Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife

Combining German craftsmanship and traditional Japanese styling, this santoku is deftly proportioned for precision tasks like mincing and paper-thin slicing. The high-carbon-steel blade has shallow oval-shaped depressions to keep foods from adhering to it. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Blade has hollow-ground depressions to reduce friction and minimize sticking. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) gives each straight-edged knife an extraordinarily sharp blade that retains its edge 30% longer. Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control. A recessed bolster facilitates honing and sharpening the entire length of the cutting edge; a heel bolster provides added balance. Sleek contoured handle is made of smooth polypropylene.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbosw
,Orange Beach
,AL
Orange Beach, AL
April 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharpest Knife in the Drawer
April 7, 2013
My wife gave me this knife several Christmases ago. It was in a "block set" and I had never used a Santoku before; so it lived in the block unnoticed for several years. One Saturday I decided to play the "get to know your knives" game, and never got passed this knife. My "past favorite" veg. slicing knife was a 14 CM Chef, but due to the "rocking chair" curve of the blade, you had to go through a full motion in order to cut through that last green onion on the near side of your gathered bunch. This resulted in a very exaggerated arc of the knife heel. The Santoku has a straiter cutting edge that allows to cut all the way across the bunch of onions with very little movement of the heel and you still have enough blade width to rest your knuckles against. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, beautiful
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sleeper
,Bedford
,MA
February 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
feels good, works better
February 14, 2013
The grip is comfortable and secure. The blade is extremely sharp. The blade size is handy for most tasks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CutlerySeeker
,Daly City
,CA
December 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Gift Appreciated
December 26, 2012
I purchased the Classic Ikon 7-inch with monogram for my son because he's the "sous-chef" in his home kitchen. He tells me the knife has a comfortable handle and is nicely balanced overall. He likes the food-release characteristics of the santoku blade. He says he uses the knife often.
Pros: Balance, Shape, sharp
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beezneez
,Seattle
,WA
December 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well Designed
December 5, 2012
This knife is well-balanced with a great grip, making it easy to chop multiple veggies without getting fatigued. As a bonus, it looks great in my knife block with the sculpted handle.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melissamachete
,ca
September 23, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Work Horse
September 23, 2011
This is such a great little knife. I have the 5" and I use it for nearly everything at home. It is much lighter than the chef's knife which makes it a bit more comfortable. It is also very durable and can hold up to some abuse, like leaving overnight in my porcelain sink.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Versatile
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweetelise
Livermore, CA
March 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect size
March 30, 2010
we got a starter set of just the ikon basics (chefs knife, bread knife, boning knife, paring knife) for our wedding and loved them so much i had to add this little utility chopping knife. perfect for small jobs, easy to clean, and such good balance and feel in the hand.
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bluelibra49
Wellington,FL
January 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great knife!!!!!
January 21, 2010
I love this knife, it makes cutting up vegies easy and fun! I'll be looking for the longer version to go on sale. Definitely recommend to all avid cooks.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wohlfie
Dayton, OH
January 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite knife
January 21, 2010
this knife is incredibly sharp and fits so nicely in my hand. It is quickly becoming my go to knife. Love it
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SusanKA
Trophy Club, TX
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp, sharp, sharp!
January 14, 2010
I bought this knife for my husband for Christmas and he absolutely loves it!
The perfect size for everything! Now he wants the entire Wusthof Ikon Hollow collection!
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobLasVegas
Las Vegas, NV
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent knife
January 12, 2010
Excellent knife, good value, perfect ordering process, timely delivery. What's not to love?
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QueenofCotadom
North Carolina
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love our new knife
January 12, 2010
Gave this little knife to my husband for Christmas (good stocking stuffer). I used it for the first time tonight and really find it sharp and easy to use. We need more of these knives! Hope to add to our new collection soon.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kenstuff
Greeley, Co
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this knife!!
January 12, 2010
Really happy with this knife, stays sharp, guides well and is easy to maintain. Very well balanced and I really like the Santoku style
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchenesta
Chesterfield, Mo.
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A dream to use
January 11, 2010
This knife if my first really good knife and I wonder how I ever got along without it.
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sisto
Davidson, North Carolina
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Has Become My Favorite Knife
January 9, 2010
You said it was sharp. How right you were. Nicked myself twice first time out.
I am seventy-five years old and this was not my first time in the kitchen. I learn quickly and really enjoy the way this knife fits my hand. It easily handles chopping, dicing, slicing and all the rest for me. My brother likes to cook. At family gatherings, we try to out do each other. This year I have an 'edge'. Yeah.
Review 15 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajh2
San Diego, CA
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow!
January 9, 2010
The blade is much lighter than my other Classic Collection knives, but the results are amazing. It goes through vegetables and meat so easily and neatly. I'm truly impressed.
Review 16 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianneP
West Point, VA
January 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Professional Chef's Rave Review
January 8, 2010
The Wusthuf Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife was a Christmas to my son who is professional chef at French Restaurant located in Richmond, VA. He was very pleased to receive such an excellent knife and said that Wusthuf was a very respected knife company and was quite impressed with the quality and durablity of the knife.
Review 17 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pitnpa
Fort Wayne, IN
January 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overcame my reluctance to give knives as gifts
January 8, 2010
My son wanted and got these knives for Christmas. He was very pleased and I'm sure he'll keep them safely tucked away from his young children.
We were pleased with all the gifts we purchased at Williams-Sonoma before Christmas. The variety and quality are exceptional! Thanks.
Review 18 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hobbychef
Collegeville, PA
December 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW!
December 29, 2008
I've been wanting a new knife set for so long- the wait certainly paid off! This knife cuts anything like it's cutting through butter! Highly recommend it!
Review 19 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nursewally
Las Vegas, NV
November 13, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite knife in my kitchen
November 13, 2008
I absolutely love this knife!! It is so sharp it could cut your soul! It makes easy work crab shells, and glides effortlessly thru meats and vegetables. It is nicely weighted and has maintained its edge for a year now despite extensive use. The whole line of Wusthof Classic Ikon is amazing, but the 7" Santoku is my absolute favorite. Enjoy :)
Review 20 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KnightChef
San Francisco, CA
September 12, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Cut Above!
September 12, 2008
At the store, the salesperson told me that this knife would take care of ALL my needs - slicing, dicing, mincing - you name it...and it does! Holy cow, I can't live without this knife! It is the ONLY knife I have been using! LOVE the handle and the blade is awesome! Do yourself a favor if you are looking for a knife (just a good ONE!) and BUY THIS KNIFE!