Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey

Brining a turkey is a wonderful method for enhancing its juiciness and flavor, but home cooks are often intimidated by the time and space required. Our prebrined Willie Bird turkey offers a convenient alternative. Our brine recipe blends rosemary, thyme and sage with just the right amount of garlic and salt, so the turkeys roast up savory, succulent and not overly salty. The free-range turkeys are shipped in a vacuum-sealed bag directly from a family farm in California's Sonoma County, where the birds are raised on natural grains, free of antibiotics and hormones. Shipped fresh to arrive chilled. Quantities are limited; preorder yours today for automatic Thanksgiving or Christmas delivery (see Shipping tab for details). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
Review 1 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mendham
,NJ
December 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Willie Turkey
December 16, 2015
Best turkey I've ever had and my guest agreed! I'm definitely ordering one for Christmas and I never have a turkey on Christmas. My whole family request that I make it again well worth the price.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Review 2 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Evanston
,IL
December 14, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome for 1st time cooking thanksgiving!
December 14, 2015
I do not cook. Thus, when I was tasked with hosting Thanksgiving this year in my new home, I wanted to make it as easy as possible. This bird delivered and more. It came on Tuesday night, I followed the instructions, which were simple (i.e., bring to room temp before putting in oven) and it came out flawless. I not only met my standard for success (i.e., no one got sick), but exceeded it, as everyone commented on how great the turkey tasted. That taste also lasted for days later as we ate the leftovers. I cannot recommend this product more. If you are looking to make the turkey making process as easy as possible (whether a beginner or seasoned pro) this is the way to go.
Review 3 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Las Vegas
,Nv
December 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Willie Bird Turkey
December 13, 2015
I have been making turkeys for 42 years but this was the worst turkey ever & I am extremely sorry I purchased it. It went straight in the trash & Thanksgiving was ruined. This turkey was tough and I cooked it properly, and the gravy was pink, PINK!!! I cooked it correctly so it was not my fault. It will be a long if ever before I purchase food from you again as well as anything else. Also, I used the friends & family discount but was told it would not apply because I used the free shipping code which I did not. I used my William Sonoma credit which automatically gives me free shipping. Nothing about this transaction went right & I am extremely angry!!!
Cons: Disappointing
Review 4 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Champaign
,IL
Illinois
December 10, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It doesn't get any better than this!
December 10, 2015
I have been ordering these Willie Bird pre-brined turkeys for several years now. At first I was hesitant, given the cost. "Is there anything that can justify paying this kind of money for a turkey?" I wondered. As it turns out, the answer is yes. Everyone in my family raves about how delicious and moist it is. I like to think that I did a good job with "regular" turkeys prior to this, but I have to admit, the brining makes a huge difference. The meat has been moist and flavorful each and every time I've roasted these birds, so I would have to say they are well worth the cost.
Review 5 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,kansas city
,ks
December 7, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was great!
December 7, 2015
The turkey came on time. So easy to have delivered! We cooked it in a bag and it was really moist and flavorful. Worth the extra money for those of us who rarely make turkey.
Review 6 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
December 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed: Ripped skin
December 5, 2015
This turkey arrived nicely packed. When I lifted the bird out of the box, I immediately noticed that half of the breast skin had been ripped off the bird. I'm surprised that anyone would ship a bird at this price with ripped skin. I was able to piece the skin back on and cook it without it drying out, but don't feel that I should had to do that and the bird wasn't as pretty as what we are used to having for Thanksgiving. I would never have purchased this turkey in a store. Disappointed.
Pros: Amount
Cons: Disappointing, Difficult to Prepare, ripped skin
Review 7 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Mill Valley
,CA
December 1, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This brine is not for everyone!
December 1, 2015
I was so excited by the thought of not having to brine my own turkey this year. Unfortunately, the flavor of the brine used completely overpowered the flavor of the turkey. Most dinner guests left the turkey on their plates after one bite. I've never had so much leftover turkey before. We ended up throwing it away, because no one wanted the leftovers. Couldn't even make a stock with the bones due to the odd flavors. Maybe ours was a one off bird, but I would not buy this again.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 8 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Marietta
,GA
November 30, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never again
November 30, 2015
I had doubts about buying a bird in that cost this much, but decided that I had always been happy with my purchases, so gave it a try. We followed the directions to the letter and basted every 30-45 min. The bird looked gorgeous. But the flavour was horrible. I have brined turkeys all the time. But this one was so salty we couldn't eat it, to the point we threw it away. It even ruined the gravey. So I was afraid to try to salvage it to do soup, etc. I honestly was so surprised, even the meat that was way down was just as salty. I can't describe it other than to say there was so much salt it kind of burned out tongues. You couldn't taste the other flavours from a he brine and certainly didn't taste turkey. We would never do this again. The cheeses and salami were delicious.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, too salty. yuck
Review 9 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Overland Park
,KS
November 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Turkey!
November 27, 2015
Everyone at our Thanksgiving dinner raved about this turkey. Truly the best we have ever had!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Authentic
Review 10 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Scotts Valley
,CA
November 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most delicious bird I have ever eaten
November 29, 2014
I was worried about how this turkey would turn out. BUT it turns out to be be the best bird ever! Unfortunately there was not enough left-overs so next time I will get a bigger bird. Will certainly order again.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 11 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Idaho Falls
,ID
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Turkey we have had
November 28, 2014
The cost of the turkey almost turned me away, but after roasting the turkey for our family thanksgiving dinner, we all agreed that it was the best turkey we have ever had. It was perfectly seasoned, and pre-brined. I ordered the 24 lbs turkey and there was plenty for my whole family. I will be ordering a turkey every Thanksgiving for now on with how well liked it was. They had the turkey over night delivered so I didn't worry that it wouldn't arrive and destroy the holiday.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 12 for Willie Bird Fresh Pre-Brined Turkey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's ... okay
November 28, 2014
I purchased a small pre brined Willie Bird since I was doing Thanksgiving solo. I followed the preparation/cooking directions exactly with no problem. I decided not to baste while cooking. The bird looked beautiful. As for the seasoning ... I thought it was just okay, a touch overly salty. I would probably get a Willie Bird again, but not the pre-brined one so I could season to my taste.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality
Cons: Cost