This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey

The showpiece of many a seasonal celebration, these turkeys have earned nationwide renown for their juicy, flavorful meat. They're shipped to you directly from the famous Willie Bird Ranch in Sonoma County, California. The free-range turkeys are raised on organic grains and are certified to be free of artificial pesticides and chemicals. Certified organic by Oregon Tilth. Quantities are limited; preorder yours today for automatic Thanksgiving or Christmas delivery (see Shipping tab for details). Shipped fresh to arrive chilled and will keep for 7 days refrigerated. Product of USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
Review 1 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
December 28, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Well worth the cost
December 28, 2015
An outstanding product. Shipped safely and arrived right on time in perfect condition. The flavor and tender meat can't be beat. Will order again next year.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Healthy, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 2 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,OR
November 29, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Our Thanksgiving Turkey since 2005!
November 29, 2015
Willie Bird has been delivering turkeys to our house for a decade now. We've never been disappointed. Always tender, moist, deeply colored dark meat (from the good life), priced fairly. We haven't needed to brine these birds - a basic piece cook method with thermometer on a roasting pan with onions, celery, and herbs delivers fantastic flavor. Thank you W&S and Willie Bird!!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Healthy, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Virginia Beach
,VA
November 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Yummy bird!
November 27, 2015
Our Willie Bird was fantastic! I used a roasting bag, and it cooked perfectly!
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor
Cons: pricey
Review 4 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
November 27, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wrong product 2 years running
November 27, 2015
This is the third year that I have ordered the pre-brined turkey for our Thanksgiving dinner. The first year it arrived and I was delighted with it; it was juicy and delicious! Unfortunately the past 2 years the turkey arrived not brined. Although it was good, it wasn't what I ordered and nothing different than what I could pick up at our local market for much less expense. Each time WIlliam Sonoma did credit me the difference in price but I'm still quite baffled how this happened 2 years in a row! Needless to say I won't do this again next year!
Cons: Disappointing
Review 5 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,BENSALEM
,PA
October 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Best Turkey 3 years in a row
October 13, 2015
I'm ordering this turkey again this year. My house has become known as the official Thanksgiving Dinner house because of this turkey. Everyone looks forward to the organic Willie Bird. I have to admit I do not follow the instruction for cooking, I use a high temperature method, where you start out at a higher temp and gradually reduce the temp. You can look this up on the internet. I season with herbs and baste in butter. This is the juiciest and most flavorful turkey ever.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Healthy, Decadent, delivered on time
Review 6 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Kirkland
,WA
September 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
11of 16found this review helpful.
Was okay, wouldnt order it again.
September 16, 2014
We wanted this to be great - so we'd be getting a humanely raised and butchered turkey. But the meat was dry and tasted very gamey. Also, the way the birds are raised results in less weight/fat and less meat on the bones. It wasn't horrible, but it certainly wasn't worth it for us. I doubt we'll opt for one again. I have to say, the Customer Service was a bit rude and snarky when we called inquiring when our bird would be delivered... Unusual for WS.
Pros: eco/animal friendly
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 7 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Somers
,NY
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
The best turkey ever!
December 10, 2013
I received a Willie Bird turkey for Thanksgiving and this organic turkey was the best that I ever had. I was skeptical that there would be an appreciable difference in quality or taste from other fresh turkeys that I have had in the past, but this turkey was absolutely delicious! The packaging was neat, the bird cold and delivered right on time for Thanksgiving meal preparations. I highly recommend this great product.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 8 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Flint
,MI
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
OMG! Becky!!
November 29, 2013
The turkey arrived on time,and a customer service woman called me and ask me did I receive my turkey! Yes I said. the turkey came fresh, I left it in the ref ridge 2 days, and wash, took innards out, pat dry, spread my butter, herb seasonings and stuff with onion, and celery, bake on 400 for 30+ or to the brownness that I liked. I turned the temp down to 325 for 2+ hours, let it rest for 1 hour, and when we carve and I took my first bite...OMG it was the best turkey I've ever taste! the flavors burst into my mouth and it was juicy and tender. I would definitely get another one next year
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 9 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Silver Spring
,MD
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
When Only the Best Will Do
November 24, 2012
I bought the 24 lb size Willie Bird organic, free range turkey. It arrived on the day promised and in absolutely perfect condition. It needed little if any cleaning. I brined the bird over night in the Williams Sonoma brine and stuffed it with sausage and cornbread stuffing. I used butter and white wine for basting. This was without question the best turkey I have ever had and I've been at this for over 30 years. Thank you for helping to make this Thanksgiving so extraordinary.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo