Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey

Just before the holidays, people wait in line for hours to buy all-natural turkeys at the Willie Bird ranch in Sonoma County, California. These legendary birds are among the world's best: extraordinarily juicy, succulent and flavorful. They're raised on a tasty natural diet and allowed to roam freely on the golden, oak-shaded hills. The coveted turkeys are shipped directly to you directly from the farm - no standing in line required! Quantities are limited; preorder yours today for automatic Christmas delivery (see Shipping tab for details). Shipped fresh to arrive chilled. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
Review 1 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Greenlawn
,NY
December 8, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best decision ever!
December 8, 2016
My traditional way of getting my free range natural turkey in past years was to order in advance @ a local farm. In the days prior to Thanksgving I would be forced to wait on a crazy line and deal with parking that could not accommodate the demand! This year I ordered a Wille Bird delivered to my home! Imagine? I have to say it was absolutely delicious...possibly better than the local bird....best part is how easy it was ! Directions that were provided were perfect. Thank you for helping host a fabulous Thanksgivng dinner. Well worth it!
Pros: Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Healthy, Quality, Time-saver
Review 2 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New Orleans
,LA
November 29, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smooth delivery process / quality turkey
November 29, 2016
Unless you have an arrangement with a local turkey farm, I recommend this service hands down. A quality turkey is what's going to separate your dinner from the next; friends of mine actually said they preferred the taste of my turkey over others they had elsewhere, and I did nothing special - just rubbed the outside with some salt and pepper.
Pros: Amount, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Healthy, Quality
Review 3 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Sunnyvale
,CA
November 22, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Frozen, not fresh
November 22, 2016
I have been a fan of Willie Bird turkeys from William Sonoma for over 5 years. It arrived on Tuesday which was wonderful since I brine my turkeys and was thankful for the extra time. I was shocked to see that the turkey was partially frozen. This is the first time I haven't received a fresh turkey. W-'s advertizes fresh, not previously frozen . For what I paid, I expect fresh as advertized.
Pros: Flavor, Quality
Review 4 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hiawassee
,Ga
November 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best turkey ever
November 6, 2016
I have been buying Willie Birds from William Sonoma for many years. I feel that there is no better turkeys and William Sonoma makes purchasing very easy. If you like fresh turkey I highly recommend Willie Birds.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift, Healthy, Quality, Texture
Review 5 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,columbiana
,oh
December 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
first time buyer
December 19, 2015
I purchased a Willie bird for the first time this Thanksgiving. The bird arrived two days before. It was well insulated. It was easy to prepare. My family thought it was one of the best turkeys ever.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Review 6 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lake Havasu City
,AZ
December 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The way turkeys use to taste! Only better!
December 19, 2015
We love the Willie Bird turkeys and can't imagine a Thanksgiving without one! Thank you, Williams Sonoma, for introducing us to this wonderful 'bird.' We tell everyone how amazing their flavor and texture are, year after year. Our shipment arrives on schedule, and our bird is icy cold and packed very well. These turkeys are everything you remembered from when turkeys tasted like turkeys! ❤️
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Healthy, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 7 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Harleysville
,Pa
Pa
November 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection
November 27, 2015
The little Willies always arrive on time, are consistently delicious and juicy. I smoked the bird this year, it was tasty and beautiful. I will buy again.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JessieJ
Posted November 14, 2016
Smoking Recipe?
Hi, what recipe / instructions did you use to smoke the bird? Sounds interesting!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dunlap
,TN
November 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No other Bird
November 12, 2015
I order Willie Bird for Thanksgiving and Christmas. There is no other bird on the market that even comes close to the flavor of Willie Bird. It comes out perfect every time.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Authentic
Review 9 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Barksdale
,TX
December 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best we have ever had
December 19, 2014
This was the second year in a row we chose the Willie bird (pre brined). Everyone said it was the best turkey they have ever had.
Review 10 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Leesburg
,VA
December 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
7of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the expense
December 5, 2014
I truly have to say, this was the worst turkey I have ever had. I have been cooking Thanksgiving dinner for the past 20 years. I decided that I would splurge this year and try a Willie Bird. Lets just say, thank goodness I was also serving ham. The turkey was absolutely terrible!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor
Review 11 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Newport Beach
,CA
Newport Beach
December 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Turkey Dinner
December 3, 2013
My family was unanimous in naming the WillieBird the best turkey ever. She was delivered exactly as described, two days before Thanksgiving, thawed and ready to go. She was very clean with no blemishes and I cooked it exactly as directed and it was juicy and delicious. Everybody raved and said we would get another Willie Bird next year. The best!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 12 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Summit
,NJ
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
14of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed in Willie
November 30, 2013
I was very excited to order the Willie Bird and present the best ever turkey on Thanksgiving.
