Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook

This approachable guide offers a broad overview of wine that focuses on general styles - rather than the minutiae of specific varietals and regions - to help simplify wine-and-food pairings. Author Joshua Wesson, owner of the Best Cellars wine shop in Manhattan, divides wines by their characteristics (sparkling, crisp, soft and rich white wines; rose wines; three groups of red wine; and dessert wines) and profiles each type. More than 50 recipes are included. Hardcover, 176 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SFRTX
Fort Worth TX
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift for Wine Enthusiast
January 14, 2010
I purchased this product as a gift for my boss who is a weekend gourmet and wine enthusiast. He loved it!
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
megan1417
IL
January 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!
January 6, 2010
My fiancee's family knows everything there is to know about wine. I felt silly knowing absolutely nothing about it so I turned to this book...and it is so helpful! It really helps explain what makes the different types of wine unique, as i would have no idea! This book is great!
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarB
Stillwater, OK
September 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!
September 18, 2009
We got this as a wedding present and absolutely love it. There are great explanations for the different flavors of the wines, how the wines are made, and fabulous recipes to match with certain wines. It gives you both a new world and old world pairing. Highly recommend it especially if you don't know much about pairing but love wine!
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dhyanna
Washington DC
March 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift
March 7, 2009
I was looking for a perfect gift for a wine lover and this was it. The recipes are appealing for novice and gourmet; and the wine is a primer on new ways to look and cook with a variety of wines. I am thinking of buying this for myself as well.
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EllaD
Portland, OR
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Gift
February 5, 2009
I bought this book for my godmother for Christmas. She is an amazing cook and we share recipes all the time. She also enjoys wine but did not know as much about it in general or how to brilliantly pair wine with a certain meal, which is the purpose of this book. Within a week of receiving it she had prepared a fantastic lamb dish with a wine that complemented it perfectly. I was told that everyone raved about the meal and she has had fun since then trying new recipes and pairings since then.
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheBob
Minneapolis, MN
January 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I finally get it.
January 13, 2009
Ok, so the online video that accompanies this book makes me want to write to the guy and tell him how he totally explained why I like certain wines. I love green apples and he uses that example to guide people to certain wines. He tells us to forget the grapes and think of what we actually LIKE to eat. It makes sense. It also makes sense how I'm disappointed by chardonnay's when I really want something else and didn't know what to ask for. THANKS
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
HorseWhispererBeth
Ocala, Florida
Posted February 22, 2014
Yukk Chardonnay!
Oh this is so nice to hear about the Chardonnay. I have never cared for it, instead opting for a lighter, crisper taste of a Pinot Grigio or a Pinot Gris.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fiche
Plymouth, MN
October 1, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wine and food
October 1, 2008
Great guide for learning which wines to select to go with foods you prepare. This book has great combinations with great recipes. It lists several wines to choose from for each recipe.
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Wine & Food Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curlysuzieq
Sioux Falls, SD
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great gift
September 4, 2008
I purchased this as a bridal shower gift and the bride was very excited. I did peek at it and found a bunch of recipes, ideas, etc that I want to try! I wish I would have gotten a copy for myself!