Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base

For many American families, pot roast tastes like home-we feel the same way. To help you enjoy those rich, savory aromas and long-simmered flavors, we've created a timesaving braising base inspired by classic New England recipes. Our all-natural sauce relies on traditional ingredients for real homemade taste-full-bodied red wine, mushrooms, celery and carrots. Just add the roast! 24.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
Review 1 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DinerDeb
La Quinta, CA
May 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally enjoy Pot Roast!
May 13, 2014
In my youth, we ate pot roast somewhat regularly but it was one of the things my mother made that I just didn't like. I still haven't liked it as an adult but finally tried this braising base and I must say, I now enjoy pot roast. Before discovering this sauce, I would make pot roast for my family when I had plans to be out for dinner. I now make it for my family when I'm home for dinner and look forward to it!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 2 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beebes56
,Nisswa
,Mn
January 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth the price!
January 9, 2014
I buy this for my husband and I. We buy a 3 lb roast and cook in a Dutch oven. Now here's where it is worth it. I make vegetable beef soup, by just adding a container of beef stock, onions, carrots, celery and either potato or barley to the leftover meat and SAUCE. I precook the veggies in the microwave in water. Sometimes I add the veggie water too. So now I have made at least two meals or more.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
love2cook7
February 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OK - Not worth the money
February 19, 2013
I would not buy this again. I loved the beef stroganoff sauce but it has been discontinued. This sauce does not compare to homeade or the stroganoff sauce.
Review 4 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vghjd
,EC
,MD
Columbia, MD
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 27, 2013
In a word, delicious. The flavor is full, with a red wine finish and just wonderful. The directions couldn't have been simpler. I made it in a dutch oven not the crock pot. I loved it and will purchase it again. No more working for a good gravy in this instance.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, red wine flavor
Review 5 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AmandaLR
,Sunnyvale
,Ca
December 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much vinegar!
December 8, 2012
I normally love the sauces from WS, however this one is terrible! There is an overpowering flavor of vinegar, so much so it completely dominates the flavor of the meal. And I LOVE vinegar, so for me to say there's too much vinegar says a lot. Although it's not conventional, I recommend using the Italian Braising Gravy if you're making pot roast. It's more of a tomato based sauce, but actually works out great with a pot roast (and chuck roast).
I just noticed that the product is no longer available (December 8, 2012), so this review might be a moot point, however if they bring it back, it's not worth it!!
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Ingredients, smell, Flavor
Review 6 for Yankee Pot Roast Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Muffin11
,Roselle
,IL
January 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MUST PURCHASE!
January 28, 2012
This simple jar and a three to four pound potroast simmered in my Le Crueset equals a fabulous meal! I was so amazed! Am ordering another jar now; my husband says to always have a jar on hand!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor