Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife

The most indispensable of knives, a chef's knife is essential for preparing any meal, no matter how simple. Made in Germany with a full-tang blade for balance, this knife is a favorite when it comes to chopping, dicing and slicing. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) creates an extraordinarily sharp blade that retains its edge 30% longer. Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control. Durable polymer handle is contoured for a comfortable grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.928 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
94 of 97(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy23
,Parker
,CO
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great knife as expected
October 29, 2013
This 10" chef knife has great balance and enables one to easily cut small items with ease. The longer blade helps to chop fast without having to lift the blade as high.
The blade edge retains it's sharpness well, needing only an occasional touch up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Weight, length
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jrstickles
,Springfield
,VA
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wusthof can spoil you in the kitchen!
August 23, 2013
I had always wanted a really good kitchen knife set, but couldn't bring myself to spen the money; instead choosing to buy "throw away" knife block sets for under $50. Finally, two birthdays ago, my wife made me stop talking about it and go buy it! I have never been so happy to use a knife in the kitchen, and my wife has become a total knife snob! She always complains when trying to help someone in their kitchen and they have dull/cheap knives! I am also a woodworker, so I hand sharpen my own knives to a beautiful mirrored razer finish. They sharpen easily, and maintain a very sharp edge quite well. I touch them up every 4 to 6 months (mostly because I can and it's easier to NOT let a knife get too dull). If you've never treated yourself to a quality knife set, this is a great one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DougP
Beverly Hills, MI
Posted March 2, 2014
You would think, being a woodworker, investing in your tools would be a no brainer. Nevertheless, good review and great tip about keeping your sharp knives sharp.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
libr8r
,Altadena
,CA
March 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It Doesn't Get Any Better
March 20, 2013
I truly llllove this Classic knife! I know that I have made the best choice for my first professional knife. It's beautiful, it feels so good to hold and work with, it's sharp as "all get down", it's mine! You'll love this knife too!
Pros: Size, Shape, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jetgeorge
,Phoenix
,AZ
August 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect size
August 14, 2012
I started cooking more and wanted a good all-purpose knife. This one definitely fits the bill. I have small hands and it feels comfortable. It has a very good edge.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PlacitasSlim
,Rio Rancho
,NM
December 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great as a utility knife
December 24, 2011
A handy size that allows good control. PTEC edge is much sharper than the older knives. I think this one will repace my 4" utility.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Ashland
,OR
December 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exquisite Chopping Enters Holiday Preparations
December 15, 2011
This knife fits my hand perfectly, is balanced shaped nicely. It cuts like a dream, re-sharpens to its original state. I couldn't ask for more, except more cutlery from this line. Santa?
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soussous
,Orland Park
,Il
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife
December 12, 2011
Love Wustof knives and I needed a smaller chef knife. This size is a perfect addition to my set; I use it all the time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Sharpness
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeCooks
,Mill Creek
,Wa
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I buy for him
December 12, 2011
My husband said he did not need any other knifes, but I had heard nothing but great things about these knives so I bought one for him. He loved it! So I bought the paring set.
Pros: Quality, Size, Sharpness, Shape
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scrabblemom
,Philadelphia
,PA
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic buy!
December 12, 2011
I bought this 5" Wusthof knife on sale, and I am so happy with it. It's the perfect weight, it cuts beautifully, and its easy to use. I hghly recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mzmelly
,Galveston
,TX
December 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Now my favorite knife!
December 11, 2011
I wanted some better knives than the ones I had and decided to try Wusthof classic. I love them. They are sharp and well balanced, fit easily in the hand. And for the price, they can't be beat. I am collecting them one at a time and enjoying the three I have already. This chef's knife is easily my favorite knife for almost anything!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CWill
Los Angeles, CA
August 20, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just the best knives ever!
August 20, 2011
I am a professional cook and thought long and hard while shopping for the tools of my trade. My final decision was between the Wustof Classic line and a comparable knife of folded steel. While I thought the Japanese knife was grand, I choose the Wustof and have not looked back. LONG lasting blade sharpness aids precision cuts and a nice looking plate is money!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMorgan
Miami, FL
June 23, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing knife, absolutely essential.
June 23, 2011
I used this to replace my old, dull generic brand knife, the difference could not be more apparent. I cook quite frequently, and with honing, the knife came, and has stayed extraordinarily sharp. A cinch to clean, a bit of soap and warm water and everything melts off, and it doesn't stain when cutting acidic food. It has damaged the inside of my drawer due to its sharpness, so I had to get a block to keep it in, but well worth it. Fantastic product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barb54
Scurry TX
February 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best ever knive
February 25, 2011
am replacing 30 + year old kitchen utensils......so far this is the best purchase........I absolutely love this knive
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jshan70
Long Island
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our latest knife addition
February 4, 2011
My husband and I love to cook - both together and separately. We have been gradually upgrading our knives and found these to be the BEST! This size is very versatile and well worth the price.
Review 15 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robinsky
Arlington, VA
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
better than expected
February 3, 2011
Got this as it was a fantastic deal. Out performs my Henckels' chef's knife.Very Happpy !
Review 16 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefdeCocina
South Texas
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Classic Chef Knife
February 3, 2011
It is great to have the Classic Wusthof Chef Knife in my knife mix. Great German steel and knife-making that form this classic
Review 17 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tennex
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you could only have one kitchen knife
February 3, 2011
If I could only have one knife in my kitchen the Wustof 6 inch chef would be it. There is no task it can't do. Great balance, great sharpness, and a great price on sale!
Review 18 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJMiller
Townsend,TN
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chef Knife
February 3, 2011
The Wusthof Classic Chef knife is outstanding and the perfect weight for my use.
Review 19 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deakman
Charlotte, C
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Little Big Knife
February 3, 2011
great knife at a great price-- 6" Wusthof chef knife was on sale at greatly reduced price; just the right size to do a "big knife's" job yet easier to wield
Review 20 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhillyCooks
Philadelphia
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp Knives are Great!
February 3, 2011
i absolutely love my 6 inch Wusthof Classic Chef's knife! It is quite amazing how much easier having a sharp knife makes chopping and dicing. This is my go-to knife for all of my basic cutting needs. Great handling and good weight make it even better.
page1 2 3 4 5 next