Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set

Crafted in the renowned cutlery center of Solingen, Germany, the Wusthof Classic knives in this set have specially formulated high-carbon-steel blades that hold a keen edge. Full tangs increase balance, and the triple-riveted polypropylene handles ensure a comfortable grip. Each knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) gives each straight-edged knife an extraordinarily sharp blade that retains its edge 30% longer. Full tangs are triple riveted to the handles for exceptional durability and control. Durable polymer handles are contoured for a comfortable grip. Handsome hardwood block safely stores 13 items and is gentle on knives' edges. 7-Piece Set includes: 3 1/2" paring knife. 6" utility knife. 8" chef's knife. 8" bread knife. 10" honing steel. Stainless-steel pull-apart shears. 13-slot storage block. Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
19 of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mlfrickey
,Ellis
,KS
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product!
January 27, 2013
Love this knife set! We have gotten other knife sets in the past and have been disappointed in the sharpness of the knives and the quality. These knives are very high quality and very sharp. Just what I ordered!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kihei
September 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb service
September 3, 2012
I live in Hawaii and ordered this set online. I got a call from customer service to ensure no one was using my credit card since the set was being sent to my son in Minnesota. My daughter-in-law later called raving about the knives that were delivered earlier than projected. She says these are the best knives she has owned... they are attractive and very sharp.
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CUMom
,Libertyville
,IL
August 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite knives
August 27, 2012
I recently gave this set as a gift to my college-age Colorado daughter. She has become a skilled cook and needed a GOOD set of knives. She loves them! I think this is the perfect set for us (I have had the same set for years) with just the right selection of pieces--not too many and not too few. I wouldn't change a thing. Perfect!
Pros: Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Monroe
,MI
August 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent starter collection!
August 8, 2012
I received this set as a wedding present and have absolutely loved using it! My husband and I love to cook, but we never took knives super seriously--always going a cheaper route and hating the results. I still remember the wonderful shock of the first time I used these knives, and I still love using them! People get really bent out of shape about spending large amounts of money on kitchen tools, but if there was one thing in the kitchen that I would 100% say spend the big bucks on, it's knives. There really is no comparison to the cheapie $50 sets you buy from other stores! Another fantastic thing about Williams Sonoma is their willingness to demonstrate anything. If you're unsure as to what the big deal is, go into the store and have them show you! They'll be more than willing and happy to pull out a set and allow you the opportunity of experiencing the knives before you commit to them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bbosw
,ORANGE BEACH
,al
Orange Beach, AL
August 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite
August 2, 2012
This was a gift for my cousin, who, like me, is a knife nut. I have collictions of most of the "high dollar" knives and these are my favorite! I love their heft ,feel and ability to not only stay sharp, but to resharpen with a few strokes on the steel. I have a set of the most expensive Wusthof knives and I reach for these every time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, beautiful
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coppercook
Baltimore, MD
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Basic Set
April 8, 2011
This is the set that was recommended to me when I first started to cook many years ago and is still the basic set in my kitchen many years later. It is a perfect balance of quality and price, not to mention durability. Great product! There are certainly sharper and more beautiful knives out there, but they come at a much higher price. If I were starting again, I would happily choose this knife set.
Pros: Durable, Balance, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YouShouldKnow
Buford
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How to treat knives
February 19, 2011
I have added knives to my set through the years.
The steal is softer so you need to use the sharping steel (aligning) every time you use your knives this keeps the edge straight it does not sharpen but will keep it sharper for a long time. If you don't know how to use a steel go to the store & they will show you how.
Always cut on wood or poly boards they must have a groove after you cut on them to keep the knife in good condition. No dishwasher it will dull & eat away at the finish of the knives & knock them around & ding them.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VanZan
Manchester, TN
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wushof Classic Knife Set
January 31, 2011
My wife and I received the Wushof Classic Knife set as a gift for our birthdays and am extremely pleased with the product. The quality of the blade and handle make their use effortless.
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zekezoe
Maine
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Knives
January 12, 2011
I bought a vegetable knife in the Wusthof brand several years ago for chopping garden vegetable's for canning and have wanted to add the rest of the set for some time. I received them for Christmas this year and absolutely love them, they are very sharp and can cut through anything you could ever want to cut or slice. Everyone who spends time in the kitchen and loves cooking should have a set of these knives.
