This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey

The showpiece of many a seasonal celebration, these turkeys have earned nationwide renown for their juicy, flavorful meat. They're shipped to you directly from the famous Willie Bird Ranch in Sonoma County, California. The free-range turkeys are raised on organic grains and are certified by Oregon Tilth to be free of artificial pesticides and chemicals. Available in seven sizes: approx. 10-12 lb. (serves 7-9), approx. 12-14 lb. (serves 9-11), approx. 14 lb.-16 lb. (serves approx. 11-13), approx. 16-18 lb. (serves approx. 13-14), approx. 18-20 lb. (serves approx. 14-16), approx. 20-22 lb. (serves approx. 16-18) and approx. 24-26 lb. (serves 19-21). Quantities are limited. Shipped fresh to arrive chilled and will keep for 7 days refrigerated. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.271 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(170 Reviews) 170
136 of 170(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
Review 1 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grabur
,Somers
,NY
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The best turkey ever!
December 10, 2013
I received a Willie Bird turkey for Thanksgiving and this organic turkey was the best that I ever had. I was skeptical that there would be an appreciable difference in quality or taste from other fresh turkeys that I have had in the past, but this turkey was absolutely delicious! The packaging was neat, the bird cold and delivered right on time for Thanksgiving meal preparations. I highly recommend this great product.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorism
,Flint
,MI
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
OMG! Becky!!
November 29, 2013
The turkey arrived on time,and a customer service woman called me and ask me did I receive my turkey! Yes I said. the turkey came fresh, I left it in the ref ridge 2 days, and wash, took innards out, pat dry, spread my butter, herb seasonings and stuff with onion, and celery, bake on 400 for 30+ or to the brownness that I liked. I turned the temp down to 325 for 2+ hours, let it rest for 1 hour, and when we carve and I took my first bite...OMG it was the best turkey I've ever taste! the flavors burst into my mouth and it was juicy and tender. I would definitely get another one next year
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Willieturkey2013
November 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Wille Bird Turkey
November 26, 2013
My "fresh" willie bird turkey arrived for thanksgiving completely frozen rock solid!!! The worst part is that it arrived frozen 2 days before thanksgiving, so there was not enough time to properly defrost the "fresh" turkey. Very disappointed! The description indicates the turkey is shipped partially frozen to arrive chilled. This is not true. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IS YOU WANT A FRESH TURKEY!!!
Cons: Disappointing
Review 4 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bridgie
,Kankakee
,IL
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Worst turkey I ever ate
December 31, 2012
This is the third year we ordered a Willie Bird for Thanksgiving. The first year, we were extremely pleased with how flavorful the turkey was, and so we ordered the Willie Bird Organic Free-Range in 2011. We were again pleased, and ordered the same in 2012. Alas, this last bird must have spent its entire life doing pushups and running marathons. Even the breast meat was sinewy and nearly inedible. Were that the first turkey I ever ate, it would be my last. I cannot tell you how disappointed I was. I do not intend to order this again. I have been cooking turkeys for over 40 years, and am not an inexperienced cook, nor did I do anything strange in the preparation. It was just one terrible, terrible turkey.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, like chewing rubberbands
Review 5 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefMommaS
,Silver Spring
,MD
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
When Only the Best Will Do
November 24, 2012
I bought the 24 lb size Willie Bird organic, free range turkey. It arrived on the day promised and in absolutely perfect condition. It needed little if any cleaning. I brined the bird over night in the Williams Sonoma brine and stuffed it with sausage and cornbread stuffing. I used butter and white wine for basting. This was without question the best turkey I have ever had and I've been at this for over 30 years. Thank you for helping to make this Thanksgiving so extraordinary.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hurljan
,Cheney
,wa
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Best turkey EVER!!!!
December 17, 2011
I am NOT a young person... I have cooked M A N Y birds.... this year it was just my husband and my kids... and we purchased this bird OMG!!! It was the very best!!! A M A Z I N G appearance, texture and the taste was terrific. I purchased a smaller bird than I usually do and it was WAY WAY WAY much more meat than others weighing 8lbs more. I was soooooo satisfied and happy... only wish was that I had invited the whole world to my house for dinner! We will totally do this over and over again! THANK YOU!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 7 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
orangesorbet
,Yucaipa
,Cs
Yucaipa, CA
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
FABULOUS!!!