I read the directions before-hand, then followed directions as I prepped. Let the bird stand at room temperature for nearly two hours. I noticed ice between thigh and breast and wiped away. Couldn't believe it was still frozen. Cooked at recommended temperature, used thermometer to test along the way until reaching (170 degrees in breast and clear liquid from leg, etc).
Afer 4.5 hours (17.8 lb bird) the temp in leg still read 140 degrees. Removed breast to serve my restless crowd. We put rest of turkey back in oven, but it still looked raw.
Overall, taste was underwhelming. The bird never browned, even after basting with butter and oil mixture. Threw my dinner timing off completely.
Sorry. I spent a lot of money and am really, really disappointed.
Beth
Cons: Disappointing, Time to Prepare, Flavor
Review 13 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Brooklyn
,NY
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our first Willie Bird Thanksgiving
November 29, 2013
This was the first year we got a Willie bird turkey. Brined it ourselves with the WS brine mix using the brining bags. Turkey was tender and delicious. A Thanksgiving hit.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 14 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Green Bay
,WI
October 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing, simply amazing!
October 15, 2013
This is the third year in the row I have hosted Thanksgiving, honestly it is mainly because the fun we have roasting our "Willie Bird". I can't wait to receive it from the UPS person. My husband and I brine it together and on Thanksgiving morning I can't wait to get up and start cooking! This is the very best turkey we have ever had and I would never consider buying any other!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 15 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pasadena
,CA
October 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick, grab a bowl!
October 8, 2013
I am about to order this turkey again for this year based on my last year's experience. It was the first time hosting Thanksgiving and I wanted to make sure everything was perfect! We ordered this turkey and as it was done cooking I freaked out because there was no gravy usable drippings in the bottom of the pan. All the veggies I put there were shriveled up. We continued on and when we had just barely cut into the turkey all of the juice came flowing out. My dad quickly yelled "Get a bowl" and our gravy was saved. If you want your juices in the bird while it cooked then buy this bird! It was a amazing and moist and we will be ordering every year from here on.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tallahassee
,Fl
September 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will never buy a different bird
September 8, 2012
A co-worker criticised me for spending "so much money" on this turkey when she went to the big box store and paid a lot less for hers. But after she spent money on the frozen turkey, paid over sixty dollars for oil, and then more money on some type of injectable she had spent more for her main dish then me! My bird roasted perfectly while I read a good book on the beach! This year I will be back on the beach while my Willie Bird roasts. This is an excellent product.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 17 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,VA
Purcellville, VA
January 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific Turkey
January 8, 2012
A very plump good looking bird that arrived in time for xmas. Cooked beautifully although I didn't find the livers in time and cooked them inside by mistake. The giblets were in the cavity so I found those OK. Plenty of good juicy meat left over to make a tasty turkey pie the next day. Everyone loved the texture and moist meat. Definitely would buy again.
Review 18 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Irving
,TX
January 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
21of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good tasting bird but worth the price?
January 6, 2012
This was a good tasting bird, juicy and tender. Certainly a hit at the table. It cooked up well, browned nicely and there were just enough drippings for some pretty good gravy.
My only "beef" was the price. I was charged an additional handling fee from Williams-Sonoma (WS) on top of the extra shipping fees from Willie Bird. WS was only a conduit to order the bird as it was shipped directly from the farm. If you decide to order this, expect an additional $20+ in shipping and fees.
Planning note...the WS website said the turkey would be delivered on the Friday before Christmas. The week of delivery I received an email from Willie Bird Farms saying the turkey would be delivered on Thursday. I had to rearrange my schedule to make sure someone was home to put the bird in the fridge.
Bottom line, it was a good tasting bird but I'm not sure it was worth the cost vs. a local turkey. If you have the money and don't mind spending upwards of $100, this one's a good one to buy.
Pros: good tasting, juicy
Cons: price, shipping and handling fees, delivery schedule