Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.

We developed our new Thermo-Clad(TM) cookware drawing on over five decades of culinary experience, designing every element to provide years of great results in your kitchen. Available only at Williams-Sonoma, Thermo-Clad(TM) is crafted in Italy to our precise specifications using an exclusive aluminum alloy that provides up to 35% better thermal conductivity than other aluminum-clad metal cookware on the market. We've combined the best qualities of a French skillet and a deep saute to create a versatile piece you'll use every day. Designed and developed by Williams-Sonoma, and exclusively ours. Ideal for everything from stir-frying and sauteing to simmering and braising. Thermo-Clad(TM) technology ensures efficient, uniform heating with precise temperature control and no hot spots. Combines a polished magnetic stainless-steel exterior with an exclusive aluminum-alloy core. Nonreactive 18/10 stainless-steel cooking surface resists sticking. Ergonomic handles provide a comfortable grip and maximum control. Double-wall insulated stay-cool lid keeps food warm. Ideal for all types of cooktops, including induction. Dishwasher safe. 5-qt. cap.; 11 1/2" diam.; 3 1/2" high; 5 lb. 11 oz. Handcrafted in Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KimiKB
,San Francisco
,CA
August 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Nice & Beautiful too!
August 25, 2014
I gave this 5 stars because it's beautiful, functional, not too heavy and efficient. I got this one in place of the All Clad 5 because I have two of them, but they're not great in the easy clean dept. This one is a lot easier to clean... not as easy as a non stick teflon pan, but it cleans up pretty well. I'd say the WS Thermo clad gives All clad a pretty stiff competition and the heating is so efficient you have to remember to keep the heat to a medium low or you'll burn stuff. I recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichaelTee
,CA
August 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Kitchen Favorite!
August 5, 2014
Ever since I purchased this pan it's been used everyday! I love my essential pan, it truly is an essential. It can be used as a sauté pan & a wok because of its high sides and round shape. The large capacity is great for cooking for big crowds & the heat distribution gives great color to the food and cooks it evenly.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AbbyRoad
,MA
July 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not appropriate for glass-topped stoves
July 22, 2014
I wanted to love this pan, but had to return it because it scratched my glass-topped stove. That's because the informatiional "etching" on the exterior bottom of the pan (designating the size of the pan) is raised sharply rather than flat on the pan like the All-Clad pan etchings. As a result, no matter how careful you are, the W-S pan may leave scratch-marks on a glass stove-top. What a shame!
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leg01
,Columbia
,TN
June 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great first pan
June 26, 2014
This pan was recommended to us by the WS salesperson.
We do a lot of our cooking with this pan, it is very versatile and suits our needs well.
A well designed pan with an insulated lid, and as a side benefit it looks great in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nann727
,Dunedin
,FL
June 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pan!
June 17, 2014
Perfect size! Great quality ! Affordable !
I use this pan all the time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skeet
,Central Valley
,CA
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing cookware
December 27, 2013
I received this a week ago as a gift and have used it everyday. A pork roast - like the one pictured was fabulous.
The seafood pasta was so easy to put together. The heating is even and the size is perfect for just about anything from roasts to fried rice. It can even go into the oven! Clean up is easy with the Bar Keepers Friend cleanser. It looks too beautiful to put away, so I don't. It sits on the cooktop - ready for the next meal.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Signgrl
November 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pan!
November 16, 2013
Wonderful size, deep enough for larger amounts yet still a significant flat area for browning. Heats up quickly and evenly, no sticking at all! So far I'm very impressed with the new WS cookware.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChoppyChoppy
,Greensboro
,NC
Oak Island, NC
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent addition to my Kitchen
September 22, 2013
I love to purchase the specialty pans from W-S. Several years ago, I purchased the D5 All-Clad 4 qt w lid multipan. Love it and use it all the time. The new 5 qt Essentials pan is the perfect way to try out W-S new line of Italian made cookware.
So, I love it. The high sides corral the splatter. Excellent heat distribution (gas) and the lid is a nice design. The top remains cool and the inside allows moisture to collect and drip back into what you are cooking.
Handles are correct for my tastes.
I own many types of cookware. Cast iron, debuyer steel mineral pans, all-clad, throw away omelet pans (if I scratch em, I toss em), copper, etc. I think this pan is great. It also show cased the new line from W-S. I am very impressed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! Excellent quality
August 25, 2013
This pan blows me away! The quality is amazing! I think is heats up quicker than my All Clad, there I said it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CloudyGirl
,Seattle
,WA
April 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High side walls reduce splatter and messes!
April 24, 2013
This pan is the best pan in my kitchen! I absolutely love that it holds a full 5 qts. The high sides make it so much nicer to brown chicken and other meats. I had some delicious chicken that I seared in a small amount of oil over medium heat and then finished it off in the oven. Just remember to pre-heat the pan first, add the oil, and then the chicken. Deglazing the pan was a snap and everyone loved it. I especially appreciated the easy clean up - no splatter on my stove top and the extra handle balances the weight nicely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Thermo-Clad(TM) Stainless-Steel Essential Pan, 5-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarcoAndres1
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
17of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Destined to be our go-to pan - a value item
March 28, 2013
Bought this after considering the competition competitors. The double-insulated top remains cool to the touch even after extended use. This well designed pan outranks the competition.
We used it to
- sauté bananas for a pound cake
- chicken cacciatore
- fry eggs/sausages
- make hamburgers
- sauté beef and shrimps
This pan is extremely versatile and a very good value, made in Italy and designed by Williams-Sonoma. Makes us consider buying other pieces in the same high-quality line. It took a long time to decide to launch this product line, but well worth the wait. Items at this price and quality should be flying off the shelves.
Remember to use a medium heat (the pan heats up beautifully unless you need to boil water or reduce). Cleanup is a breeze, Wait until the pan is cool, soak in lukewarm soapy water, use a plastic brush for scrubbing, rinse, and then wipe dry with a dish towel to keep the sparkle and use a stainless-steel powdered cleaner to keep the shine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, heat-insulated top, helper handle is spot-on
Cons: top is heavy but balanced by prod