December 10, 2011
I waited several years before I finally decided to take the plunge and purchase a Willie Bird for Thanksgiving. It was the best tasting Turkey we ever had. I brined the bird according to the brining directions and was not disappointed. At first, my husband balked at the idea of spending so much on a turkey. But after tasting it, he agreed it was worth the price. I will certainly purchase another one next year!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Cons: price
Review 8 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanieIL
December 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Organic turkey
December 7, 2011
We were very happy with this purchase. The turkey came when they said it would & was very delicious.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 9 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crabmom3
,Annapolis
,MD
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Annual tradition in a gluten free home
December 6, 2011
We get a Willie bird every year. My daughter has celiac disease and can't tolerate any processing of meats. She loves her Willie bird! I get a bigger bird every year just to have the left overs.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 10 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plf43
,Vineland
,NJ
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wille Bird Outstanding Turkey
December 6, 2011
I will make this recomendation short and simple. The Wille Bird was the best Turkey that we have every purchased. It was costly however, this organic turkey was Outstanding. After cooking, Wille was ready for a photo shoot...it looked beautiful and our family enjoyed it superior quality.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 11 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilyrose
,Northern
,CA
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious Turkey!
December 6, 2011
The turkey was delicious and moist. My entire family thought this turkey was wonderful and want us to order another one for next year's Thanksgiving feast!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 12 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
derooster
,newtown
,ct
connecticut
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
tough this year
December 6, 2011
i have purchased willie birds for the last 8 years. until this year i did not purchase an organic willie bird. our bird was a disappointment in texture. the flavor was fine but there were several areas that were just plain tough - not grizzly - just not chewable.
i would recommend the non organic willie bird if you are conisdering this turkey.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Texture
Review 13 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KDFRAZIER
,Fullerton
,CA
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Willie Bird Organic Turkey
December 6, 2011
The Willie Bird was very juicy and flavorful. I would definitely order it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 14 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LdngirlMT
,Billings
,MT
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Absolutely Delicious! :-)
December 6, 2011
This is the 1st time that I have purchased Willie Bird Turkeys and I have to say that I will definitely be doing so again. The bird was absolutely delicious and I received complients from everyone who ate. Thank you.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 15 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Csundahl
,Mamaroneck
,NY
Mamaroneck New York
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Worst turkey I have ever made!!!
November 28, 2011
I've been making the Thanksgiving turkey for over 40 years. Never have I been so disappointed. The white meat was drier than dry, and so was the dark meat. Thank heavens I had a ham to offer my guests as well. Never again shall I buy a "Willie Bird."
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, tough
Review 16 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CookieMom18
,La Quinta
,CA
La Quinta, CA
November 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Quite a disappointment
November 25, 2011
I purchased this organic turkey for the first time for Thanksgiving. It arrived well packaged and chilled. I was hoping for a truly tender bird. While it was flavorful, it was no tender or juicy than the $0.79/pound birds that come from the grocery store. I must say that for this expensive of a turkey, I was expecting something absolutely outstanding. It was not. Don't waste your money on these birds. My neighbor purchased the brined Willie Bird, and upon questioning her today, she also said she'd never purchase another one, despite the fact that it was juicy. There just isn't enough difference to justify the high cost.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, expensive
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Csundahl
Mamaroneck NY and Owl's Head Maine
Posted November 28, 2011
Mine wasn't even flavorful!
My turkey must have been an old bird that probably ate whatever it could find that was organic and DEAD. Never again. And how embarassing to present this tough meat to a group after bragging about how good it would be. Williams-Sonoma failed me for the first time.
ic and dead!
This is the first time Williams-
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lwarnell
,Littleton
,CO
October 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best ever!
October 30, 2011
I have been disappointed in buying fresh turkeys for the last few years even though they were organic. I decided to try the Willie Bird Organic last year and it was the wonderful. I just placed my order for this year's turkey and am looking forward to it already. I also used the brine and the roasting glaze. Thank you WS.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 18 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smallkitchenbigdreams
,boca raton
,fl
October 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
willie bird
October 23, 2011
The Willie Bird has been our turkey since Williams Sonoma first offered it. The turkey is moist and truly delicious. There is no substitute for this amazing Thanksgiving bird, you will enjoy it.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 19 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AliasQT
Columbus
January 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Good organic turkey
January 10, 2011
Turkey arrived on time and was very good. I butterflied it which reduced the cooking time. Can't say it tastes any better than other tukeys I've had but it is organic and I am willing to pay more for that. My turkey did come a bit frozen. It was not rock frozen like the ones at the supermarket but it was frozen enough where it needed to be thawed in the frig for a whole day so the description is not quite accurate.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
coxy22
Posted November 20, 2011
Definition of frozen
A turkey can still be classified as fresh as long as it isn't kept in temps lower than 26 degrees F. Cold enough to freeze some of the moisture but not enough to get it to the rock hard state of a true frozen turkey.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
probarbara
Homestead, FL
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Willie Bird Flies with High Marks
January 5, 2011
I have ordered Willie Bird Turkeys since William Sonoma first offered them to customers and every year since. They never have dissapointed me. This past Christmas the organic turkey was the best yet. Perfect in every way and delicious.
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next