Williams-Sonoma Touchless Tare High-Capacity Glass Scale

With its generous 30-pound capacity, this elegant scale is ideal for everything from weighing ingredients for a single loaf of bread or a season's worth of fruit preserves to calculating per-pound cooking time for the Thanksgiving turkey. It tares with a wave of your hand-no need to press a button with slippery, messy fingers. The easy-to-read digital screen displays weights in 0.01-oz. increments, a fine calibration that's especially crucial for baking. Thanks to Salter's Aquatronic(R) feature, the scale precisely measures liquid ingredients too, minimizing the need for measuring cups. Exclusive Touchless Tare feature lets you reset to 0 with by waving your hand. Large 1" LCD display shows measurements in .01-oz. increments up to 30 lb. Aquatronic(R) feature accurately weighs liquids in 0.01-fl.-oz. increments up to 477 fl. oz. A single button toggles between U.S. and metric measurements. Easy to weigh multiple ingredients in a single container. Smooth touch control buttons keep the surface clean-no need to contend with food-clogged grooves. Thick, sturdy tempered-glass platform resists stains, won't absorb flavors or odors and is easy to clean. Sleek profile for convenient storage. The roomy square platform accommodates larger bowls or platters. Uses three AAA batteries (included).
Average Customer Rating:
2.6 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
2 of 5(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Touchless Tare High-Capacity Glass Scale
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Touchless Tare High-Capacity Glass Scale
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Middletown
,NJ
May 17, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Touchless tare is terrible
May 17, 2016
The touchless tare makes this scale almost unusable. The sense point is at the front of the scale, where my hand passes over whenever I'm adding another scoop. It's even worse for my left-handed daughter.
For me, this functional aspect outweighs the classy looks, multiple unit options and other positive characteristics of the scale.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Accuracy
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Touchless Tare High-Capacity Glass Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 27, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Indispensable
November 27, 2015
I couldn't imagine a better scale.
I use this multiple times a day, every day.
It's accurate, easy to use, and seems long lasting.
Zeroing the scale with a wave of the hand is an excellent feature, especially when hands are sticky or flour coated during baking, or have just touched raw meat
All you have to do is keep from waving things in front of the sensor when you don't want to tare the scale.
I also haven't had trouble keeping it clean, I just wipe it with a damp cloth when need be.
I love that it can handle up to 13 lbs.
I occasionally use it to weigh mail and packages when calculating postage...added bonus!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Quality, Accuracy
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
OlympiaK
New York, NY
Posted April 4, 2016
re: WaStateNative
Hi,
Typo on may part I guess!! For some reason I had 13 lbs stuck in my head from when I bought it, and I've never used it for anything weighing more than a dozen pounds...so...I just tested something weighing 20 lbs and it worked!
I suppose the press button sensors don't love getting wet (from using wet fingers or wiping), but if they act up (and that's IF), once they dry off they're back to normal. And the only time you have to touch them is when you first turn it on or change units, so I don't find it inconvenient to use dry hands at that stage.
Wetness from cleaning with a damp cloth is definitely not an issue.
No, you cannot remove the glass from the base, but still no issues keeping clean. A few times I've had things stuck between the glass and the control panel. I slide a damp paper towel through and it comes clean.
I continue to love this scale and use it multiple times daily (moving it around a lot too). Still working like a charm.
0points
Customer avatar
WAStateNative
Washington State
Posted April 2, 2016
Weight amount
Does this scale not handle weights above 13 lbs like the description says (says up to 30 lbs) & is the glass platform not removable to be able to give it a thorough cleaning? A user of another brand scale thought they had killed their scale when they wiped it down with a damp cloth; it stopped working afterwards.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Touchless Tare High-Capacity Glass Scale
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Palo Alto
,CA
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost a great scale
December 31, 2014
This scale pretty much does exactly what it is supposed to do. Easy to setup and use. Does all the conversions you need and has a good range. As far as I can tell, it is also reasonably accurate. There's only one thing that makes this -1 star and that is the ease at which you zero this scale. The zero sensor is on the front panel resets the scale by just passing your hand over it. This makes it easy - too easy. This is an area where you naturally pass over when you use the scale which can be a annoyance. While not as "cool" a button to reset would be far better and probably lower the price on this scale to boot (note to designer).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Weight
Cons: Temperamental
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Touchless Tare High-Capacity Glass Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Clinton
,WA
August 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very temperamental
August 10, 2014
I have had this since Feb 2014 and use it frequently. I am taking it back next week and am ordering the non-touchless. I used my previous Salter electronic scale for years but fell for the hype of the touch less tare. It tares when ANYTHING comes close to it. Also, it changes from 0 to negative readings even with nothing on it. I like the high-capacity feature, but not worth the frustration of the tare.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Touchless Tare High-Capacity Glass Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,haiku
,HI
July 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hard to Clean
July 21, 2014
It is nearly impossible to get this cleaned without taking alcohol and a qtip to the underside. When it gets dirty under the glass what can you do? Anything you use in the kitchen should be easy to clean or at least cleanable. Also after using mine for a little over a year mine sadly stopped working...so I am not too happy with it.
Pros: Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Fragile