Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives

Perfectly balanced to feel like an extension of your hand, this chef's knife deftly slices, dices, minces and juliennes. Its high-carbon-steel blade, forged in the renowned cutlery center of Solingen, Germany, tapers from handle to tip and from spine to edge. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) ensures a 20% sharper blade with twice the edge retention. A recessed bolster facilitates honing and sharpening the entire length of the cutting edge; a heel bolster provides added balance. Sleek contoured handle is made of smooth polypropylene.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Jomtien, Thailand
November 3, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a great all-around Chef's knife
November 3, 2015
I purchased this knife along with a Shun Kaji Santoku as a replacement for a Henckel Chef knife after 40 years of great service.
I found this knife to be thinner, lighter, and sharper than the older Henckels. I think that's just newer knife design. I know these are precision tools designed for cutting, but I'm not going to put it down and use another tool when I need to crush garlic, etc. I use the side of the blade for that.
I've had this knife for about six months and I love it. I reach for it or the Shun Santoku equally, simply depending on my mood.
I'd say I lean toward this one for cutting meat and the Shun for vegetables. With the exception that this one seems to do a better job with skin (bell peppers and the like).
None of the problems or issues that others have experienced. I'm a home cook. Cook everyday, and I don't treat these things like crystal glassware, but like utility tools. I don't abuse them, but I don't baby them. So far so good. High marks from me!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Shape, Quality, Size, Weight, Balance, Easy to Store, Versatile, Sharpness
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Phoenix
,AZ
April 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-10points
1of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would not buy again
April 25, 2015
The design is attractive, comfortable in my hand and cuts beautifully. So why wouldn't I purchase them again? They have an aero dynamic design and with the slightest touch, they twirl around like a helicopter blade. I don't know what the handles are made of but 3 of the knives in my set have flown off on to the floor and broke. Super glue has helped but for the price, they shouldn't be so fragile. The other design looks like it would be a better purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Shape
Cons: Fragile
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Charlotte
,NC
July 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife for the money
July 15, 2014
Really nicely done product. Packaged well and delivered perfectly. Has been used hard and still has the same edge as delivered a month ago. First of the Ikon series for me, but will buy more.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego area
,CA
March 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent choice
March 14, 2013
This knife is an excellent addition to the
kitchen. Well balanced. A pleasure to
use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Sharpness
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Knife
January 22, 2013
This is an excellent knife. I like its heft and balance. The blade is unbelievable sharp and it's a pleasure to use. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful, comfortable, sharp
December 13, 2012
Great knife. I had the Classic Wusthof version of this chef's knife for almost twenty years, and was ready for a new one. I was hesitant about switching to the Ikon instead of getting another Classic, but I really like it. The handle is much more comfortable, and the knife as a whole feels better balanced.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
South Carolina
October 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Knife
October 26, 2012
I purchased the 6" chef's knife and it is the perfect size for food prep. It's versatile, comfortably fits in the hand, very sharp, and has great balance. For me, it is an easier size to use than a bigger chef's knife and still does the job. Purchased another as a gift for my son.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Ikon Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Albuquerque
,NM
July 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knife I own!
July 8, 2012
I have had this knife for several years now and continue to be impressed by it. The edge is excellent and retains its sharpness as well as me being able to bring it to "hair flinging" sharpness. It balances well in the hand and is thick enough to keep my knuckles off the cutting board. I am spoiled to it and take it with me when visiting family and might be doing some cooking. I am not big into fancy cooking equipment and so have limited experience, but sometimes you can just tell when you find quality and that is what I see here. Excellent knife!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Shape