Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife

Wusthof's classic bread knife has an extra-long serrated blade for slicing neatly through crusty loaves of bread. Forged in Germany of tough high-carbon steel, the blade withstands years of use.Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion.Sturdy extra-long blade has a serrated edge for slicing through bread without tearing or squashing.Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control.Polypropylene handle is contoured for a comfortable grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momof4blessings
,Johnson City
,Ny
August 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite bread knife for all knife usage
August 18, 2013
Love this knife. For bread of course but also for slicing meats. Awesome! Worth is cost:)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Sharpness, Shape
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bergen
,CA
Northern California
May 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Life changing knife!
May 18, 2013
After years of struggling to cut artisan breads with my old knives, I invested in this one. It's life changing! I didn't realize cutting bread could be so easy, in fact it cut through the breads so effortlessly that we were actually cutting our board too! You will love this knife and if I could afford it, I would buy one for every one of my friends and family.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gump
,Watsonville
,CA
May 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wusthof Classic Bread Knife
May 13, 2013
This is a 'must have' knife in anyone's kitchen. If you find it on sale, more the better.
My first use of it was to cut some thin tomato slices. Man...cuts like butter. Feels well balanced in the hand, and looks like it will out last me! A very good kithen knife.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChuckinIL
,Chicago Area
,IL
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Knife was damaged
February 3, 2013
Unfortunately for us, the bread knife has a nick in the blade edge. The cardboard sleeve on the knife is not damaged in any way, so my conclusion is that this was damaged in production and whomever put it in the sleeve didn't look at the blade. The nick is big enough that as I slid the sleeve off, it was obvious. It should have been caught at the factory.
I called Wusthof who politely suggested the knife had been misused and told me I'd have to send it in to them. It could take up to 2 weeks for them to decided if they're going to replace it and hopefully send me another.
With 5 star reviews from others here, I have high hopes that Wusthof will replace it and I'll be happy with it. However, I am disappointed that their QA is lacking and their solution to the problem is for me to pay to return the knife to them and wait 2 weeks for the chance at a replacement.
Pros: Balance, Sharpness
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cheeriohs
,atlanta
,GA
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Bread Knife
January 21, 2013
This is a superb bread knife, cuts effortlessly and with little to no crumbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
softiepearl
,Anchorage
,AK
August 2, 2012
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best bread knife in the world
August 2, 2012
I just had to write a review of this. We've had this bread knife since we were married 23 years ago. We make a lot of bread and we also buy a lot of rustic loaves with good, toothy crusts. This knife is a workhorse! It cuts beautifully and even still looks beautiful. I wish every product could always be this satisfying, reliable, and lasting. Hooray to Wusthof and to Williams Sonoma!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianeAugust10
,Sherman Oaks
,CA
Sherman Oaks,CA
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! What a knife!
January 29, 2012
This is my 2nd Wusthof knife- Amazing product! Tried it out on a bake-n-eat Tuscun Loaf tonight- what a difference having a truly awesome bread knife makes! Cuts thru the bread like butter!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommytoNya
,Chicago
,IL
November 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and Functional Bread Knife
November 15, 2011
As an avid bread maker/eater, I was in dire need of a quality bread knife. This knife is substantial to hold, and is truly a thing of beauty in form and function. The serrated blade really grips even the crustiest loaf of bread and makes slicing a breeze. I LOVE my new bread knife!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Weight
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PlacitasSlim
,Rio Ranco
,NM
October 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
October 3, 2011
I got this to replace another brand. What a difference! Cuts right through the bread without making a mess.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mecross
Texas
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A wonderful knife!
March 1, 2011
I wasn't sure I needed another knife to cut bread but I am so glad I purchased this one. No comparison to the other serrated knife I was using. A great addition to my Wusthof collection.
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gort40
Harrisonburg, VA
May 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Knife
May 19, 2010
Of all the Wusthof knifes that I own, I find that I use this on almost a daily basis and have never been let down. It is sharp and retains it's sharpness. Highly recommended for any bread and baked goods!
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lseg
Pittsburgh, PA
November 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bread knife
November 11, 2009
This Wusthof bread knife is simply amazing. The weight of the knife is perfect and it slices homemade bread, whole grain breads and store bought breads equally well. I only wish I had invested the money in this knife years ago. It is one of the best tools I have in my kitchen.
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Homebody
Morro Bay, CA
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This baby cuts!
September 4, 2008
I never realized how poorly my old bargain bread knife performed until I got a real one. Cuts through crunchy bread crusts with precision, and is also is very useful for slicing vegetables such as eggplant into nice neat pieces. Worth every penny.
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic 9" Bread Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breadlover
San Jose, CA
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent knife
September 3, 2008
I purchased this knife for my husband who complained that none of our bread knives were good for slicing French bread. He LOVES this knife! It slices right through the hard crust and does not crush the soft insides. I've told many people to give this one a try.