Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets

We designed and developed our Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools collection to make it easy for you to watch cooking videos, search for recipes, listen to music and even video chat while you cook and entertain. This complete three-piece set includes the Bluetooth(R) Speaker, Kitchen Stand and Screen Shield to expand the versatility of your iPad(R) in the kitchen- or anywhere in your home. Designed and developed by Williams-Sonoma. Speaker features Bluetooth technology that wirelessly delivers exceptional sound quality from any Bluetooth-enabled device; a line-in port connects iPods and other portable music players. Speaker has speakerphone capability, a built-in rechargeable battery and two USB ports for convenient charging of your device. Speaker is designed to nest perfectly under the Kitchen Stand. Kitchen Stand supports a tablet device horizontally or vertically in four different positions; notch in back for power-cord management. Removable Screen Shield affixes securely to frame of iPad to provide a clear, anti-glare, bubble-free surface that protect iPad from splatters in the kitchen. Screen Shield has large corner tabs for easy removal (black tabs for first-generation iPad; gray tabs for second-, third- and fourth-generation iPad). Stand and Speaker have nonslip silicone bases for stability and a premium finish that's easy to clean. Designed in USA; made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
19 of 28(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
deez
,Kailua
,Hi
July 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Fit?
July 12, 2014
I use a variety of tablets but this product has limits and will only work with the ipad stripped down, no case, or additional armor that adds to the thickness of the ipad which means it needs to be a "perfect fit." My MS Surface will not fit at all and the my Samsung tablet will fit if I remove all the armor and force it in.
It is easy to use and setup and the quality of the sound is good enough for the kitchen. but depending on the type of cooking/baking your doing I recommend that you wipe the two platforms down (especially the speaker unit) as soon as it gets splashed or splattered.
I like the small platform and round design, when not in use it doesn't take up too much counter space. You can link just about any bluetooth device, phone, tablets, etc which makes it versatile.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: needs to be a little more universal or adaptive.
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RockyRocks
,Danbury
,CT
June 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Happy Wife
June 15, 2014
I love this product - it was a surprise gift from 'hubby'. I've had it about 2 months now thus far everything is working well. The sound is crisp and clear provided you don't have any obstacles in the way. I found that out when I was using facetime. We didn't realize it at the time that you must CHARGE the battery BEFORE USE . . . ta !? (it wasn't in the instructions / manual . . . my fault). I called Customer Service to get help . . . well let me say: I do LOVE the CUSTOMER SERVICE provided by William-Sonoma. Even when they don't have answers they do the research and try to get the information for you via email, iphone or telephone. Meanwhile, hubby is pleased with his purchase because his wife dances to music while cooking. What do they say: 'happy wife happy life' . . . its lovely!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buyer66
,Naperville
,Il
May 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs to be removed from cover
May 28, 2014
Bought for a gift. Liked the blue tooth portion but not the iPad holder because you need to take it out of its protective covering in order for it to fit. Was afraid it might get broken or cracked if accidentally knocked over.
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HVick
,Westfield
,NJ
April 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best Christmas present ever
April 28, 2014
My husband bought me this great set for Christmas 2013, and four months later I still love it! I always watch TV shows in the kitchen while I cook and bake, and before i could barely hear my iPad over anything I was doing. The bluetooth speaker is great - I can even hear my shows when I run the food processor or blender. The stand is perfectly angled, and the screen protector is awesome. I did break one of the corner holders off when I accidentally dropped my iPad, but I was able to glue it back together.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
techycook
,Hoboken
,NJ
February 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for iPad Air
February 20, 2014
I was so excited to receive this as a gift, but the screen protector is too large for the iPad Air. It doesn't look like there's an air-compatible version to exchange it for, but I hope they are coming out with one soon since Apple has retired most of their previous models!
I might just be tempted to still use it even though it doesn't fit properly. I haven't seen any other products out there like this.
Pros: Design
Cons: Size
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andreainthekitchen
,Hampton
,NH
November 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Home cooks dream product!
November 11, 2013
I purchased the I-Pad, Kitchen kit ... it includes the base to hold the I-pad, a speaker, which fits nicely with the base and a screen protector. I love to watch live streams of cooking shows while I'm in the kitchen ... I also love to prepare meals while face-timing with family and sharing recipe's. This is a wonderful group of products for anyone that loves to cook and loves to share or watch others cook. OR sometimes I just like to listen to music... this is a space saver on the counter. I really enjoy and love my new products from Williams and Sonoma! Thanks!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design, fun!
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
norcalpatty
,Clayton
,CA
October 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great purchase
October 19, 2013
Bought this for my daughter who finds all her recipes online, great stand and audio quality is excellent. Very happy with purchase!
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, audio quality
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Billfromchi
,Near Chicago
,IL
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks like Apple designed it themselves
September 22, 2013
Beautiful design a very solid build. Very stable. Works nice on a desktop too. I like listening to music while I cook and this fits the bill. Screen cover is nice also. Very fast on and off. I suffered a stroke and lost some vision. My cookbook collection is pretty useless now. This is a lifesaver for me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, great for people with low vision
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gowolves
,Buford
,Ga
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
September 9, 2013
The speaker in this system is horrible. I know that blue tooth speakers are generally going to be a lower powered speaker, but this speaker has NO power! There are no low ends or high ends and the mid-range is sub-optimal. Returned the whole unit and will be putting powered speakers with a blue tooth adapter in the kitchen. Stick to cooking tools. Audio is not your forte!
