Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife

Wusthof's serrated tomato knife slices easily through tomato skins and works equally well for cutting citrus fruits and cheeses. Made according to the highest standards of German craftsmanship, the hand-honed blade is triple riveted to the high-impact handle.Knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion.Serrated blade effortlessly cuts through tough skins and rinds and features a two-pronged tip for lifting slices of food.Full tang is triple riveted to the handle for exceptional durability and control.Polypropylene handle is contoured for a comfortable grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cdp9
,Garden City
,NY
July 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
new favorite
July 21, 2013
This is my husbands new favorite knife. Of course it does a great job on tomatoes, but also on other veggies. Excellent utility knife (even for a lefty)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Alohadude
,Honolulu
,HI
June 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not quite perfect for tomatoes
June 4, 2013
Is actually fine if you don't peel. I always peel tomatoes before slicing, and the serrated edge isn't good for peeling (Wusthof paring knife peels perfectly).
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PatsyP
,Amelia Island
,FL
April 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Summertime Must Have
April 9, 2013
With spring and summer quickly approaching, everyone needs on of these tomato knives. It is so sharp and perfectly cuts the tomato every time. Of course, with it being Wusthof, the quality is outstanding as expected. It completes my knife set and block. I use it daily and what a great price.!!!!!.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Redbud
,Austin
,TX
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So happy to complete my set with this
August 28, 2012
I have been eyeing this knife since I bought my first set of Wusthof classic knives in 2001.
This knife does not disappoint, it slices effortlessly through tomatoes and whatever else you want just as expected from a Wusthof.
A little bit lighter than I expected though. I can see that when the blade dulls I will need to have it sharpened immediately. Whereas my other Wustohf knives due to the weight may just need a little bit more force when cutting before having to sharpen. I wonder if they changed the composition?
Regardless, well worth it! I love it! And, it finishes my block.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness
Cons: Weight
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeterBJr
,Mandeville
,LA
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wusthof Tomato Knife
June 21, 2012
Great knife. Slice, spear tomato slices with forked tip. Sharp as a razor. Don't know how I lived without this knife...... Every home should have this knife for tomato season and beyond.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
uniqueurbane
,Los Angeles
,CA
June 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect knife
June 19, 2012
This knife does exactly what it's advertised to do: cut tomatoes. It never fails; it cuts overripe tomatoes, under ripe tomatoes, just right tomatoes. It slices thin, it slices thick, with no bruising or mashing of the cut. It dices tomatoes, the forked tip is perfect for lifting slices. What it isn't advertised to do is to be a cheese serving knife. It does that too, as well as any other cheese serving knife I've used. This is a replacement for one that I lost. I hope the person who found the original is enjoying it-I don't blame you for not turning it in. All's good...the knife block is complete.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cwirla
Hacienda Heights, CA
August 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
August 4, 2011
I purchased this knife about two summers ago, it is really great for slicing tomatoes. I would highly recommend it as a part of the tool kit of every kitchen.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BKcook
Brooklyn, NY
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect knife
May 20, 2011
I use this for cutting soft fruits like tomatoes, plums, mangos. It's super sharp and works wonders!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Sharpness
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dsb623
Kauai, Hawaii
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If I only had two knives...
January 2, 2010
...one would be the Wusthof classic tomato knife. It is the most versatile of all my knives, and I reach for it about as much as my chef's knife. In addition to being an outstanding tomato knife, it is great for slicing semi-hard cheeses and a multitude of small tasks. I have used this knife for a few years now, and it still looks and performs like it is brand new. I love this knife!
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stovetop
Wheaton, IL
December 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for hard to cut foods
December 10, 2009
The Wusthof Tomato Knife is one of my favorite knives. It makes an easy job of cutting soft foods like tomatoes and hard foods like cheese. I would not be without it and have purchased it for gifts for friends and family. I highly recommend this knife to be part of your collection. Love it!!
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crs01
CT
November 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic Tomato Knife
November 12, 2009
I purchased this knife to add to the Wusthof Classic 8-pc. set that I purchased at the same time. A tomato knife is a wonderful tool to have because it can be used to cut many different foods. The sharpness of the serrated blade allows for cutting very thin slices. This knife is very sharp, and the serrated blade makes it cut even deeper and more quickly. I have owned a tomato knife for many years and am happy to replace the original with one that matches my new Wusthof set.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
michele37
Corona, Ca
July 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
July 23, 2009
I've wanted this knife for awhile now and finally bought it a few weeks ago. I'm so glad I did. It is everything they claim it is. I use it almost everyday to cut up certain fruits and veggies. The edge is so sharp, the tomato slices come out perfect every time.
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JB246
Richmond Hill, GA
April 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite General Knife
April 21, 2009
I bought this knife a few months ago and I really love it. It slices through cheeses with ease, without the tugging feeling that I get trying to slice through cheese with some of my other knives. I can slice almost paper-thin slices of tomatoes and cucumbers, if I wish. My only problem with it is that I have to be extra careful to keep my fingers out of the way, because it slices so quickly and easily. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a really versatile knife.
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic 5" Tomato Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jujub
Woodstock, Ga
September 7, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great slicing knife
September 7, 2008
This knife may be called a Tomato knife but it is so much more. I have used it to slice onions, anything with hard rind & cheese. It is a great addition to my collection