Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix

Invented by a 19th-century baker at Boston's famous Parker House Hotel, these irresistible rolls are American classics. They're easy to bake with our premium mix-just blend with butter, water and an egg. Served warm from the oven, the fluffy, fresh-baked rolls are great companions for everything from soups and salads to roast beef and turkey-or enjoy them with your favorite brunch dishes. For the party sandwiches, fill the split rolls with sliced meats and cheeses. 16.25 oz. (makes 12 rolls). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,washington
,dc
November 29, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tricky to get right-should have bread experince
November 29, 2016
I didn't realize this kit would require some pre-knowledge or bread baking techniques. I tried to follow the directions but the bread never rose-well it did the next day but it was too late for turkey dinner. Maybe I didn't add the yeast and water right or didn't mix it the dough correctly. Maybe I kneaded the dough too long or not long enough or just did it the wrong way. Maybe the kitchen was too cool(I live in an old stone house so it's always a bit cold). but after 20min it hadn't risen . after 2 hours nothing.
I'll try the kit again and maybe trying putting it a more toasty space.
Point of the story-don't expect this to be a betty crocker kit. You should have experience making bread to succeed.
Cons: Difficult to Prepare, Disappointing
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Phoenix
,AZ
October 30, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best roll mix
October 30, 2016
I have been making my own rolls for over 20 years for the holidays with great success. I decided to try this mix just to see how it was. Well,as long as this mix is available for the holidays, I will be using it. They turned out light and fluffly and tasted just like the ones I make from scratch. No one in my house knew the difference. Thanks for a great product
Pros: Flavor, Quality
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Boxford
,MA
December 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expiration Date Beware
December 30, 2015
I made these rolls for Thanksgiving 2014 and my family enjoyed these rolls so much that I returned to my Williams-Sonoma store to purchase additional boxes. We made the rolls for Christmas this year, 2015, (box had a Feb 2016 sell date). After following the directions precisely the dough failed to rise. I think your Williams-Sonoma Kitchen may want to recheck the shelf life of the yeast packages included in the box. Big disappointment!
Cons: Disappointing
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oceanside
,CA
San Diego, CA
December 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very easy, so good
December 1, 2015
I bought this mix to take to a cabin get a way for Thanksgiving. I didn't read the directions completely, so I didn't have a 9x9 pan in the cabin we rented. I made do with a 9x13 and they still came out great. These were tender, flakey, and got rave reviews from everyone. So easy to do. Use the stand mixer to knead the dough for you... The fireplace made a great place for a warm rising place. I will be buying again. LOVE!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
November 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Difficult to Make
November 16, 2015
Unless you are an experienced bread maker, this is a VERY difficult mix to make successfully. I consider myself a proficient cook, but I had a terrible time with this mix and recipe. The mix is really just a couple of the dry ingredients and can easily be duplicated. The hard part is actually getting the dough right (as it is with all bread). Following the directions perfectly, I still ended up with dough that was way too wet and sticky to work with and had to add more flour. Also, despite kneading according to the directions, and following every other part of this recipe, my dough still didn't rise enough and the finished product came out way too dense. There is nothing 'simple' about this mix and I feel terrible that I wasted the better part of a Sunday working on rolls that I ended up throwing away.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Difficult to Prepare, Time to Prepare, Ingredients
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Murphys
,CA
September 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes "homemade" a breeze!
September 26, 2015
No serious yeast baker here yet found this mix easy to prepare and produces hot and fluffy, restaurant/bakery quality rolls from your own oven. Perfect for special meals or the holidays with out a lot of extra fuss and the aroma while baking so delicious and inviting. Don't you have enough to do getting the Thanksgiving sides and appetizers in order? Put the flour away for holiday cookies and spend a little more time with your guests and family!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Parker House Roll Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
November 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, Buttery, Delicious, Dinner rolls.
November 4, 2013
Personally I enjoy making everything from scratch, however I couldn't resist trying a high quality mix of the famed Parker House Rolls. I Tried the mix twice, once following the instruction time all the way through. The second time I let the dough rise first in the morning, I left it in the fridge after the first proof and finished them later in the evening. Both ways came out delicious, the bread is so tender and soft out of the oven and if you use a high quality European style butter and Maldon Sea Salt the rolls become so much more flavorsome. The mix only makes one 9 inch square baking pan so if cooking for a crowd get two boxes and have two pans handy.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Amount, slightly time consuming
 
My Recommendations