 11 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iyar
Connecticut
April 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base - a winner
April 25, 2011
This is the greatest. I never made a pot roast before and between this and your slow cooker I am in heaven. My husband loves it! Please don't take this item out of your stores or web site! Too good to let go!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Flavor
Review 12 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Timfxf
Nyack, NY
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The sauce is Too sweet
April 19, 2011
I had high hopes for this sauce, but it turned out to be way too sweet. Using half the bottle with some beef stock might do the trick, but I don't intend to give it another try. Too bad... It was too simple to be true, I guess.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 13 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aklady
Ninilchik Alaska
April 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfectly seasoned roast
April 18, 2011
This is very tasty. No strong vinegar taste like the beef bourbignonne. I browned a roast, then into the crockpot with veggies & a bottle of the sauce. Roast came out perfectly seasoned and fall apart tender.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 14 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
piccolo
San Diego,CA
March 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious!!
March 24, 2011
The Yankee pot roast came out heavenly! Leftovers for luinch the next day were super. A bit pricey but worth it!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 15 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AsYouWish
Atlanta, GA
March 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lacking flavor, sweet
March 18, 2011
I really wanted to like this base. But I found it just okay. The taste wasn't anything great and it was too sweet. My husband didn't eat as much pot roast as he would have if I'd made my own. I hope the other bases turn out better, because I bought six different ones the same day at the store.
Review 16 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wallis50
Elmhurst, Illinois
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Solidly Delicious Time Saver
March 10, 2011
The sauce is rich and well-balanced. It mades a very tasty pot roast with cherished left-overs for family or company.
Review 17 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
opsdog
Columbia, SC
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Full-Bodied Yummy
February 7, 2011
This transformed a cheap, tough beef roast into the fork-tender centerpiece of a single-pot meal.
Because of the cut of beef used, this cooked for 16 hours on low in a crock pot, plus 4 hours on high after the veggies were added.
Even being overcooked by 5 times, it didn't break down or scorch. The flavor was hearty and melded well with the veggies (mushrooms, carrots, onions, gold 'taters, and bell peppers).
The picture is of it in the bowl ready to travel.
Will definitely stock this for regular use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jillysma
Staten Island, NY
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good taste
February 3, 2011
We enjoyed this....a bit sweet, but we would make this one again.
Review 19 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nolaexpat
Meridian, MS
January 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
January 27, 2011
We love this starter. A three-pound roast is way too much for the two of us, so the first time we made it we sent a good portion to our neighbor. The next day she told my husband that her husband said it was the best roast he had ever eaten in his entire life and was told to beg for the recipe.
We prefer this starter just slightly over the beef stew starter (though that is delicious too!) so if we want more of a stew I'll add a little stock or water.
Definitely worth the $16.
Review 20 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cdmomx4
Barrington, IL
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than Home Made!
January 17, 2011
Been cooking pot roasts for years with raves from my family. Tried a sample of this at my local store and went home with 2 jars! It's a little on the expensive side but well worth it.
page1 2 3 4 next