Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife

The most indispensable of knives, a chef's knife is essential for preparing any meal, no matter how simple. Made in Germany with a full-tang blade for balance, this knife is a favorite when it comes to chopping, dicing and slicing. Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) ensures a 20% sharper blade with twice the edge retention. Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control. Durable polymer handle is contoured for a comfortable grip.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BabyBee
,Haymarket
,VA
Haymarket, VA
May 18, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knife I Ever Had!
May 18, 2015
Bought this knife for a cooking class in college. Chef/professor said it was an investment we'd use for many years to come. I was hesitant but bought it anyways. Four years later, my biggest regret was forgetting it at home while I worked 3 months overseas. I dreamt of returning home to my beautiful chef knife. Sadly, came home to find my 19 year old brother used it in some barbaric way which resulted in breaking the tip clean off the knife. Disappointed to say the least. No worries, he is buying me a new one as we speak. This knife truly does work wonders in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exumablue
,Cleveland Area
,Oh
January 18, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
25 years of heavy use and still going strong
January 18, 2015
I received the Wushtof classic 6 inch chef knife 25 years ago as a wedding present. I remember thinking it was a rather strange gift at the time - I hadn't registered for it and it certainly isn't romantic! Over the holidays, I commented to my husband that, after almost 25 years, this is still a great knife. I sharpen it occasionally, and mine is a very, very busy kitchen with 4 children and lots of intense, advanced cooking. This knife never lets me down. I know most people prefer an 8 inch, but because of my terrible fine motor skills, the 6 inch proves just right for me. I just love this knife and would recommend it to anyone who wants to invest in a great kitchen piece for the long hall. When I saw it on the WS website, I felt compelled to add this review.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dawnvh
,PA
January 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Chef Knife
January 4, 2015
This chef's knife is what I was looking for. It feels good in the hand; is sharp; and has a great reputation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThomasX
,Lockeford
,CA
October 19, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite knives
October 19, 2014
I have used a full set of Wustfoff knives for more than 25 years and would not use any other but I do know Heinkel makes a good knife. Well balanced, excellent tool, holds an edge but I also maintain their edge with proper sharpening and a steel.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mamadona
,Portland
,OR
June 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The only knife I will buy
June 1, 2014
Wusthof is a very good product. I have several of their knives and they are the only ones I will use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Shape, Weight
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy23
,Parker
,CO
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great knife as expected
October 29, 2013
This 10" chef knife has great balance and enables one to easily cut small items with ease. The longer blade helps to chop fast without having to lift the blade as high.
The blade edge retains it's sharpness well, needing only an occasional touch up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Weight, length
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jrstickles
,Springfield
,VA
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wusthof can spoil you in the kitchen!
August 23, 2013
I had always wanted a really good kitchen knife set, but couldn't bring myself to spen the money; instead choosing to buy "throw away" knife block sets for under $50. Finally, two birthdays ago, my wife made me stop talking about it and go buy it! I have never been so happy to use a knife in the kitchen, and my wife has become a total knife snob! She always complains when trying to help someone in their kitchen and they have dull/cheap knives! I am also a woodworker, so I hand sharpen my own knives to a beautiful mirrored razer finish. They sharpen easily, and maintain a very sharp edge quite well. I touch them up every 4 to 6 months (mostly because I can and it's easier to NOT let a knife get too dull). If you've never treated yourself to a quality knife set, this is a great one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DougP
Beverly Hills, MI
Posted March 2, 2014
You would think, being a woodworker, investing in your tools would be a no brainer. Nevertheless, good review and great tip about keeping your sharp knives sharp.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
libr8r
,Altadena
,CA
March 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It Doesn't Get Any Better
March 20, 2013
I truly llllove this Classic knife! I know that I have made the best choice for my first professional knife. It's beautiful, it feels so good to hold and work with, it's sharp as "all get down", it's mine! You'll love this knife too!
Pros: Size, Shape, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic Chef's Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jetgeorge
,Phoenix
,AZ
August 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect size
August 14, 2012
I started cooking more and wanted a good all-purpose knife. This one definitely fits the bill. I have small hands and it feels comfortable. It has a very good edge.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight