Pizza Peel

Crafted from blond alder, this wide flat "shovel" is the traditional Italian tool for sliding pizzas onto and off of the baking stone in an extremely hot oven. Crafted from blond laminated alder wood. This wide flat "shovel" is the traditional Italian tool used when cooking pizzas on a baking stone. Its tapered front edge slips smoothly under a pizza or loaf of bread. Its reduced size is perfect for home ovens. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
23 of 30(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pizza Peel
Review 1 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kcap25
October 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Pizza Peel
October 26, 2012
My husband and I swear by this every time we make pizza =)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 2 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EricLouisville
,Louisville
,co
October 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is what you want
October 5, 2011
I got this when i got my stone. Yea i read the critical reviews but perhaps they don't know how to care for a product like this. I cured my peel w/ mineral oils as i do my cutting boards. It works great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 3 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakingbride
Chicago, IL
May 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Changed my life
May 14, 2011
I registered for this pizza peel along with the pizza stone, and it has changed my life. Would never go back to making pizza in a nonstick pan ever again. The pizza peel is great because, with a sprinkle of cornmeal, it allows the dough to slide off and onto the stone easily (albeit, with a little bit of coordination). The peel is even more awesome because you can use it as a serving piece at the table. Just remove pizza from oven, use a pizza cutter right on the peel, and then bring it to the table for a rustic presentation. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Pizza Peel
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
new jersey
May 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
bring back the old design
May 8, 2011
those who have never used a pizza peel before may be happy to finally have a way to slide the pizza onto the hot stone in the oven...but, if you have previously used the original design WS used to sell, then you will know the difference and be disappointed. A truly good pizza peel gradually gets thinner , until the end is almost like a thin wood spatula....very helpful for sliding the pizza off but even more helpful for taking the pizza out. I bought my original peel at WS maybe 12 years ago,,,, we make a lot, and I mean a lot of pizza, it is a staple at our house and when we entertain..Ours finally cracked and I'm looking for a new one.. Won't be buying this one unfortunately.
Review 5 for Pizza Peel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JuliaWanabee
Mesa, AZ
April 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza peel didn't appeal
April 27, 2011
Used this pizza peel once prior to returning it. The wood appeared to be rather flimsy, considering the price. With a heavy flouring with cornmeal, the pizza slid onto the pizza stone ok in spite of the fact that the end isn't tapered much. However, when I wiped the board down with a wet sponge to remove the remaining dough, it promptly warped! The pizza peel came with no use or care instructions, whatsoever, so I oiled the board with mineral oil and weighted it down overnight with the pizza stone and a cast iron dutch oven. It flattened the board somewhat, but it looked like it might split upon the next few uses and I noticed a splinter on the handle that never got wet or had any particular wear from use! Disappointed in W-S for selling something of this quality, but their customer service and other products I have purchased probably will have me coming back (tho more warily).
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Fragile
Review 6 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
triplesss
San Angelo, TX
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Peel For Artisan Bread Baking
April 6, 2011
This is a perfect tool for use in making Artisan breads. Place the loaf on the peel to rise (covered with desired coating: flour, corn meal, etc.) and slide directly onto baking stone in the oven. I haven't used it for pizza yet but I am confident it will be just as easy. I prefer the wood peel rather than the metal one; I think it releases better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Design
Review 7 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
breadmaker65
East Coast
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bread/Pizza Peel
January 25, 2011
Haven't used it for pizza, but it's a great aid in putting my bread on and off my baking stone. Never used one before, so I'm learning -- I like it.
Review 8 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barb204
Milford Michigan
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for rustic bread-making!
January 20, 2011
Recently purchased this beautiful pizza peel, using it to proof bread before I slide it into the oven. I love it!
Review 9 for Pizza Peel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Grannybreadbaker
Philadelphia, PA
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gift that can't even start giving!
January 6, 2011
I just received this as a gift and this is the worst design I have ever seen. It is suppose to be a PEEL and it can't even get under a loaf of Pumpernickel bread to remove it from the GREAT Pizza Stone you sell. This item is beneath the William Sonoma quality I have been used to over the years.
 
