This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey

Just before the holidays , people wait in line for hours to buy all-natural turkeys at the Willie Bird ranch in Sonoma County, California. These legendary birds are among the world's best: extraordinarily juicy, succulent and flavorful. They're raised on a tasty natural diet and allowed to roam freely in the golden, oak-shaded hills. The coveted turkeys are shipped directly to you directly from the farm - no standing in line required! Available in six sizes: approx. 12-14 lb. (serves 9-11), approx. 14 lb.-16 lb. (serves approx. 11-13), approx. 16-18 lb. (serves approx. 13-14), approx. 18-20 lb. (serves approx. 14-16), approx. 20-22 lb. (serves approx. 16-18) and approx. 24-26 lb. (serves 19-21). Quantities are limited. Shipped fresh to arrive chilled and will keep for 7 days refrigerated. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
85 of 94(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
Review 1 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thisisflo
,Newport Beach
,CA
Newport Beach
December 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Outstanding Turkey Dinner
December 3, 2013
My family was unanimous in naming the WillieBird the best turkey ever. She was delivered exactly as described, two days before Thanksgiving, thawed and ready to go. She was very clean with no blemishes and I cooked it exactly as directed and it was juicy and delicious. Everybody raved and said we would get another Willie Bird next year. The best!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 2 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Baela
,Summit
,NJ
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointed in Willie
November 30, 2013
I was very excited to order the Willie Bird and present the best ever turkey on Thanksgiving.
I read the directions before-hand, then followed directions as I prepped. Let the bird stand at room temperature for nearly two hours. I noticed ice between thigh and breast and wiped away. Couldn't believe it was still frozen. Cooked at recommended temperature, used thermometer to test along the way until reaching (170 degrees in breast and clear liquid from leg, etc).
Afer 4.5 hours (17.8 lb bird) the temp in leg still read 140 degrees. Removed breast to serve my restless crowd. We put rest of turkey back in oven, but it still looked raw.
Overall, taste was underwhelming. The bird never browned, even after basting with butter and oil mixture. Threw my dinner timing off completely.
Sorry. I spent a lot of money and am really, really disappointed.
Beth
Cons: Disappointing, Time to Prepare, Flavor
Review 3 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoJoMoJo
,Brooklyn
,NY
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Our first Willie Bird Thanksgiving
November 29, 2013
This was the first year we got a Willie bird turkey. Brined it ourselves with the WS brine mix using the brining bags. Turkey was tender and delicious. A Thanksgiving hit.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 4 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swooze
,Green Bay
,WI
October 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Amazing, simply amazing!
October 15, 2013
This is the third year in the row I have hosted Thanksgiving, honestly it is mainly because the fun we have roasting our "Willie Bird". I can't wait to receive it from the UPS person. My husband and I brine it together and on Thanksgiving morning I can't wait to get up and start cooking! This is the very best turkey we have ever had and I would never consider buying any other!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 5 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MorganUp
,Pasadena
,CA
October 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Quick, grab a bowl!
October 8, 2013
I am about to order this turkey again for this year based on my last year's experience. It was the first time hosting Thanksgiving and I wanted to make sure everything was perfect! We ordered this turkey and as it was done cooking I freaked out because there was no gravy usable drippings in the bottom of the pan. All the veggies I put there were shriveled up. We continued on and when we had just barely cut into the turkey all of the juice came flowing out. My dad quickly yelled "Get a bowl" and our gravy was saved. If you want your juices in the bird while it cooked then buy this bird! It was a amazing and moist and we will be ordering every year from here on.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sonbuddy
,Tallahassee
,Fl
September 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Will never buy a different bird
September 8, 2012
A co-worker criticised me for spending "so much money" on this turkey when she went to the big box store and paid a lot less for hers. But after she spent money on the frozen turkey, paid over sixty dollars for oil, and then more money on some type of injectable she had spent more for her main dish then me! My bird roasted perfectly while I read a good book on the beach! This year I will be back on the beach while my Willie Bird roasts. This is an excellent product.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 7 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissMelly
,VA
Purcellville, VA
January 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Terrific Turkey
January 8, 2012
A very plump good looking bird that arrived in time for xmas. Cooked beautifully although I didn't find the livers in time and cooked them inside by mistake. The giblets were in the cavity so I found those OK. Plenty of good juicy meat left over to make a tasty turkey pie the next day. Everyone loved the texture and moist meat. Definitely would buy again.
Review 8 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anng102106
,Irving
,TX
January 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Good tasting bird but worth the price?
January 6, 2012
This was a good tasting bird, juicy and tender. Certainly a hit at the table. It cooked up well, browned nicely and there were just enough drippings for some pretty good gravy.
My only "beef" was the price. I was charged an additional handling fee from Williams-Sonoma (WS) on top of the extra shipping fees from Willie Bird. WS was only a conduit to order the bird as it was shipped directly from the farm. If you decide to order this, expect an additional $20+ in shipping and fees.
Planning note...the WS website said the turkey would be delivered on the Friday before Christmas. The week of delivery I received an email from Willie Bird Farms saying the turkey would be delivered on Thursday. I had to rearrange my schedule to make sure someone was home to put the bird in the fridge.
