Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set

In its seventh-generation of family ownership, Wusthof has been making some of the finest kitchen cutlery in the world since 1814. The Gourmet line features precision stainless-steel blades that resist stains and rust and hold an exceedingly sharp edge. This set includes all the most common kitchen knives, as well as some specialty knives for more advanced prep work. Also included is a 6-piece steak knife set. The stamped blades are made of high-carbon stainless steel for top performance and durability. Triple-riveted high-impact plastic handles provide a secure, comfortable grip. Handsome hardwood block safely stores 17 items and is gentle on knives' edges. Knives are made in Germany. Knife block is made in China. 18-piece set includes: 2 1/4" peeling knife. 2 3/4" trimming knife. 2 1/2" paring knife. 3" paring knife. Six 4 1/2" steak knives. 4 1/2" utility knife. 5" spreader. 8" hollow-edge santoku knife 8" bread knife. 8" chef's knife. Honing steel. Kitchen shears. 17-slot storage block. Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UPCheryl
,Skandia
,Mi
April 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just what you'd expect from Wusthof
April 17, 2015
Awesome set of knives. Perfect weight, well balanced, sharp. Feel very good in your hand and cut beautifully, Chef's knife cuts even hard lunchmeats as thin as you want with ease. Bread knife cuts crusty bread and bagels quickly and with surprisingly few crumbs; doesn't "mash" softer breads. Black butcher block is very attractive. Not my first Wustof knives, but my first set. Nice variety of knives for everyday use. Worth every penny. Very impressed, highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabbyk1234
,Miami
,FL
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the splurge
January 19, 2015
These knives are extremely sharp and very well made. Bought these as a Christmas present for my husband to replace some older JA Henkels that were worn out. I looked at the Classic, but those are way to expensive for me. These fit my budget. Our first meal with these was a filet mignon. These knives easily slid right through the meat. I read a review about some rust spots developing, but this has not happened with our knives. Also, I don't let them soak in water, just in case. My only complaint is that the slots in the wood block seem like they are too wide for the knives. Not sure why they are not smaller, but it doesn't really affect anything. Definitely a good buy and worth the money, though not cheap by any means.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Sharpness
Cons: Cost
Review 3 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
99fxdwg
January 7, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent quality and price!!
January 7, 2015
These knives were perfect and the block is quite nice also.
Pros: Quality
Review 4 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smoore223
,St. Paul
,MN
November 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my knives
November 16, 2014
I purchased these a few weeks ago and love how easy it is to prepare dinner now. They are sharp and well balanced. I hand wash/dry them directly after use and put them right back in the block. The clerk let me know this was the best way to care for the knives. I wish I had made this purchase years ago, I may start to enjoy cooking yet!
Review 5 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JTS9C
,Richmond
,VA
October 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very attractive
October 13, 2014
This block set is very attractive and goes well with my acacia wood cutting board, and the knives are really nice. I enjoy using them regularly. They are very sharp so caution should be used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Sharpness
Review 6 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yorkielvr
,Artesia
,ca
September 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classy Looking
September 26, 2014
I love this set it is very classy looking and they work amazingly.
Review 7 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beginningcook
June 30, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great price
June 30, 2014
I got this knife set during a great sell and I love them! I've had them for a week--so far so good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 8 for Wusthof Gourmet 18-Piece Knife Block Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mattmt
,Phoenix
,AZ
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
23of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rust, Rust, Rust
December 27, 2013
These knives have all rusted in less than a month. They are also feel flimsy and uneven during use. The worst knife purchase I have ever made.
Cons: Quality, Fragile, rust
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jbs2
Los Angeles
Posted September 19, 2014
Rust? Flimsy? Really?
I have been a fan of Wusthof cutlery for many years. These are the only knives I would own, and have never had one rust or bend. If properly cared for, these would never rust (unless maybe you rub them with steel wool and then throw them in the dishwasher). Good knives like this should be hand washed, hand dried and returned to their block. Treated with proper respect they will return a lifetime of reliable service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)