This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Steiff Sitting Fawn

A joy to find in your stocking or under the tree, this miniature fawn is made exclusively for Williams-Sonoma in limited quantities. Available just for the holiday season, the 5"-high collectible is made in Germany by Steiff, the legendary company that has been handcrafting toy animals for more than a century. Based on a Steiff reindeer pattern from 1910. Stuffed and stitched by hand, each fawn has an expressive face and unique personality. Made of soft, fine mohair. Hand-stitched nose and bead eyes. Felt ear lining. Finished with the signature Steiff ear tag, a "Williams-Sonoma Exclusive" chest badge and a satin ribbon. Available in limited quantities. 5" high. Made in Germany. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Steiff Sitting Fawn
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Steiff Sitting Fawn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWCWorkingMom
,Redwood City
,CA
Redwood City, CA
January 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
New Favorite Holiday Decoration
January 16, 2013
I was so pleased with the standing fawn that I ordered this one right away. They are both extremely cute and have terrific detailing. They look great together on the mantle. They are now part of our annual holiday decorations.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Steiff Sitting Fawn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RArthurM
,MA
Millis, MA
December 31, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Another classic Steiff!
December 31, 2012
The fawn fit perfectly in my wife's stocking this year and joined last year's edition in her collection. Very well made, delivery was fast and item was received in great condition. Please keep in mind the size and composition of the fawn; it is on the smaller size and not as soft as another brand may be. All in all, a worthwhile purchase!
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Steiff Sitting Fawn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MotherKat651
,St Paul
,MN
December 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Adorable gift
December 13, 2012
This fawn is adorable and well made. Steiff animals are not for play, so they are not soft and cuddly. They are collectables and if protected can be passed along to another generation. This is a gift requested by my daughter in law that I am thrilled to give to her. If you want a special gift, this is just that. I just wish I would have know it would go on sale.
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Steiff Sitting Fawn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eb53
,Elmore
,Vt
November 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Adorable Steiff for Christmas!
November 20, 2012
I purchased the standing fawn last year and love it "pulling" my sleigh basket , so when I saw this one, I needed it! My 10 yr old granddaughter loved mine so much I purchased one for her as well. I've started Steiff collections for all the grandchildren, as I still have my miniature bear from when I was a child. Definitely a collectible!
Pros: adorable expression
Cons: all steiff are expensive
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Steiff Sitting Fawn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LoyalOne
,Phoenixville
,PA
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
4of 14found this review helpful.
Cute But....
November 7, 2012
The little fawn is adorable but way overpriced and disappointing for what you get. Yes it is Steiff but not at all plush or stuffed. It has a hard shell so not squeezably soft at all. And the 5" height is a stretch.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BearGirl
Posted December 26, 2012
FYI about Steiff Animals..
Most Steiff collectibles are stuffed with excelsior. Excelsior is a wood wool or a shaved wood product. This was the traditional material used to stuff "stuffed" animals originally...not only Steiff used this material but also Merrythought as well as other BIG named teddybear makers. This material allowed the manufacturer to fill the space in between the skin so that it was able to hold a firm shape of the desired animal. Also, Steiff is known as the first teddy bear maker of the European world. Back then they did not have man made fur and had to use what they did have. And what they had back then was mohair. Mohair comes from an animal much like wool does. Both wool and mohair are scratchy. But mohair was woven into the cotton backing and it wore well, it looked like an animal fur when it was trimmed..so they used it.
Steiff does make a completely separate line of stuffed animals that is geared more for children collectors and they use the modern equivalent of polyfill, which is softer and mushy to the squeeze.
Please don't down rate an item because you thought it would be something different (aka..don't buy a battery powered car cause it looks like a mustang..ya both have four wheels, doors and a windshield..but both were designed totally different for totally different reasons.) Know what you are buying or ask before you buy it.
As far as price..Steiff animals are expensive. Mohair is expensive..wood wool (excelsior) is expensive, the German hand blow glass eyes are expensive. These are handmade items folks. The price for this animal is spot on for Steiff and now with the winter sale going on the pricing is even better. Some animals or teddy bears can exceed $500. So again, know what you are buying.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)