Wusthof Grand Prix II 8-Piece Knife Block Set

Execute kitchen prep tasks with new efficiency using this professional German cutlery. Forged from high-carbon steel, each blade is balanced with a heavy bolster and an embedded tang that runs deep into the polypropylene handle to offer superior control. Each knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) creates an extraordinarily sharp blade that retains its edge 30% longer. Tangs extend deep into the handles for exceptional durability and control. Heavy bolsters provide perfect balance. Pebbled polypropylene handles are contoured for a secure grip. Handsome hardwood block safely stores 17 items and is gentle on knives' edges. 8-Piece Set includes: 3 1/2" paring knife. 4 1/2" utility knife. 6" sandwich knife. 8" chef's knife. 8" bread knife. 9" honing steel. Pull-apart shears. 17-slot storage block. Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Grand Prix II 8-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Wusthof Grand Prix II 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatherineB
Thomasville, GA
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knives ever!
January 24, 2011
We are so pleased with these knives! I bought them as a Christmas gift for my husband and he couldn't be happier. They are exremely sharp and I love the fact that you get the sharpener with the set - so I expect that they will last a lifetime! The only regret that I have is that I didn't order the entire set to begin with! I am am now adding to the set and can't wait for the steak knives to come in. Highly recommended!!
Review 2 for Wusthof Grand Prix II 8-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Danny115
Carlisle, PA
January 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A good starter set
January 19, 2010
I got these knives as a i was beginning to cook more and attempt more complex dishes. It has since become a favorite hobby. These knives have served me well, they stay sharp, hone well and feel good in my hand. They are a bit lighter than the more expensive lines and aren't quite as fancy looking but as the headline says these are a starter set. They will last a good long time and will probably be passed on rather than thrown away when I'm ready to upgrade. An excellent entry level set of knives.
Review 3 for Wusthof Grand Prix II 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VJR5377
Phoenix, AZ
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knives
January 11, 2010
This was my first online order from Williams-Sonoma. It was very simple and efficient.
The knives are wonderful. I used them throughout the holidays, slicing and dicing was quite effortless. I woiuld recommend them to anyone.
Review 4 for Wusthof Grand Prix II 8-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Benm
Denton, TX
December 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good deal when on sale
December 21, 2009
Wusthof always makes a quality product but when I had the chance to buy these knives at more than $100 dollars off the regular price I couldn't resist. These knives are excellent. The handles have been reduced in size slightly and this makes them much easier for my wife to use and I still like them with the smaller diameter handle. One thing I learned from this purchase is that I will not buy anything from Willams Sonoma unless it is at a substantial discount. Since buying these knives I have seen many items reduced by at least $75 to $100.
Review 5 for Wusthof Grand Prix II 8-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GabrielleD
February 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+20points
20of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great investment
February 9, 2009
I recently purchased this set and don't know how I ever cooked before them.
I debated between the Grand Prix II and the Classic. After trying both in the store, I found the Grand Prix to be a better fit for me. I am petite and the Classic knifes have a much heavier feel. I would reccommend the Grand Prix to any smaller chef. The Classic was a very substainial knife that I think I would get exhausted chopping with. You should really try them in the store if possible to determine the best fit for your hand and strength.
Overall they have a great balance and are amazingly sharp. Most impressive was the bread knife. I have never experienced what a real bread knife should do. I am used to tattered, smushed loafs. It cut through hardrolls with dangerous ease.
My husband and I find ourselves buying pineapples and whole chickens just for a good excuse to try out the different knives.