Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer

Take the guesswork out of grilling with our remote thermometer, which has pre-programmed settings for seven types of meat (or customize your own). Carry it with you as you mingle with guests - an alarm lets you know when your food is ready. Portable thermometer lets you monitor roasting meats and poultry from up to 150 feet away. Rugged thermometer cable easily stands up to the searing heat of the grill, withstanding temperatures as high as 475deg.F (245deg.C). Beeper alerts you when food is ready or cooking time has elapsed. Just enter the type of meat and your desired degree of doneness, then insert the probe into the meat's thickest part. Pre-programmed meat settings: Beef, Veal, Lamb, Pork, Chicken, Turkey and Hamburger. An additional setting lets you customize cooking time and temperature level to your own recipe. Pre-set doneness levels include: Rare, Medium Rare, Medium and Well Done. All meet USDA guidelines for food safety. In addition to monitoring temperatures, the tool can serve as a countdown or count-up timer, paging you when your pre-set cooking time is up. Re-sync feature automatically resumes all settings if transmitter is accidentally disconnected. All-weather transmitter is both water- and shock-resistant. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.417 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
4 of 12(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
Review 1 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mobilebyrd
June 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Junk...save your money.
June 30, 2012
Save your money and buy the Maverick ET 732. Like nearly everyone else, my thermometer probe stopped working after I used it 6 or 7 times. While it was working I had to replace the batteries nearly every time I used the device. Also, the controls on the handheld portion are not intuitive. I ended up just manually setting the temperatures for each grilling session (5 degrees below the temp I wanted to allow for a resting period). This thing is a piece of junk...period.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Store, breaks quickly
Review 2 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AnnieZ
Lake Geneva, WI
April 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It worked for 1 use
April 8, 2012
I bought this for my husband for Valentines day and used it for Steaks that day. Pull it out to use on Easter Sunday - Does not work and the error code indicates it is the probe. I am not happy!! $60 for something to work 1 time!! I will be calling WS tomorrow for sure! I have read reviews that you cannot replace the probe - which seems like it would be a simple inexpensive fix.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 3 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
savannahman
,Savannah
,GA
Savannah, GA
December 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Great
December 4, 2011
I would advise the users that have submitted bad reviews to read the instructions. Mine works flawlessly with rib roasts, steaks, anything on the grill. I even inserted the probe into a turkey I was frying and submerged into 400F peanut oil for over 20 minutes with No problems. I noticed the Williams Sonoma webpage says it "will withstand temperatures as high as 475F". Mine states on the box it will withstand temperatures as high as 716F. Perhaps I have a new improved model. My grill sometimes reaches 600F.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy
Cons: none yet
Review 4 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
babp
,Atherton
,CA
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
3rd one that does not work
November 7, 2011
This is the 3rd WS grilling thermometer I've had. They all have worked about 3-4 times, then stop working. Great idea. Terrible product. Do not buy!!
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 5 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sandmann
,Beach Haven
,NJ
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked great until temp sensor broke
September 21, 2011
Purchased this unit about 4 months ago and had worked great as described. Unfortunately, the temperature sensor now appears to be malfunctioning. Without being able to replace the sensor (even thought it is removable), the whole unit is now worthless.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
savannahman
Savannah, GA
Posted December 4, 2011
Sensor probe is replaceable
Call the manufacturer of thios product. They will send replacement probe for $20
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brentt
,Champlin
,MN
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works pretty good
September 8, 2011
This thermometer works pretty well and I am glad I own it. The temperature settings are easy to use and adjust. I have used it both for the grill and the oven. It seems to read an accurate temperature, but it's not instant read and it only updates about once per minute. I also expected better and more reliable range. It beeps if it hasn't gotten a temperature update for about 5 minutes, which happens a lot when I go inside. A continuous light "on" indicator would have been a nice feature on the base transmitter unit.
Pros: Versatile
Review 7 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
difikent
Sarasota, FL
August 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
it's great as long as it works
August 19, 2011
We used our unit for cooking in both the oven and the grill for a few years. Unfortunately it seems to be somewhat disposable. the cable connecting it to the unit frayed right where it enters the base unit and so the readings began to fluctuate. there is no replacement for this cable/connector and no way to repair it. the base unit is fine so it is somewhat frustrating to have to replace the whole unit for a simple issue of poor design.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 8 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MFoo
Singapore
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spoilt within the day
July 12, 2011
This is a terrible product. It stopped working within an hour of us using it. The temperature indicated by the probe kept fluctuating wildly and just couldn't be used reliably. Even when the probe wasn't inserted into anything, it showed a temp of 214F!! What a disappointment.
Cons: faulty
Review 9 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pennvk
Allentown, PA
June 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Great Great!
June 24, 2011
This gadget is amazing! Our daughter & son-in-law gave to it to my husband on Father's Day. I was skeptical but it is amazing. We've only tried it for beef and lamb so far but both were cooked to perfection..especially when everybody wants theirs a different way. We're getting one for my sister's husband!
Pros: Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 10 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeorgiaPeach1
Chicago, IL
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grill Gadget
June 21, 2011
My father received this as a Father's Day gift. We were grilling a whole beef tenderloin; so he graciously offered his new grill gadget. We loved it !
Grilling a roast, turket etc..you are not suppose to lift the cover because it adds to the cooking time. We could see the tenderloins progress by the remote.
Tenderloins was done to perfection. Now all of us "kids" want one.
Review 11 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
floral
portland oregon
June 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wireless remote grilling thermometer
June 19, 2011
returning item. did not work as stated. would not recommend it
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inaccurate
Review 12 for Wireless Remote Grilling Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alhist
June 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not for grilling
June 17, 2011
despite the advertising, this thermometer is NOT for grilling. The probe cannot handle the heat.