Bottom line, it was a good tasting bird but I'm not sure it was worth the cost vs. a local turkey. If you have the money and don't mind spending upwards of $100, this one's a good one to buy.
Pros: good tasting, juicy
Cons: price, shipping and handling fees, delivery schedule
Review 9 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DrCarla
,Key West
,FL
December 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Dry and tastless and not worth the money
December 20, 2011
We were all disappointed and happy we had a large ham when I served this at Thanksgiving. The only good thing was that W & S was very professional and resolved the situation as well as possible after the fact. This was surprising because W & S is known for superb products and customer service. Everyone can have an off day and except for this they are still the best company around.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 10 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MN06
December 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Moist but expensive turkey
December 7, 2011
The turkey was moist. I'm not sure if it was due to brining or not because I did use the William Sonoma dry brine. I rinsed the turkey off after brining it for 24 hours and even put salt and pepper on it before cooking it. My family thought it needed more seasoning. I'm not sure I will be purchasing this turkey in the future.
Cons: Amount
Review 11 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DEE135
,NJ
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Willie Bird
December 6, 2011
We had our thanksgiving dinner on tuesday the 22nd, which is the day the turkey arrived as advertised, we were able to prepare it that day! My family enjoyed the turkey. After reading some of the reviews, I was afraid that I had paid to much, but was very happy with Willie Bird, I have never purchased a fresh turkey and I am glad that this was a good experiece. I plan on purchasing another next year. It was worth it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Healthy
Review 12 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bonniebeagle
December 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great bird!
December 6, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect from a mail order turkey but our most recent store-bought ones were dry. The turkey arrived on the date promised. And, a woman called that night to be sure we had received the turkey. That's what I call excellent customer service! The turkey was nice and moist, very flavorful. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for excellent turkey.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 13 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Montecito
,Dallas
,TX
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thanksgiving Turkey
December 6, 2011
I love ordering a Willie Bird Turkey from William Sonoma every year. It always arrives on time fresh and perfectly packed. The turkey is flavorful, juicy and a perfect Thanksgiving bird that my family and friends enjoy each year.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 14 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tennfoodguy
,Morristown
,TN
Near Knoxville, TN
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Bird
December 6, 2011
After doing my usual research prior to the holidays and having had some disappointments with "mail-order" turkeys in the past, I decided to take a chance with your Willy Bird. Happily it lived up to the positive reviews and came out juicy and perfectly done without a lot of prepping. It arrived in perfect condition, no evidence of having been frozen. You folks at WS seldom disappoint and you came through again with this offering.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 15 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mckm
,Carlisle
,Pa
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Was this frozen?
December 6, 2011
I was very suspicious that this was a fresh turkey when it arrived at my door with one small ice pack in the box (having traveled from CA to PA I expected more ice packs) The bird was very cold and when I reached inside to remove the gizzards, there were pieces of ice. Very disappointing. The turkey tasted fine, but it was nothing special and not worth $90. Next year I will get a fresh turkey from a local farm
Cons: Disappointing
Review 16 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarkinKansas
,Wichita
,KS
Kansas
December 3, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
It's a nice turkey
December 3, 2011
Now, W-S longterm customers, like me (since 1992), Open-pasture-raised turkeys are great.
They are given grain supplements, but all commercial turkeys are, otherwise they would cost $40+/lb.
My only criticism of W-S selling Willie Birds, is, as a high-end purveyor to serious cooks, I would like to see W-S push Willie Birds to shift to heritage-breed narrow-breasted turkeys, and shift from ultra-low omega-3 feed to higher omega-3 flax, and maybe even sell some high-price totally open-range/non-grain-fed birds, unless they were foraging in flax, milo and oats fields. (unsprayed so the turkeys can eat lots of "bugs").
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining
Cons: Texture
Review 17 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TheFred
,Norman
,OK
November 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Disappointed
November 26, 2011
Cooked in a browning bag in the oven for the time and temperature recommended with the instructions, was very excuited because it looked very plump and juicy but ....
My family was very disappointed it had a very distinct taste that was almost gamey, first time I had tried it and will be the last. Thankfully I had smoked a butterball and that is all that was eaten.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 18 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melkitho
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Freaking Amazing Bird
November 24, 2011
This is the best turkey I have ever had for Thanksgiving... hands down. I was worried that this turkey that my father ordered was not going to be flavorful or seasoned well. Let me tell you I was wrong. The best part was the skin. The turkey was juicy and just plain delicious. Everyone should get this turkey at least once.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanksgivingcook2
,Stevenson Ranch
,Ca
October 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
The Best Turkey Ever!!
October 25, 2011
I have cooked the last 26 Thanksgivings. Trying every Turkey imaginable until I came upon Willie Bird Free-Range last year. I have finally found what I have been looking for. This turkey was so moist and enjoyable!! You can bet this will be our Thanksgiving bird from here on out.
Review 20 for Willie Bird Fresh Free-Range Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snobird
Taos, NM
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great Turkey
February 12, 2011
The Willie Bird turkey was very moist. It even held its moistness the third day after roasting which made for delighful turkey sandwiches. However, I found it took longer to cook than was posted but that may be because I'm at 7000 ft. Still a great bird nonetheless!!
page1 2 3 4 5 next