Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter

True to its Texas roots, this vibrantly flavored chili starter is full of slow-simmered richness. Only the best vine-ripened tomatoes from California, chipotle peppers, ancho chilies, Mexican cumin and Texas' own Lone Star Beer are cooked until their flavors meld in mouthwatering style. A lively blend of fresh tomatoes, chipotle peppers, cumin and Texas-brewed beer for making classic chili. Add browned ground or cubed beef for traditional chili con carne. Substitute ground turkey or vegetables for flavorful variations. 32 oz. Recipe included. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
February 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very spicy! May not be good for kids...
February 14, 2015
I have a pretty high spice tolerance, but my family does not. I thought it was borderline too spicy for myself, and my 5 year old couldn't eat it at all. Since you can't sample it before buying, just keep this in mind if you have small children. Otherwise, flavor was pretty good and was easy to prepare.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: may be too spicy for some
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,FL
February 14, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific chili
February 14, 2015
This starter could not have been easier to use or more delicious. The blend of spices was so flavorful with just the right amount of kick. I added about 50% more ground beef and beans to make a very chunky and filling dish. Will definitely continue to buy this sauce.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
January 13, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Starter!
January 13, 2015
I find this starter very tasty. It has the right balance of flavor and spice without being overbearing. It was very easy to prepare with a minimum of fuss; next time, I will tinker with it and add beans.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Frederick
,MD
Frederick, MD
December 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Sauce - Great Timesaver
December 25, 2014
I'm so glad that this has been made available. I will continue to keep some on hand. You really don't have to add anything to it. I just lightly salted about a pound and a half of chili meat (coarse ground beef, labeled as "chili meat" as I browned the meat. Just add sauce and about a cup of water (as stated on the label) and simmer for about an hour. It's great. After it's done, just add whatever toppings (e.g.,grated Monteray Jack cheese).
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Van Buren
,AR
Van Buren, Arkansas
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chili Starter
December 1, 2013
I thought the Chili starter was very good, I was afraid it might be to hot for my taste but it was not and I liked it and will certainly use it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Wayne
,NJ
March 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice taste
March 14, 2013
This is a nice & easy way to make your own chili. It has a nice taste.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chelse
,AL
March 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Chili Starter!
March 5, 2013
This is a family favorite! Just the right amount spices, and easy to make. Delicious!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Red Chili Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Clara
,CA
July 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent flavor, spicy
July 8, 2012
I'm kind of a baby when it comes to spice but this is just right! I sauteed some onions and mushrooms, beef cubes and ground beef and combined with beans and sauce to make a great chili.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy