Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife

Combining German craftsmanship and traditional Japanese styling, this santoku is deftly proportioned for precision tasks like mincing and paper-thin slicing. The high-carbon-steel blade has shallow oval-shaped depressions that keep foods from adhering to it. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) creates an extraordinarily sharp blade that retains its edge 30% longer. Wide blade has hollow-ground depressions to reduce friction and minimize sticking. Tang extends deep into the handle for exceptional durability and control. Heavy bolster provides perfect balance. Pebbled polypropylene handle is contoured for a secure grip.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surfergirl12
April 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
April 12, 2014
This knife is Awesome! I just received mine. The blade is super sharp out of box. The handle is comfy and light. Some people like more weight but it's fine for me. Over all this is a great knife and I think the quality is more than suitable for most people
Review 2 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MIH101
Rural Illinois
August 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santokus
August 10, 2011
I have a set of Wusthof knives and use them daily. I needed a smaller blade and the 5" santokus was perfect. The blade stays sharper longer than the chef knife but it's not noticeable unless you kept track of when you sharpened your blades. My husband prefers the longer blades but his hands are much bigger than mine.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile
Review 3 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JCanfield
July 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You only appreciate things after you've lost them
July 15, 2011
I used this knife for almost everything, it was my favorite. It was sharp and stayed sharp, it fit perfectly in my hand and it was perfectly balanced. But I only realized that after my wife attempted to chop a piece of bone and broke it. I was forced to use other knives and it made me realize how perfect this one was.
I missed you so much while you were gone and now that I have you back, I will never let you go.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
girlonajourney
Nashville, TN
February 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite knife ever!
February 8, 2011
Can't say enough good things about this Santoku knife... Thin slicing, fast dicing and chopping, slices raw meat so easily!
Review 5 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoriinCT
CT
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome knife!!
February 3, 2011
Cuts like a dream! It is now an essential in my kitchen. How did I ever live without it!
Review 6 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Carbondale, IL
May 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift
May 23, 2010
I have one and have given 3 as gifts so far. It's probably one of the most affordable and useful things one could possibly give.
Review 7 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
guMDinKC
April 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic buy
April 21, 2010
For years I used just a run of the mill chef's knife to prep vegetable and meat, and I had bought this knife for several friends/family as gifts but never for myself! I purchased this knife finally for my own use, and it has changed my cooking immensely! I never knew just how bad my old knife was. This Wusthoff is easy to handle and slices so cleanly and quickly with little effort. I love using this knife! It is definitely worth the price and then some. Thank you for this high quality product!
Review 8 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hotcoffeenow
michigan
January 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing
January 8, 2010
I bought this for Christmas (from my husband to me) and the first time I used it, my whole world brightened. I cannot believe I ever cooked without this knife! Goes thru veggies like buttah....cuts prep time in half. I want to throw out all my other knives now. I hand wash it and put it right back in its box to be stored tenderly away from anything that might touch it, lol. This is my baby. :)
Review 9 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebbieLib
Sea Isle City, NJ
December 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect
December 7, 2009
I love this knife. I have a 7" one also, but I leave this one out on my cutting board and use it most of the time. Very sharp and just a good size. Love it.
Deb
Review 10 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
monami
Canandaigua, NY
October 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have it; Love it
October 10, 2009
My husband gave me this for Christmas 2 years ago; I use it every day. It is the best knife I have ever used. It is sensational.
Review 11 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
texaninnyc
ny, ny
July 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome
July 3, 2009
This knife is great and cuts right through all kinds of veggies with ease. It is light weight and just fits your fingers and hand perfectly.
Review 12 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracker
Indianapolis, IN
June 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift
June 15, 2009
I bought this knife as a gift for my son. Cooking is his hobby and he makes everything from scratch. He used the knife for the first time last night and said he had never used a knife of this quality. He praised the balance of the knife, the sharpness of the blade, and the way the handle fit his hand. This knife was a great success as a gift. I knew it would be, however, because I own a Wusthof and I already knew the great quality of the product.
Review 13 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mamamia58
New York, New York
February 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Santoku is Bliss!!
February 6, 2009
I gave this knife to my son for Christmas. He is a professional Chef & uses it everyday. He is very happy with it's performance.