Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife

Combining the duties of both a chef's knife and a cleaver, this santoku is deftly proportioned for precision tasks like mincing and paper-thin slicing. The high-carbon-steel blade has shallow oval-shaped depressions along the cutting edge that keep foods from adhering to it. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Blade has hollow-ground depressions to reduce friction and minimize sticking. Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control. Polypropylene handle is contoured for a comfortable grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surfergirl12
April 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
April 12, 2014
This knife is Awesome! I just received the 5 inch knife but would of preferred the 7 inch instead. My mistake but it will work. The blade is super sharp out of box. The handle is comfy and the knife is light. Some people like more weight but it's fine for me. Over all this is a great knife and I think the quality is more than suitable for most people
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EnthusiasticNoob
February 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Knife - Very Light
February 8, 2014
This is a nice knife, but on the light side by a large margin. I like a heavier knife. Its only 4 oz. Most of the others are 50% or more heavier. Otherwise does exactly what the other reviewers say. Its sharp, cuts like a hot knife through butter. Good balance, but since it has little weight its not like it could be out of balance. Given its weight, I'd reccomend keeping it nice and sharp...
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance
Cons: Weight
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandee
,IL
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Knife!!
November 1, 2013
Bought this knife based on other users recommendations and I can say it totally lives up to their praises! Great grip! Extremely Sharp! Nice weight! Cuts thru food with ease - AND did I mention this knife is EXTREMELY SHARP! Best to start out slow until you get the feel of the blade....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BakingLoverCA
October 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite knife!
October 30, 2013
This knife will change your life in the kitchen. I went to Williams-Sonoma and tried every Santoku knife they had in their case. I was looking for a knife to chop vegetables every day. This had the best weight and feel in my hand. The thing that made this stand out from all of the others I tried (and I tried some that were 5 times the price) was the small curve in the heel of the knife (at the end of the handle) that your pinky finger rests against while chopping -- helps with the grip and makes for confident chopping. Everyone will love this knife, but especially women -- nice size and weight for our smaller hands!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizBW
April 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent knife!
April 26, 2013
I had earlier purchased the smaller of the two knives in this style and liked it so much I decided to buy the larger one. I have a large Wusthof classic chef knife that I hardly ever use now as this one is so versatile and easy to use. Well balanced, feels good in my hand, and very sharp.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joodles
,Goshen
,NY
new york
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nicely balanced, great balance and quality
April 9, 2012
love this knife! it has a nice feel in the hand, good weight but not heavy, good quality. i was waiting for a knife like this to be put on sale, so i'm quite pleased. made chopping veggies easier and i sliced a thick easter ham like it was soft butter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wil56
,Sidney
,NY
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hurts to buy but worth it.
September 21, 2011
Bought myself one of these knives, loved it, so even bought a second one for my brother. Very sharp, nice balance, slips food pretty good and makes prep work almost fun. My bro's wife told me he has been grinning ear to ear using it. Be careful of that back edge...its mean!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness
Cons: careful when its in soapy water..sharp
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wrongway
Louisville ky
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The do anything knife
August 29, 2011
I bought this 7in santoku a couple weeks ago. i used other brands that cost twice this amount. if you cant slice chop or anything but cut bone then you are not using it properly! I absolutly adore this handy little knife.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, Speed
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarefootBaroness
Daphne, AL
June 27, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My go to knife
June 27, 2011
I ordered the 5" knife because I thought it would be easier to use. I have used it everyday since it arrived. It really seems to fit my hand and I would highly recommend It!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rynnie
Virginia
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"Knife Snob"
June 7, 2011
This knife has turned me into a 'knife snob'. Once you've tasted how much simpler and faster cooking can be with a sharp and well balanced knife is, you won't want to use anything else. I use the knife mostly on vegetables and some meats, and it stays sharp for a good couple months before needing to be sharpened again. It's very comfortable to hold and work with, the blade is a good size and thickness. I will wash this knife to use it on multiple items before I would go to a second knife, and any time I cook outside my apartment - I bring this knife with me. Very pleased with it, and I'm not one to give out 5 stars lightly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
charlie910
fayetteville, n.c
May 22, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very versatile
May 22, 2011
Just brought it love the way it handles. Fits like a glove, and the ease in cutting is superb
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TRedd
Tallahassee, FL
May 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wustof Santoku Knife
May 19, 2011
Every kitchen should have one of these little knives!
Pros: Quality, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tconway
Colleyville, TX
May 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I use this knife for almost everything!
May 2, 2011
This is the best knife I've ever had in my kitchen. Get one, you'll love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sharpness, Weight
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichelleHenry80
Naperville, IL
March 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect multi-purpose knife
March 25, 2010
This knife is a great fit for my hands, which are smaller than my husbands, The handle is solid and the knife easily slices, dices, and chops. It is a fantastic tool!