My Recommendations
 
 
Review 10 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SaturdayCook
Parker, TX
November 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have!
November 11, 2010
If you plan to make multiple pizzas on the pizza stone, this is a must have. It's the only way to get your pizza in & out of the oven and onto a cutting board so you can make the next pizza. Even if you are only making one pizza, if you leave your pizza on the stone, it will continue to cook which you don't want. This is big enough to easily accomodate a full size pizza. I make my pizza right on this & slide it into the oven. Just use about a tablespoon of corn meal so it slides on & off easily.
Review 11 for Pizza Peel
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PizzaGuy
Huntington Beach, CA
September 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They changed the design
September 24, 2010
This used to be the best wooden peel available, but they changed the design in recent years and it's no longer as good. It used to have a very gradually tapered edge that got really thin at the end. Now it's thicker and - just at the very end of the peel - has a very abrupt beveled edge. That change moves it from the "professional quality equipment" category to the "gimmicky home gadget of questionable utility" category in my opinion. Your pizza is going to have a rough ride sliding off that steep edge onto the pizza stone. WS, please have the company that makes these go back to the old design.
Review 12 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
corralitosgirl
Santa Cruz, CA
August 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fun to use
August 6, 2010
I loved the peel. It was fun and made us feel so professional in our cooking. Only down side is WHERE to store the large odd shaped tool
Review 13 for Pizza Peel
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meowcat
Central Maryland
June 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great size for home oven
June 23, 2010
I have always wanted one of these!
The handle length is just enough for a home oven, and the size is perfect for my All Clad oven pizza stone.
I'm afraid that it's going to crack, however, and I've only had it for about a week. Definitely going to try using mineral oil on it like a cutting board.
Review 14 for Pizza Peel
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Breadmaker
Brea
May 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warped after first use!
May 11, 2010
I drove all the way to the mall to get a top rated pizza peel at Williams-Sonoma. But after the first use, I washed it quickly and let it dry upright--being careful not to let it soak in any water. And next time I pulled it out it had already warped and curled.
No instructions were given to cure it or to do anything with it to prevent it from curling. For $35, I think this is a bit disappointing. Now I have to drive all the way to the mall, find a parking spot, and hopefully get this thing returned. Very disappointing!!!!
Review 15 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WandaS
Titusville, FL
May 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pizza Accessory
May 10, 2010
I followed the suggestion of one of the other reviewers and my husband coated it with Tung oil prior to use (two coats with drying in-between coats). After two coats of the Tung oil we let it dry for two weeks. The pizza dough slides right off onto the stone. It is really handy when making calzones. Once you use it, you can't imagine how you did without it.
Review 16 for Pizza Peel
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
larcher
Glen Carbon, IL
April 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overpriced pizza peel
April 27, 2010
I find the pizza peel too big, too thick, too unwieldy. The bread dough, which is fairly compact, would not slide off the peel, or even be pushed, in spite of lots of cornmeal on the peel. I can't imagine trying to move a round thin pizza crust off it. The front edge of the peel is not thin enough or slanted enough. I would prefer something more user friendly. I will keep using it for awhile and try to develop a technique that works with this implement.
Review 17 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Farmliving
WA. state
April 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pizza Peel
April 21, 2010
I looked at many Pizza Peel's . I decided on this one because of other good reviews and because Williams-Sonoma was selling it. It works just as advertised. My bread dough slides right off onto the baking stone - perfect - every time.
Review 18 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pick
January 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pleased
January 19, 2010
One of those kitchen items where you question whether you really need it or not, and then when you start using it you wonder how you got on before without it...
Review 19 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoctorCroissant
Toledo, OH
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
12of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent tool
January 2, 2010
This is the best bread/pizza peel available. I recommend sanding it to 220 grit, removing all dust, and then applying 100% pure Tung oil until saturated. Let it sit for an hour, then wipe dry. The important point is to let the Tung oil harden for A MONTH before using the peel and DO NOT CUT on it. The Tung oil finish will make the board a golden color, water proof, and scratch resistant, and will not need further treatment. Tung oil is edible and safe. You can use this technique on all wooden kitchen utensils.
Review 20 for Pizza Peel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fitmumma
toledo, ohio
November 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
don't bother making pizza without this
November 18, 2009
we tried to slide raw pizzas into oven without this and ended up with blobby calzone-y messes.
this thing does EXACTLY what it's supposed to ... i highly recommend this product.
page1 2 next