Cons: Quality, poor sound output
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pmrc
,CA
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful tool
August 12, 2013
I purchased this for my husband's birthday. He uses it almost daily for everything; more than for just recipes/videos. With the great speaker, he loves that he can listen to a favorite on-line radio station while using his iPad.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shellseeker2
,NC
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Speaker tone
August 6, 2013
Speaker did not meet my expectations for this price.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TJP653
,Sunrise Beach
,MO
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice product
July 17, 2013
This is a nice, clean design and perfect in the kitchen. I use it to charge both my iPad and iPhone without displaying at least one of the cords. The second cord is visible but somewhat tucked away. Great speaker quality. I especially like it to have an easy to read control for my Sonos system. Would have rated it 5 stars except for the cost -- it is a bit pricey.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Cost
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
osos
,TX
April 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen Perfect
April 9, 2013
Terrific sound in small package. Speakers are much better than iPad's. Perfectly sized for the kitchen, bathroom and travel. Other speakers on the market take up too much room. Sturdy - didn't worry about my iPad falling out. Cover is nice if you are concerned about splashes. When not using the iPad in your lap, this stand is a much better countertop iPad holder than any cover I've seen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GiftedHomeChef
,Rolling Meadows
,IL
March 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Money we ever spent
March 18, 2013
Both our Ipads have Incipio back covers and IPAD smart covers so it is just a little tight in the stand, but this works so great and the quality of the speaker is amazing to my old ears. Easy to use, easy to set up and worth every penny. I searched and read reviews for alternatives but this package gave me everythig that we wanted in a small package. I will also take it with when we travel to summer cottages and it can double as a charging stand, music center and even allow us to watch movies streamed to the pads. Don't settle for less. This is one Williams Sonoma product that is definately worth the price.
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SousAndy
,Wichita
,KS
Wichita, Kansas
March 5, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An iPad Must Have Item
March 5, 2013
This thing is absolutely awesome... Previous to this one, I purchased another similar product from a high-end store, and they don't even compare. The sound quality is unbelievable for something so compact. And, the problem that some mentioned about the sound cutting in and out, is totally fixed, if you upgrade to the latest iPad operating system (which is free).
I am a chef, but I will admit that I am also a big geek, so I wrote an iPad application that manages my recipes, and allows me to enter them, and then use them on the iPad while I'm cooking.
Not only is it functional as a speaker system and iPad holder; in addition, it looks great in the kitchen, and does not take up much counter space.
Oh, and a must have is the screen protector, because it keeps all the grunge off your screen, and is easily cleanable with a sponge.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
retired0402
,Arden
,NC
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
handy kitchen helper
February 21, 2013
The best thing about this item is the stand for the Ipad- the speaker is average- nothing to get too excited about but a nice accessory for the kitchen-if I had to do it over I would probably just order the stand but I'll keep the speaker- I haven't had any trouble with my Ipad & speaker bluetooth linking like some other reviewers & no cutting out either-overall a pretty clever set
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Armywife
,Tahlequah
,OK
NE, Oklahoma
February 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Addition to My Kitchen
February 9, 2013
I'm not sure why this has received so many bad reviews. I received this as a gift. After reading the reviews, I was skeptical about it. I followed the directions on Bluetooth pairing and worked right off the bat! The sound is really good and I often listen to music in the kitchen. Now on to the stand. It wasn't made to hold an ipad in a protective case...which is pretty obvious. If you use the stand as it was intended, it's a stable fit and tilted at the perfect angle. It also looks really nice sitting on the counter. In the summer, I can easily take the speaker poolside :) I've already recommended it to my friends that use their iPads while cooking like I do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Layla2012
February 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A bad investment
February 1, 2013
Do not invest in this set. The screen protector does not fit over the thinnest case, tablet does not fit in the holder securely, and the speaker does not stay connected. Returned it all
Cons: Difficult to Use
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SousAndy
Wichita, Kansas
Posted April 6, 2013
Top 25 Contributor
Sounds Defective
I hate it when things don't work; however, since I've tried this product with all versions of the iPad (and even a nook) without a hitch, I can only image that you have a defective unit.
Williams-Sonoma is excellent about returns, so I suggest that you do a return...
I LOVE this holder... I have it and the speaker unit, and they work great... Sorry you're having this problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FJacobs
January 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rocky start. Great result
January 29, 2013
I had a little problem getting the Bluetooth to pair with my IPad but as soon as that was worked out the speaker was great.
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Smart Tools for iPad(R) Sets
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
macboxer
,Lake Stevens
,WA
January 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous in the Kitchen!
January 23, 2013
I LOVE this setup for my iPad! I use my iPad in the kitchen all the time and now I just leave it set up all the time. I can listen to music, search for a recipe or watch a cooking video.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile
page1 2 next