Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set

In its seventh-generation of family ownership, Wusthof has been making some of the finest kitchen cutlery in the world since 1814. The Gourmet line features precision stainless-steel blades that resist stains and rust and hold an exceedingly sharp edge. This set includes all the most common kitchen knives, as well as some specialty knives for more advanced prep work. Also included is a 6-piece steak knife set. The stamped blades are made of high-carbon stainless steel for top performance and durability. Triple-riveted high-impact plastic handles provide a secure, comfortable grip. Handsome hardwood block safely stores 17 items and is gentle on knives' edges. Knives are made in Germany. Knife block is made in China. 18-piece set includes: 2 1/4" peeling knife. 2 3/4" trimming knife 2 1/2" paring knife. 3" paring knife. Six 4 1/2" steak knives. 4 1/2" utility knife. 5" Spreader 5" Hollow-Edge Santoku 8" bread knife. 8" chef's knife. Honing steel. Kitchen shears. 17-slot storage block Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lexington
,Ky
August 22, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They work like a charm
August 22, 2015
Very sharp, very nice set of knifes. I had been waiting for these to go on sale, so when I saw that they were on sale I finally broke down and bought them. They are beautiful, work wonderfully,and came very quickly from Williams-Sonoma. I have no complaints, not even that you have to hand wash them. I understand. I guess if you want them to last longer you'll hand wash them, no biggie. Just be very careful, they are very sharp.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Sharpness
Review 2 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Cedar Knolls
,NJ
August 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you like rust, you’ll love these knives
August 19, 2015
On one of my very first uses of these knives in the dishwasher, they rusted (see photo). The instructions recommend hand wash, but they also say dishwashing is fine. It wasn’t as though I left them in a tub of water for a week—no, one or two washing and they rusted.
On the positive side, the sharpness, appearance, and comfort of the knives is very good. But if you pay hundreds of dollars for a set of knives, you expect they don’t rust within a week.
Pros: Sharpness
Cons: Difficult to Clean, rust
Review 3 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Howard City
,Mi
July 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Width of Gourmet 18 piece Knife set
July 26, 2015
Didn't think they were worth the price I paid for them. The knifes don't even fit in the block. Wish I would of returned them
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Conroe
,Tx
June 10, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waiting for sale
June 10, 2015
I'm very pleased with the knives and they are very sharp. I chose a very good color for the knife block. I like the block because I can add other size knives without changing the block.
Thank you for the good offer
Pros: Durable, Shape, Sharpness
Review 5 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rootstown
,OH
May 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Knife set
May 26, 2015
This was a gift for my wife who is quite the chef in her own. She was battled with sub par tools for way too long and this upgrade was awesome. I would highly recommend the set and when they say sharp that is an understatement.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store, Sharpness
Review 6 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Skandia
,Mi
April 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just what you'd expect from Wusthof
April 17, 2015
Awesome set of knives. Perfect weight, well balanced, sharp. Feel very good in your hand and cut beautifully, Chef's knife cuts even hard lunchmeats as thin as you want with ease. Bread knife cuts crusty bread and bagels quickly and with surprisingly few crumbs; doesn't "mash" softer breads. Black butcher block is very attractive. Not my first Wustof knives, but my first set. Nice variety of knives for everyday use. Worth every penny. Very impressed, highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Miami
,FL
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the splurge
January 19, 2015
These knives are extremely sharp and very well made. Bought these as a Christmas present for my husband to replace some older JA Henkels that were worn out. I looked at the Classic, but those are way to expensive for me. These fit my budget. Our first meal with these was a filet mignon. These knives easily slid right through the meat. I read a review about some rust spots developing, but this has not happened with our knives. Also, I don't let them soak in water, just in case. My only complaint is that the slots in the wood block seem like they are too wide for the knives. Not sure why they are not smaller, but it doesn't really affect anything. Definitely a good buy and worth the money, though not cheap by any means.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Sharpness
Cons: Cost
Review 8 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 7, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent quality and price!!
January 7, 2015
These knives were perfect and the block is quite nice also.
Pros: Quality
Review 9 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. Paul
,MN
November 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my knives
November 16, 2014
I purchased these a few weeks ago and love how easy it is to prepare dinner now. They are sharp and well balanced. I hand wash/dry them directly after use and put them right back in the block. The clerk let me know this was the best way to care for the knives. I wish I had made this purchase years ago, I may start to enjoy cooking yet!
Review 10 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Richmond
,VA
October 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very attractive
October 13, 2014
This block set is very attractive and goes well with my acacia wood cutting board, and the knives are really nice. I enjoy using them regularly. They are very sharp so caution should be used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Sharpness
Review 11 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Artesia
,ca
September 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classy Looking
September 26, 2014
I love this set it is very classy looking and they work amazingly.
Review 12 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
June 30, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great price
June 30, 2014
I got this knife set during a great sell and I love them! I've had them for a week--so far so good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 13 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Phoenix
,AZ
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
25of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rust, Rust, Rust
December 27, 2013
These knives have all rusted in less than a month. They are also feel flimsy and uneven during use. The worst knife purchase I have ever made.
Cons: Quality, Fragile, rust
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jbs2
Los Angeles
Posted September 19, 2014
Rust? Flimsy? Really?
I have been a fan of Wusthof cutlery for many years. These are the only knives I would own, and have never had one rust or bend. If properly cared for, these would never rust (unless maybe you rub them with steel wool and then throw them in the dishwasher). Good knives like this should be hand washed, hand dried and returned to their block. Treated with proper respect they will return a lifetime of reliable service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)