Wusthof Classic 20-Piece Knife Block Set

Comprising a complete assortment of cutlery for the home cook, this set of German knives handles the full range of cutting tasks. Wusthof Classic knives feature durable full-tang construction and hand-honed high-carbon-steel blades. The riveted handles are made of high-impact polypropylene. Each knife is precision forged from a single piece of sturdy high-carbon steel that resists stains and corrosion. Wusthof's Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) gives each straight-edged knife an extraordinarily sharp blade that retains its edge 30% longer. Full tangs are triple riveted to the handles for exceptional durability and control. Durable polymer handles are contoured for a comfortable grip. Handsome hardwood block safely stores 22 items and is gentle on knives' edges. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. 20-Piece Set includes: 3 1/2" paring knife. 5" boning knife. 6" sandwich knife. 6" cleaver. 6" and 8" chef's knives. 7" hollow-ground santoku. 8" bread knife. 9" hollow-ground carving knife. Eight 4 1/2" steak knives. 10" honing steel. Pull-apart shears. 22-slot storage block. Please note: Storage block is counted as an individual piece.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wusthof Classic 20-Piece Knife Block Set
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic 20-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kruss
,Underhill
,VT
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great set but steak knife broken in half
August 16, 2013
We've had this knife set for 9 years. We love the knives and they stay sharp for a long time. My only disappointment has been that I dropped one of the steak knives on the floor while I was setting the table one night and the blade broken in half. It's frustrating to have an expensive set like this with a missing steak knife. The other complaint would be that they need to be hand washed. They rust if you clean them in the dish washer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic 20-Piece Knife Block Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jascar
,South windsor
,CT
November 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
knives good but handles are falling apart
November 6, 2011
I researched the Wusthof product and with the cost thought it was 'top of the line'. I purchased this 20 piece set about 3 years ago and paid big money. I use the chef knives daily and the steak knives weekly. The handles are showing fracture lines and are falling apart. The block is falling apart. I have never placed the knives in the dishwasher and always clean the knives by hand. Because the blades sharpen easily is the only reason I gave them a 2 star. Would throw them out, but paid too much money for them. I'm really disappointed and will never buy a Wusthof product again.
Pros: Balance, Sharpness
Cons: handles crack and fall apart
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Posted September 21, 2012
Go with Cutco next time :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic 20-Piece Knife Block Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mills27
Oregon
August 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
13of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is an OK product
August 5, 2011
I spent way too much on these knives. My block is falling apart and frankly the knives need a professional sharpening it seems like every 6 months. I scrapped my set and bought a Cutco set, which I am EXTREMELY pleased with. That set was worth the money and it has a guarantee no other company can match. At the end of the day Wusthof makes good knives but not good enough for what they charge, my Cutco knives are fantastic and they were actually cheaper because of their factory direct pricing!
Pros: Balance, Easy to Store
Cons: Sharpness, Dull, High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic 20-Piece Knife Block Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shannon4
April 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great knives, fair block
April 10, 2011
love the knives, but the block is coming apart at seams. williams sonoma recommended calling wusthof. wusthof wont replace it! and its just a year old.
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic 20-Piece Knife Block Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enitan
Bethesda, MD
December 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An investment you won't regret
December 12, 2010
These are the most expensive set of knives I've ever purchased and I expect it to be the last. The prior set which were supposedly stainless steel started rusting shortly after I started using them, and were not sharp enough. Rather than waste money I consulted with a William Sonoma expert before purchasing a wusthoff chef's knife and fell in love with this product. Decided to save up to buy the 20 piece set, which has every peice I need. Used to have trouble cutting through freshly baked bread, but the Wusthof bread knife cuts through my loaf like butter. My bread doesn't collapse anymore and it is just beautiful! With my sharpener in place, I don't expect to need or buy another set for many years to come.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
WUSTOFLOVERR
LONG ISLAND, NY
Posted December 13, 2013
DONT USE WASHING MACHINE
MAKE SURE YOU HANDWASH YOUR WUSTOF KNIVES AND THEY WILL LAST FOREVER. PUSCHASED THIS SET FOR MY WIFE AND GOT A FEW ADD ONS ITS A GREAT SET OF KNIVES AND IS SUPER SHARP. MY BLOCK IS DISPLAYED IN MY KITCHEN AND HAVENT HAD ANY PROBLEMS AND ITS BEEN FEW YRS NOW. DONT KNOW WHAT THESE OTHERS ARE TKING ABOUT THE BLOCK CRACKING N HANDLES BREAKING....MUST BE SMALL KITCHENW ITH ALOT OF HUMITY..THESE KNIVES ARE GREAT!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)