Wusthof Classic Cleavers

Perfect for breaking down larger cuts of meat, this heavy German cleaver is designed to cut through bone. Its finely honed high-carbon-steel blade works equally well for chopping and mincing tough vegetables. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Heavy razor-sharp blade is designed for both heavy-duty and precision cutting. Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability. Polypropylene handle is contoured for a comfortable grip. 6"-long blade, 5 1/4"-long handle; 1 lb. 4 oz. Made in Germany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Cleavers
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Cleavers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LooWho
,New York
,NY
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Cleaver!
June 18, 2013
Wusthof has made an excellent knife - it has great weight to it which helps cutting through beef bones! I feed my dog raw meat, so this is a perfect purchase for cutting up big slabs of beef. I haven't used it on veggies yet. I'm sure it would be spectacular.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Strength, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Cleavers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rocko
Madera County, California
July 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT Cleaver!
July 14, 2010
I bought the Wusthoff after breaking the blade on a lesser cleaver, and it's been a wonderful addition to my cutlery collection. Designed for hard use, it does everything it's supposed to!
I've read comments about the blade being "dull," or needing sharpening. A cleaver should not be sharp; it's purpose is chopping and crushing (even bones), and for that the Wusthoff is without a doubt the best I've used!
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Cleavers
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Daniel4v3
Schenectady, NY
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
1of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointingly Dull
June 8, 2010
What a let down for such an expensive knife. Sure expected more from Wusthof. Sturdy, but better cleavers are out there. I'm taking it back and hope I can get a refund.
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Cleavers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
usher419
Toledo,Ohio
April 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cleaver for the 4th of July Party
April 27, 2010
I used the cleaver once, and I was chopping up pork ribs and chicken! great product!!
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Cleavers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surose
San Jose, CA
June 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great knife for big jobs
June 25, 2009
I bought this clever a year and a half ago. Used it once in awhile till I had a very big party for my grand-daughter's graduation, we BBQ 30 lbs of Tri tip and 10 whole chickens which were halved and this clever worked like a work horse. Used it to cut out the back bone of every chicken and once they were BBQ it was used to cut into pieces. I'm going to buy one for my guy who did all the cooking, he loved it.
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Cleavers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
suezq84105
Salt Lake City
February 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blade is DULL
February 16, 2009
Beautiful knife, nice weight, but unlike the discription this knife needs to be sharpened...comes dull! I'm sure once we get it sharpened it will be a 5-star knife, but until then...kind of a disappointment.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BriguyChef
San Diego
Posted August 28, 2013
It's a cleaver...
Cleavers (European) are not meant to be sharp. They are used for breaking through bone and cartilage. Putting an edge on one would be futile as you would dull it after one use. Perhaps you are looking for an Asian style that is used as a multi-purpose tool.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)