Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"

Designed specifically to efficiently slice, chop and trim fresh produce, this German knife features a perforated blade that reduces friction when you're cutting potatoes and other firm vegetables. A lengthwise ridge helps push cut ingredients off the blade. The full-tang blade is forged from stain-resistant high-carbon steel and riveted to the nonslip polypropylene handle for balance and control. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) creates an extraordinarily sharp blade that retains its edge 30% longer. Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control. Durable polymer handle is contoured for a comfortable grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BluePlate
,VA
Northern Virginia
October 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sadly not for left-handers
October 10, 2013
The knife is fabulous for wet slicing - onions, potatoes, cucumbers, etc., but the raised ridge that releases the slices from the blade is only on one side therefore it does not work if you are left-handed; I had to return it. Wish Wusthof would make it for both!!
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: only for right-handers
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NaturalCooking
,Houston
,TX
October 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick work of prep
October 6, 2013
Belonging to a produce co-op means lots of veg prep. This knife does great job of making quick work of otherwise tiring process.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
James310
,Lower Hudson Valley
,NY
May 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cool, but not a "must have"
May 10, 2013
I love Wusthof and I love a knife that is well suited to its particular task. This knife is very cool to look at and feels great in the hand, but it is nothing to get crazy about.
The good news is that it is well made and when I bought it on sale it was a good price. The bad news is that it is not really a necessary addition to any kitchen's cutlery stand if you already have a good 8" chef's knife that you like and know how to use properly.
My kids eat cucumbers and apples and other fresh fruits and veggies and I make hand-cut fries. All should be a perfect test of this blade. Turns out, it is not much better than what I already have and the holes require extra attention to clean.
It just is not different enough to make a "must have" knife.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGablesInn
,Santa Rosa
,Ca
April 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Potato Knife
April 22, 2013
As the owner of the Gables Wine Country Inn, we prep a lot of sticky foods. This knife is awesome for slicing potatoes, tomatoes and other sticky stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WSGJR
,Banning
,Ca
April 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for potatoes
April 22, 2013
I expected a lot from a Wusthof knife and I was not disappointed. The knife has a nice weight and excellent balance. It is ideal for slicing potatoes as the ridge and holes keep slices from sticking to the blade. I highly recommend this knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ASFoster
,Tryon
,NC
February 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This knife is great!!!
February 8, 2013
After receiving this knife as a wedding gift, I have in turn been giving it to everyone. I use it way more than my chef's knife!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunnycritter
,Brookfield
,CT
December 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent piece
December 6, 2012
I have owned this knife for over a year. It has become one of my basic use knives. It cuts veggies so well with no sticking plus it is very well balanced. I smile almost every time I use it as it certainly looks odd in the overall knife world.......BUT IT WORKS!! Dicing/slicing those veggies has never been easier.
I just went on line to look at it again as I want to give one each to three of my family members for Christmas. I know this is something they would appreciate but never spend the money on. I would rather not spend the money either but their smiles and enjoyment trump money.......:-)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Vegetable Knife, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KansasKate
Little town on the prairie
June 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for raw root vegetables
June 13, 2012
While not really a necessity --we somehow managed to cut up lots of raw vegetables before buying it-- it is very nice. It gets almost daily use during CSA basket & Farmers' Market season which helps us justify the cost.
Like all knives in the "Classic" line, it has a traditional look and it feels good in both my smallish-medium hand and my husband's larger hand.
Pros: Quality, Sharpness
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo