This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey

The showpiece of many a seasonal celebration, these turkeys have earned nationwide renown for their juicy, flavorful meat. They're shipped to you directly from the famous Willie Bird Ranch in Sonoma County, California. The free-range turkeys are raised on organic grains and are certified by Oregon Tilth to be free of artificial pesticides and chemicals. Available in seven sizes: approx. 10-12 lb. (serves 7-9), approx. 12-14 lb. (serves 9-11), approx. 14 lb.-16 lb. (serves approx. 11-13), approx. 16-18 lb. (serves approx. 13-14), approx. 18-20 lb. (serves approx. 14-16), approx. 20-22 lb. (serves approx. 16-18) and approx. 24-26 lb. (serves 19-21). Quantities are limited. Shipped fresh to arrive chilled and will keep for 7 days refrigerated. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
Review 1 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grabur
,Somers
,NY
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The best turkey ever!
December 10, 2013
I received a Willie Bird turkey for Thanksgiving and this organic turkey was the best that I ever had. I was skeptical that there would be an appreciable difference in quality or taste from other fresh turkeys that I have had in the past, but this turkey was absolutely delicious! The packaging was neat, the bird cold and delivered right on time for Thanksgiving meal preparations. I highly recommend this great product.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorism
,Flint
,MI
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
OMG! Becky!!
November 29, 2013
The turkey arrived on time,and a customer service woman called me and ask me did I receive my turkey! Yes I said. the turkey came fresh, I left it in the ref ridge 2 days, and wash, took innards out, pat dry, spread my butter, herb seasonings and stuff with onion, and celery, bake on 400 for 30+ or to the brownness that I liked. I turned the temp down to 325 for 2+ hours, let it rest for 1 hour, and when we carve and I took my first bite...OMG it was the best turkey I've ever taste! the flavors burst into my mouth and it was juicy and tender. I would definitely get another one next year
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Willieturkey2013
November 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Wille Bird Turkey
November 26, 2013
My "fresh" willie bird turkey arrived for thanksgiving completely frozen rock solid!!! The worst part is that it arrived frozen 2 days before thanksgiving, so there was not enough time to properly defrost the "fresh" turkey. Very disappointed! The description indicates the turkey is shipped partially frozen to arrive chilled. This is not true. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IS YOU WANT A FRESH TURKEY!!!
Cons: Disappointing
Review 4 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bridgie
,Kankakee
,IL
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Worst turkey I ever ate
December 31, 2012
This is the third year we ordered a Willie Bird for Thanksgiving. The first year, we were extremely pleased with how flavorful the turkey was, and so we ordered the Willie Bird Organic Free-Range in 2011. We were again pleased, and ordered the same in 2012. Alas, this last bird must have spent its entire life doing pushups and running marathons. Even the breast meat was sinewy and nearly inedible. Were that the first turkey I ever ate, it would be my last. I cannot tell you how disappointed I was. I do not intend to order this again. I have been cooking turkeys for over 40 years, and am not an inexperienced cook, nor did I do anything strange in the preparation. It was just one terrible, terrible turkey.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, like chewing rubberbands
Review 5 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Organic Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefMommaS
,Silver Spring
,MD
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
When Only the Best Will Do
November 24, 2012
I bought the 24 lb size Willie Bird organic, free range turkey. It arrived on the day promised and in absolutely perfect condition. It needed little if any cleaning. I brined the bird over night in the Williams Sonoma brine and stuffed it with sausage and cornbread stuffing. I used butter and white wine for basting. This was without question the best turkey I have ever had and I've been at this for over 30 years. Thank you for helping to make this Thanksgiving so extraordinary.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo