This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife

Wusthof's classic bread knife has an extra-long serrated blade for slicing neatly through crusty loaves of bread. Forged in Germany of tough high-carbon steel, the blade withstands years of use.Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion.Sturdy extra-long blade has a serrated edge for slicing through bread without tearing or squashing.Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control.Polypropylene handle is contoured for a comfortable grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momof4blessings
,Johnson City
,Ny
August 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
My favorite bread knife for all knife usage
August 18, 2013
Love this knife. For bread of course but also for slicing meats. Awesome! Worth is cost:)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Sharpness, Shape
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bergen
,CA
Northern California
May 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Life changing knife!
May 18, 2013
After years of struggling to cut artisan breads with my old knives, I invested in this one. It's life changing! I didn't realize cutting bread could be so easy, in fact it cut through the breads so effortlessly that we were actually cutting our board too! You will love this knife and if I could afford it, I would buy one for every one of my friends and family.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gump
,Watsonville
,CA
May 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wusthof Classic Bread Knife
May 13, 2013
This is a 'must have' knife in anyone's kitchen. If you find it on sale, more the better.
My first use of it was to cut some thin tomato slices. Man...cuts like butter. Feels well balanced in the hand, and looks like it will out last me! A very good kithen knife.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChuckinIL
,Chicago Area
,IL
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Knife was damaged
February 3, 2013
Unfortunately for us, the bread knife has a nick in the blade edge. The cardboard sleeve on the knife is not damaged in any way, so my conclusion is that this was damaged in production and whomever put it in the sleeve didn't look at the blade. The nick is big enough that as I slid the sleeve off, it was obvious. It should have been caught at the factory.
I called Wusthof who politely suggested the knife had been misused and told me I'd have to send it in to them. It could take up to 2 weeks for them to decided if they're going to replace it and hopefully send me another.
With 5 star reviews from others here, I have high hopes that Wusthof will replace it and I'll be happy with it. However, I am disappointed that their QA is lacking and their solution to the problem is for me to pay to return the knife to them and wait 2 weeks for the chance at a replacement.
Pros: Balance, Sharpness
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cheeriohs
,atlanta
,GA
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Bread Knife
January 21, 2013
This is a superb bread knife, cuts effortlessly and with little to no crumbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
softiepearl
,Anchorage
,AK
August 2, 2012
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best bread knife in the world
August 2, 2012
I just had to write a review of this. We've had this bread knife since we were married 23 years ago. We make a lot of bread and we also buy a lot of rustic loaves with good, toothy crusts. This knife is a workhorse! It cuts beautifully and even still looks beautiful. I wish every product could always be this satisfying, reliable, and lasting. Hooray to Wusthof and to Williams Sonoma!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianeAugust10
,Sherman Oaks
,CA
Sherman Oaks,CA
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
WOW! What a knife!
January 29, 2012
This is my 2nd Wusthof knife- Amazing product! Tried it out on a bake-n-eat Tuscun Loaf tonight- what a difference having a truly awesome bread knife makes! Cuts thru the bread like butter!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Shape, Weight