Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife

A high-performance chef's knife like this one is a necessity for chopping vegetables and mincing fresh herbs. Forged in Germany from a specially formulated alloy, the blade is balanced with a heavy bolster and a tang that extends far into the handle. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) creates an extraordinarily sharp blade that retains its edge 30% longer. Tang extends deep into the handle for exceptional durability and control. Heavy bolster provides perfect balance. Pebbled polypropylene handle is contoured for a secure grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
corpkid
,Orlando
,FL
April 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GET THIS KNIFE!
April 27, 2013
This is my first "really nice" knife. And guess what - I'm hooked. This thing is simply amazing (and a little scary if you don't have good knife skills). My husband won't even use it (the one time he did he said it was shocking how easily it chopped up his pineapple). I, on the other hand hone this thing daily and let me tell you what - my knife skills get better every day. Perfect all around chef's knife. I can't speak highly enough of this thing. Make sure you also buy a sharpening steel and learn how to use it. There's videos all over the internet on how to properly sharpen a knife. A+
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Strength, Sharpness
Review 2 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dot13
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love Love Love it
April 30, 2012
Love this knife! I bought it to replace the terrible chef's knife that came in my school knife kit. This one is a million times better!
Pros: Durable, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kansascitynick
Missouri
July 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very soild knife.
July 23, 2011
A work horse of a knife. In one of the premere type of knives you need a good knive and it dosen't let you down. very sharp blade which is great. Well balence as well. The only problem is that the grip can be a little slipery when wet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: grip can be a little better.
Review 4 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamaM
SF bay area
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this knife
May 31, 2011
Grew up in a house with bad knives and got one of these knives as a wedding gift. The blade is very sharp and maintains it's edge well with minimal care (a little honing when it doesn't seem super sharp). I use it on tough carrots, melon, really hard winter squashes, crusty breads, tender tomatoes, etc. Makes an easy smooth cut with everything thus far without making my wrist or hand tired.
I learned about honing the blade at a free WS event on knife skills, so if you don't know how that might help.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness
Cons: maybe.. need to know how to hone a knife
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
fldan1978
Branchland,WV
Posted June 4, 2012
WOW
Thank you for your review made me really hungry just reading it sounds like your a great foodie!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fortheloveofcooking
Jacksonville, Florida
May 28, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
And the Oscar is Awarded to . . .
May 28, 2011
The Wusthof Grand Prix knives are hands down the best of the best in the world of knives. I have been a chef for 15 years and my Wusthof's go where I go. They are perfect in balance, weight, size, grip, durability, edge, and a clean cut ever time. When you are a chef, your knives are your family crest - they are your badge of honor. I have confidently used my "swords" for many years - but I have only had to buy each size sword once - it is an investment that will last a lifetime. To my close culinary friends, I give the best gift that says I care about you - I give an Wusthof.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, the mark of excellence
Review 6 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wdbgldy
Virginia
May 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wusthof Chef's Knife
May 26, 2011
Great knife, beautifully balanced, comfortable to the hand, easy to work with. I love it as well as the other Grand Prix II Wusthof knives that I have,.
Review 7 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrunnels
Los Angeles, CA
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good value for the money
January 11, 2011
Balances well in the hand, but not too heavy. Blade is good & sharp, cutting with ease.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cycd
California
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wusthof Grand Prix II 6" Chef's Knife
January 7, 2011
I like that it as weight to it, its a good size, alittle smaller then I thought it would be, but perfect for all the things we will be using it for.
I was not formilar with the company but think I will continue to purchase more knifes from them. We need to build our selection at home.
Over all very happy, and it was a gift, so it was perfect, easy to order online and ship in time for Christmas.
I read the reviews from others and it was very helpful.
Thanks Williams-sonoma!
Review 9 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
madster
philadelphia, pa
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good chopping knife
January 5, 2011
i have an excellent set of cutco knives ... but theres no chopping knife in the set. Got this knife for Christmas ... works!
Review 10 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7CLIF4
Marshfield Ma
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Knife
December 21, 2010
EASY TO HANDLE FOR ANY FOOD
YOU ARE PREPARING IN THE KITCHEN
VEGETABLES,MEAT,CHICKEN OR FISH.
Review 11 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmcunningham
Albany, NY
December 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A cooks dream!
December 6, 2010
I bought this knife recently and absolutely fell in love with it. Whether it was cutting up stew meat or cutting through acorn squash, this knife performed as though it were going through soft butter. I'd always heard Wusthof was a good brand but now I'm a total convert. This is the only knife I'll use until i buy more Wusthof!
Review 12 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seawolfcom
Boston,MA
June 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well balanced chefs knife
June 22, 2010
Good balance of wight and design. I am not fatigued doing lots of choping with it. Good middle of the road knife. perfect for new cooks
Review 13 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCOTTI
NESQUEHONING, PA.
August 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ANOTHER GREAT KNIFE
August 12, 2009
THIS IS ANOTHER GREAT KNIFE FROM THE WUSTHOF COLLECTION. I OWN SEVERAL AND USE THEM DAILY. THEY ARE WELL BALANCED, VERY SHARP AND FIT MY HAND COMFORTABLY. I PLAN ON PURCHASING SEVERAL MORE IN THE NEAR FUTURE FROM WILLIAM SONOMA.
Review 14 for Wusthof Grand Prix II Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NancyA
Florida
February 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Kitchen Knife
February 27, 2009
I love my Wusthof Grand Prix II Chefs Knife!! The handle fits perfectly in my hand and is comfortable. I use it to chop, dice and slice. I have tried other knives but none can compare to my Wusthof Grand Prix II Chefs Knife.