Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife

Combining the duties of both a chef's knife and a cleaver, this santoku is deftly proportioned for precision tasks like mincing and paper-thin slicing. The high-carbon-steel blade has shallow oval-shaped depressions along the cutting edge that keep foods from adhering to it. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Blade has hollow-edge depressions to reduce friction and minimize sticking. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) ensures a 20% sharper blade with twice the edge retention. Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control. Polypropylene handle is contoured for a comfortable grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
terrigardner
,Salt Lake City
,UT
July 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Knife
July 2, 2014
This is probably the best knife I have ever owned. It cuts through vegetables perfectly, fits hand perfectly. It is a great size. Would highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GypsyGail
,Fort Myers
,FL
May 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Knife
May 26, 2014
This is the absolute best knife in my kitchen! It almost cuts all by itself! Wonderful addition for anyone who cooks!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, beautiful!
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woulfey
,Virgina Beach
,VA
May 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
May 23, 2014
This is my second Santoku Knife, the first one was my favorite knife for everything, but it started to chip on the handle soooo I decided to get another. It is comfortable to cut with, I have several Wusthof Knives but this is my favorite, I am still using the first one as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dancemusician
,Denton
,TX
May 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An Excellent knife
May 20, 2014
I'm pleased with this knife. It cuts effortlessly and has excellent balance. Chopping and carving are so easy, and this knife is very light. What a find!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChezMJ
Boston
May 14, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This But One Caveat...
May 14, 2014
The first time I used this knife, I drew blood…my own! The bottom back edge is not dull but is an extremely sharp point. I learned quickly to respect it. This little corner is actually quite handy for nicking skins to get cuts started, such as tomatoes. The wide blade is also excellent for transferring chopped items to a bowl or pot. I was unsure whether to buy this but I used it so much, I bought another.
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patgbury
,Glastonbury
,CT
April 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love this knife
April 23, 2014
My husband and I went in to the local WS store with the intent to buy another chef's knife since we cook together and always reach for the same knife. We ended up with this santoku knife and love it. I grab it first and after 1 month it continues to be my first choice. Unfortunately, it does not fit into our knife block so have to deal with that soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surfergirl12
April 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
April 12, 2014
This knife is Awesome! I just received the 5 inch knife but would of preferred the 7 inch instead. My mistake but it will work. The blade is super sharp out of box. The handle is comfy and the knife is light. Some people like more weight but it's fine for me. Over all this is a great knife and I think the quality is more than suitable for most people
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EnthusiasticNoob
February 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Knife - Very Light
February 8, 2014
This is a nice knife, but on the light side by a large margin. I like a heavier knife. Its only 4 oz. Most of the others are 50% or more heavier. Otherwise does exactly what the other reviewers say. Its sharp, cuts like a hot knife through butter. Good balance, but since it has little weight its not like it could be out of balance. Given its weight, I'd reccomend keeping it nice and sharp...
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandee
,IL
November 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Knife!!
November 1, 2013
Bought this knife based on other users recommendations and I can say it totally lives up to their praises! Great grip! Extremely Sharp! Nice weight! Cuts thru food with ease - AND did I mention this knife is EXTREMELY SHARP! Best to start out slow until you get the feel of the blade....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BakingLoverCA
October 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite knife!
October 30, 2013
This knife will change your life in the kitchen. I went to Williams-Sonoma and tried every Santoku knife they had in their case. I was looking for a knife to chop vegetables every day. This had the best weight and feel in my hand. The thing that made this stand out from all of the others I tried (and I tried some that were 5 times the price) was the small curve in the heel of the knife (at the end of the handle) that your pinky finger rests against while chopping -- helps with the grip and makes for confident chopping. Everyone will love this knife, but especially women -- nice size and weight for our smaller hands!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizBW
April 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent knife!
April 26, 2013
I had earlier purchased the smaller of the two knives in this style and liked it so much I decided to buy the larger one. I have a large Wusthof classic chef knife that I hardly ever use now as this one is so versatile and easy to use. Well balanced, feels good in my hand, and very sharp.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic Hollow-Edge Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joodles
,Goshen
,NY
new york
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nicely balanced, great balance and quality
April 9, 2012
love this knife! it has a nice feel in the hand, good weight but not heavy, good quality. i was waiting for a knife like this to be put on sale, so i'm quite pleased. made chopping veggies easier and i sliced a thick easter ham like it was soft butter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Weight