Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook

Endlessly versatile, soups have a way of satisfying your soul, no matter what the season. Spring's vitamin-rich vegetables and fragrant herbs help shed winter's doldrums while cold soups cool off hot summer nights. For fall and winter, soup provides warm comfort during the chilly days and nights. This indispensable cookbook contains a tantalizing selection of 365 soup recipes: one for each day of the year. Colorful calendars at the beginning of each chapter offer an at-a-glance view of the dishes best suited for the ingredients, occasions and typical weather of the month. From January to December, you'll find a range of soups-from a quick weeknight meal to an elegant dinner party. Instructor of San Francisco's Tante Marie Cooking School, chef Kate McMillan and award-winning photographer Erin Kunkel offer up inspiring recipes and mouth-watering images that will encourage you to make soups every day, if so desired. Hardcover. The digital version of Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook contains all of the spectacular content of the original, available on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch. Download from the iTunes store.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LSCook
,St, Louis
,MO
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipes, but ...
September 15, 2013
I have had this cookbook for over a year and I use it a lot -- weekly, at least. The recipes are varied, well written and generally delicious. Unfortunately, the quality of the binding is very poor. The contents have pulled away completely from the cover, which, at this price, is annoying. It's the first WS cookbook I have purchased and I would hesitate to purchase another.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One for the soup lovers
July 16, 2012
In the past few years I've really come around to making soup. Mainly because it's easy to freeze portions for later. And a nice chunky soup/stew/chowder is the ultimate comfort food for me. I have a couple of other soup cookbooks, but they both have about 50 recipes top. So I got this to have countless recipes to fit my mood. And so far it hasn't let me down.
My favourite (so far) is a really simple bacon and tomato soup. I love the range from cold to hot and simple to difficult (the curry aubergine one takes patience!). But you can't fail to be inspired. Within a couple of months it easily became one of my favourite cookbooks!
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PoCoKat
January 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Soup Recipes
January 15, 2012
Another beautifully illustrated cookbook from the folks at William Sonoma. There are 365 soup recipes. One for every day of the year. The recipe chapters go by month with recipes featured that are perfect for that time of the year. Plenty of innovative new recipes and as well as old favorites. My only complaint would be is that there is not enough photos.
Sample recipes:
January
French Onion Soup
Classic Chicken Noodle Soup
Barley and Leek Soup with Chicken Meatballs
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
graith
,san anselmo
,ca
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best. Gift. Ever.
November 28, 2011
I'm an unapologetic soup snob. Soup of the Day hits it out of the park! What's best about the recipes is that they are sophisticated but NOT that labor intensive. Readily accessible with maximum flavor return! Do your friends and family a favor (for life) and give them Soup of the Day this holiday season. Best. Gift. Ever.
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smich
,San Francisco
,CA
October 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect gift for the holidays!
October 17, 2011
Love, love, love this book - delicious and creative recipes and really enticing photography - its hard to decide what to make next. I love all the different garnish options - so many ways to give each recipe a different twist. I've found my go-to gift for the holidays!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jneil
September 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfection
September 13, 2011
This is my new favorite cook book.
Artful and Delicious!
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Soup of The Day Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zaibatsu
,Boston
,MA
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My first soup cookbok
September 8, 2011
I was in William Sonoma the other day and the cover of this cookbook sold me...and I don't even cook all that much! The first one I tried was the Charred Eggplant Soup with Cumin & Greek Yogurt and it's going to be hard to try others because it was amazing. Perfect time of year to have discovered such a great cookbook!