This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener

Featuring an aluminum housing, this handy tool sharpens all of your straight, serrated or wavy knife blades. One slot sets a keen edge, while the second gives the edge a finely honed finish. A third slot restores the cutting edges of scissors.Features two slots for two-stage sharpening and honing of all straight, serrated and wavy knife blades.A third slot is specially designed for scissors and shears.Nonslip polypropylene grip echoes the handle design of the Wusthof Classic Ikon cutlery series.Durable aluminum housing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JGORSKI
,Indianapolis
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Retired the Steel
July 19, 2012
Retired the steel from my knife drawer. The Wusthof Classic Knife sharpener is a fast, easy way to put the sharp back into my knives.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
txnana
,houston
,tx
December 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
wusthof fan
December 11, 2011
love this product have a set of wusthof knifes they are the best
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mrdrsam
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
not worth the money
August 4, 2011
Save yor money on this knife sharpener. It never worked well. I had difficulty finding how to change the sharpeners also. Get something else.
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cook2
us
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Wusthof 2909 Sharpener
February 15, 2011
Great look. Solid feel. Quality built. Worked very well for a few knives. turned the stones. sharpened several more knives. Sensing stones were going to wear out soon, tried to order replacement stones. Was told none available, and to send in sharpener for replacement. I asked what I should do when the stones on the replacement sharpener needed replacement. no response. This sharpener works well but will not last long.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Luvstoeat
Atlanta, GA
Posted November 28, 2011
Knife sharpener wearing out
It's highly unlikely that the sharpening rods have worn out in such a short time. They are made of material harder than the knife steel. However, metal will build up on the rods over time and fill the microscopic pits, reducing their abrasion. This can happen with any knives, but especially lower quality ones with softer steel. All you should need to do is remove the rods and clean them well with a cleaner like Barkeepers Friend. You also may need to use the course stage more before finishing with the fine stage if the knife is really dull.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ironsf
San Francisco, CA
March 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
needed a great sharpener
March 24, 2010
and this one was that and much more! It is easy to hold and sharpens all types of knives and scissors
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pleasedone
SauteeNacoochee, GA
November 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-9points
1of 11found this review helpful.
Excellent service!
November 10, 2009
As with previous orders, everything concerning this order was outstanding. This was a gift and the convenience of ordering online was very helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didda
Smithfield, VA
October 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Great Product
October 14, 2009
This sharpener has good balance, is easy to use and sharpens to a fine edge in little time. Highly recommended.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
esher
Baltimore, MD
April 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Excellent item
April 30, 2009
Very stable and easy to use and makes a very sharp edge.
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stanl
Gainesville, Florida
February 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Convenient knife and scissors sharpener
February 26, 2009
I am very satisfied with the handheld sharpener. It can easily fit in a drawer does the job and is enhanced by having a scissor sharpener along with it. Once you do the sharpening with the coarse sharpener, it is easy to keep knives sharp with the fine sharpener. For those who do not need the versatility of an electric sharpener it is a light convenient alternative.
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
itsmary
Santa Rosa, CA
February 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
So easy to keep things sharp
February 9, 2009
I use it for my knives and my scissors and it is easy to use. I was never able to sharpen my scissors before and what a difference!
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AliOops
North of Chicago, IL
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Excellent knife sharpener
February 5, 2009
I have needed a knife sharpener for years, but I was too cheap to spend the money for an electric one, plus I needed one which worked on both regular and serrated knives. When I saw this one, I thought it looked good. Well, it is better than good. It works exceptionally well on all types of knives--even scissors. I can't imagine an electric sharpener working any better than this one, plus it is small enough to store easily.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lgl53
Longmont, Colorado
December 17, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wusthof Ikon Handheld Sharpener
December 17, 2008
Great handheld sharpener. Simple to use. Does an excellent job on straight edge & serrated. Works great on scissors of all sizes as well.
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stickmaker
Big Island, Hawaii
November 26, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Keeps sharp knif blades sharp and very easy.
November 26, 2008
I like having a very sharp knife and recently bought a new Henkles Japanese style knife and drawing it through this sharpener keeps its edge very sharp.
However I have not been successful sharpening knives to this same degree that are not new no matter how many times I draw them through it. I go back to my coarse ceramic sharpener and then a fine one to remake an edge.
The unit is more substantial than I thought from the picture and has a good feel to it. I do not think the sharpening rods are replaceable and have no idea how long they will last. Time will tell I guess.
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SamH
Hartsville, Tn
November 19, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Ikon Wusthof Knife Sharpener
November 19, 2008
This is the first sharpener that I have used that does a good job on serrated knives and scissors. Of course it does a great job on conventional edges.
Review 15 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Handheld Knife & Scissor Sharpener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kris11
Military
November 12, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Nice quality
November 12, 2008
I really like this new sharpener. I had the older version before purchasing this. It is heavier and the sharpening system is better quality. I like the feel of it in my hand.