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bleusolaire
Houston, TX
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great starter set
January 1, 2011
I received this set as a gift 10 years ago. They are still great even though I'm not good at taking care of them. I recently had the entire set professionally sharpen. I love this knife set.
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
demotedtohousewife
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great shears
December 11, 2010
These were my first "real" knives. Very expensive, so quality and endurance expected. The kitchen shears are still wonderful, but the knives became very dull and now have to be sharpened every use! Never put in the dishwasher and honed regularly, but now a very diappointing product.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lovequality
Spokane
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quality, duration
December 1, 2010
I have bought a lot of good knives in my life time. It isn't about maintaining its sharpness, they can always be sharpened. I have cheep knives that stay sharp.
The question is will it hold up to any abuse you give them. Will the handles stay together. I was looking for a knife set that would hold up to my laziness of just putting them in the dishwasher. They have and are of good quality. I sharpen them every Christmas. They are great for most of my needs.
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
seattle, wa
November 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
high quality set of knives
November 11, 2010
I bought this set 3 years ago as my first set of real cutlery (and one of my first quality kitchenware purchases). I can't believe the difference quality knives make. I truly cook so much faster than I did before. They were a stretch on my budget at the time, but I am so glad I bought them!
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nassic
Louisville
November 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-11points
2of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you know how to use them..
November 10, 2010
If you actually know how to use and take care of a knife, these are of excellent construction. Note that knives will not just stay sharp forever on their own. Don't chop through bones, always use a cutting board, hand wash after every use, and hone the knife before every use.
Also, if you don't know how to use a knife, go ahead and get something more entry-level. Having good knives does not make you a chef.
Review 15 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aljacobs
Tampa Bay, FL
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
7of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Quality is maintained by care
November 8, 2010
There is no such thing as a knife that stays sharp indefinitely. More knives are ruined by those who know little about sharpening and really should limit their talents to a set of those TV Ronco products.
1- Hand wash only using soap , water, rinse, dry, put away in a block.
2- Sharpening is best done by stones.,
3- A steel hones the blade and aligns it getting rid of the distorted edge, it does not sharpen the blade.
4- The best cutting blocks are wood seasoned and cleaned with vinegar and mineral oil.
5- A properly honed Wustof will cut well for days. The copy cats made from cheap China steel blanks last a few hours.
The pleasure of using a good knife is production achieved and pride of ownership. I will admit however RONCO's do cut hammers better. I never served hammer, and wonder if you select a good red or white wine with hammer.
Review 16 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JTP59
Eugene, Oregon
November 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best knives ever
November 2, 2010
I've had my knife set for over 30 years, they are still in great shape, I sharpen when I think about it, and am going to give sets to my now-grown kids for Christmas...what is everyone out there doing to have such poor cutting experiences?!
Review 17 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LikesToEat
October 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still Sharp
October 21, 2010
I purchased this set 2 years ago and they are still sharp. I hand wash and dry them after use and use the honing steel when I remember (average a couple times a week). I have not needed to get them resharpened yet. Perhaps these other reviewers are cutting on granite countertops instead of cutting boards or they are trying to saw the head off a hammer like they have seen on infomercials for other knives. If you take care of the knives, they will continue to work well.
Review 18 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jdbc2155
southwick ma.
October 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
1of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not a great cut
October 11, 2010
paid good money for a set of knifes that i thought would last a life time but they really lost there sharpness fast really upset that i have to buy a new set soon probably wont be wustof
Review 19 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MindyLou
Seattle
October 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
1of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
dull, dull, dull
October 2, 2010
I was SO excited to buy my first set of "big girl knives". These were a stretch to fit my modest budget but seemed like a good purchase. I like the weight and balance of them and they seem durable but don't cut well whatsoever, even after I paid for sharpening. I'm disappointed.
Review 20 for Wusthof Classic 7-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DCavernham
Lexington, KY
August 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Superb
August 1, 2010
This is an amazing starter set! It has all your essentials, and you can customize your collection as it grows, without collecting any unused knives. Thus far, the only additions I have made to mine, is a tomato knife, carving set, and steak knives. I could immediately tell a difference from my old no-name knives. Slicing through thick breads with the bread knife became so much easier! These knives have truly made cooking much more enjoyable!
page1 2 next